Switch Theme:

A new Grand Strategy complication  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Grand Strategy is a pretty straight forward rule, right? But what if you take 2 grand masters?

Can you give a potential six units special rules?

Can each grand master use a different special rule?

Say you have 3 strike squads. Say you roll a 6 on both Grand Strategy rolls, can you give each strike squad counter attack from one GS, then give them Scout from the other GM?

Then combat squad them for six 5 man squads with 2 extra special rules?


Just food for thought, completely a rules question, I doubt anyone would do it below an apocalypse setting. Oh and on the subject, what would happen if you took 10 grand masters in apocalypse? Army wide special rules granting?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





This is not new but it is an interesting question. One which is theoretical for me because I have yet to play a game of enough points to make this (potential) trick feasible.

The combat squadding part of your question is a different matter though. Since Grand Strategy happens before deployment (which is when Combat Squad occurs) yes, the whole 10 man unit gets the ability

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/10 00:30:49


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

Jaon wrote:Grand Strategy is a pretty straight forward rule, right? But what if you take 2 grand masters?

You double the pleasure, though each GM rolls separately for the GS.

Can you give a potential six units special rules?

Yes.

Can each grand master use a different special rule?

Yes.

Say you have 3 strike squads. Say you roll a 6 on both Grand Strategy rolls, can you give each strike squad counter attack from one GS, then give them Scout from the other GM?

Yes.

Then combat squad them for six 5 man squads with 2 extra special rules?

Yes.

Just food for thought, completely a rules question, I doubt anyone would do it below an apocalypse setting. Oh and on the subject, what would happen if you took 10 grand masters in apocalypse? Army wide special rules granting?

You would give up to 10D3 units GS special rules.

Now that it's confirmed, go get them.


6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Yep, completely legal dude. Have at it!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Completely legal - and means you're giving up on the far greater synergy of a librarian. HQ is the overloaded section in the GK book
   
Made in us
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought






New York, NY

Prolly running double GM at 2000 for S&Gs

I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Uh guys, is this really as settled as you are making it out to be?

Why is there so much contention with Hammerhand stacking with itself or not, yet you are all sure Grand Strategy can stack with itself (be used twice on one unit)?
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Stavkat wrote:Uh guys, is this really as settled as you are making it out to be?

Why is there so much contention with Hammerhand stacking with itself or not, yet you are all sure Grand Strategy can stack with itself (be used twice on one unit)?


How are either of these in contention. There's no reason either shouldn't stack.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Stavkat wrote:Uh guys, is this really as settled as you are making it out to be?

Why is there so much contention with Hammerhand stacking with itself or not, yet you are all sure Grand Strategy can stack with itself (be used twice on one unit)?


Because they aren't stacking the same ability on one unit, they are giving it 2 different abilities.

Now, if someone was trying to use gs to give a unit counter-attack twice to double up its attacks, they would be told "No"
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Sothas wrote:
Stavkat wrote:Uh guys, is this really as settled as you are making it out to be?

Why is there so much contention with Hammerhand stacking with itself or not, yet you are all sure Grand Strategy can stack with itself (be used twice on one unit)?


How are either of these in contention. There's no reason either shouldn't stack.


There are long threads on multiple forums about Hammerhand. Did you miss them all, or are you just pretending they don't exist?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
omerakk wrote:Because they aren't stacking the same ability on one unit, they are giving it 2 different abilities.


That is the distinction. Still, couldn't someone say the ability "Grand Strategy" is being used twice in one unit, even if it ultimately grants different abilities?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/11 01:22:55


 
   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





The contention was that hammerhand doesnt stack right?

and Grand Strategy is certainly not stacking, its simply being used twice.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




That is another distinction though, grand strategy isn't being used on the targeted units, it is being used by the grand master, which then targets up to 3 units to receive an ability. If they tried to give the same ability to a unit, then they would fall under the hammerhand debate.

Speaking of that, I would direct everyone to this thread:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/120/363914.page

particularly, page 5, my statement, 4th from the bottom of the page.

I feel I made a very valid point there that was completely glossed over by everyone more interested in arguing with Dash

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/11 01:37:34


 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

Jaon wrote:Grand Strategy is a pretty straight forward rule, right? But what if you take 2 grand masters?

Can you give a potential six units special rules?

Can each grand master use a different special rule?

Say you have 3 strike squads. Say you roll a 6 on both Grand Strategy rolls, can you give each strike squad counter attack from one GS, then give them Scout from the other GM?

Then combat squad them for six 5 man squads with 2 extra special rules?


Just food for thought, completely a rules question, I doubt anyone would do it below an apocalypse setting. Oh and on the subject, what would happen if you took 10 grand masters in apocalypse? Army wide special rules granting?
If you get a 3 on the d3 roll for each GKGM, then yes, you could gives out 6 total rules of 2 different types, and if these went out to squads that Combat Squadded, then you could indeed have up to 12 individual 5 man units with special rules.

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

While I tend to lean towards it stacking, it says the following:

Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creature or walker units in your army (but not models with the Independent Character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchmen Warbands or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights). These nominated units have one of the following roles for the duration of the game (they must all have the same role):


The bolded section could be takenby some as once they have one, they satisfy the conditions of the rule, and therefore further applications do not stack on the same unit even if it's a different selection from the rule.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General






A garden grove on Citadel Station

Nonsense.

If I say that a unit of GKS has one of the following roles, and then say that they have another one of the following roles, they have both roles.

ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

No i get that, but I thought the general thought on it now was that it does stack.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Maelstrom808 wrote:While I tend to lean towards it stacking, it says the following:

Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creature or walker units in your army (but not models with the Independent Character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchmen Warbands or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights). These nominated units have one of the following roles for the duration of the game (they must all have the same role):


The bolded section could be takenby some as once they have one, they satisfy the conditions of the rule, and therefore further applications do not stack on the same unit even if it's a different selection from the rule.


I think this is a bit of a stretch. I would think that it's saying it has "one of the following rules" for that specific grand master. Seeing as how the second grand master says the same thing "one of the following rules" then it too gives one of the rules. You wouldn't say that a unit that can "select one of the following weapons" can only have one unit of that type select the weapon and another unit of the same type be SOL would you?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/11 05:45:25


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

I've seen people argue rules with less ground to stand on. Like I said, I think it probably stacks, but it is possible to twist it the other way.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





omerakk wrote:That is another distinction though, grand strategy isn't being used on the targeted units, it is being used by the grand master, which then targets up to 3 units to receive an ability. If they tried to give the same ability to a unit, then they would fall under the hammerhand debate.

Speaking of that, I would direct everyone to this thread:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/120/363914.page

particularly, page 5, my statement, 4th from the bottom of the page.

I feel I made a very valid point there that was completely glossed over by everyone more interested in arguing with Dash


Heh, and no one but me felt the need to comment on it here. Very valid point dude.

Everyone else, thanks for indulging me. Seems the argument that Grand Strategy cannot "stack" is a pretty weak one.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: