Switch Theme:

Vendettas coming in from reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I seem to have lost my place where it says that the entire model must move onto the board when outflanking. Which would mean that the vendetta cannot simply move 6" to fire all its weapons. I thought I recalled reading that the model cannot overhang the board edge. Can someone point me in the right direction.

Why conquer worlds when you can simply create them. My blog. http://natfka.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's in the rulebook FAQ.

 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Valdosta, Georgia

that is true about the Vendetta when enter the game from your board edge or the short board edge, it can't shoot any of its weapon and has to move whatever inches to come. Please dont listern to the newly rule on "Skull of Throne" it completely wrong.

Overall Tournaments 11-2 2012
WarGame Con Best General RTT 2012
WarGame Con Team 12th 2012
ATC Team Fanastic 4 plus 1 17th overall (nercons (5-1) 2012
Beaky Con GT WarMaster Nercons (5-1) 2012 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Columbia, SC (USA)

It's on page 6 of the GW 40K rulebook FAQ v 1.2.

"Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play."

So the Vendetta or Valkyrie will have to move fully (using Cruising Speed or going Flat Out) onto the table or be removed from play. If it moves 12" or less it can still shoot one weapon and any defensive weapons (multiple rocket pods are S4) since it is a Fast vehicle.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/24 12:10:58


The secret to painting a really big army is to keep at it. You can't reach your destination if you never take any steps.

I build IG...lots and lots of IG.  
   
Made in gr
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot





Thessaloniki

Ah nice question and nice answer havent ever thought about it but seems like we were playing it wrong. Great point thank you guys.

"Each path must be chosen with care,
Lest disaster swallow us whole."

Varo Tigurius
Ultramarines Chief Librarian

Wh40k: Ultramarines, Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Black Templars, Grey Knights, Imperial Guard, Inquisition, Eldar, Dark Eldar, Harlequins, Tyranids, Orks, Chaos Space Marines, Daemons of Chaos.
Wh: Dark Elves, Vampire Counts, Empire, Dwarfs, High Elves, Warriors of Chaos, Bretonnia. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




mrblacksunshine - incorrect; as a fast vehicle it CAN still fire, if it moves up to 12"
   
Made in pl
Sniping Gŭiláng





Warsaw

Fast vehicles fire everything at combat speed (6). At cruising speed (12) it can use only one weapon. So one shot for you.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/24 09:30:41


"Any problem caused by a tank, can be solved by a tank." - Peter Griffin

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Kubik wrote: Fast vehicles fire everything at combat speed (6). At cruising speed (12) it can use only one weapon. So one shot for you.


One weapon, and all defensive weapons.

1(total) shot for Vendettas(unless you stupidly take Hellfury missiles).

3 multilaser Shots, and 2 Rocket pod blasts for the Valkyrie(or the 3 multilasers, or one of the 2 Hellstrikes if you were to leave them on, or Either of the Heavy bolters if you took them)

I use my bird to outflank a plasma-vet squad; so I always take a Valk with Rocket pods: move on table and Fire 3 S6, and 2 S4 large blasts.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






I think the vendetta/valkyrie is an interesting case as it is one of the few times where the actual model is significantly bigger than the base it's on.

The way my local gaming circle plays it, we consider that if the whole base is on the table, the whole model is on the table. Otherwise, by the same logic, if some part of a smaller model (eg. a carnifex tail) were overhanging the edge of the board, it would not count as being on the table either.

At least, that's how I see it.

What do you want for tea? I want crisps! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wave Serpents, Falcons and other skimmers are significantly bigger. However htey are also much closer to the ground, whcih seems to make it mroe obvious to people just how wrong it is to attempt to have models handing over the edge...

Your way of seeing it is explicitly against the rules. For Skimmers the HULL must be on the table; the base is irrelevant.
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

nosferatu1001 wrote:Wave Serpents, Falcons and other skimmers are significantly bigger. However htey are also much closer to the ground, whcih seems to make it mroe obvious to people just how wrong it is to attempt to have models handing over the edge...

Your way of seeing it is explicitly against the rules. For Skimmers the HULL must be on the table; the base is irrelevant.


Except it actually makes reference to measuring anything from the valk/vendetta's base in the IG FAQ. Which leads me to believe it is allowed to hang over the edge. Otherwise it cant get to some parts of the board because it would hang over the head. With your alls same ruling if my tail fin was over difficult terrain i would have to test for difficult terrain. Its the same concept.

With your ruling my opponent could place his objective in a capture and hold game in the corner and I would be unable to contest with the valk/vendetta. lol

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/01 07:02:48


TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Tomb King wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Wave Serpents, Falcons and other skimmers are significantly bigger. However htey are also much closer to the ground, whcih seems to make it mroe obvious to people just how wrong it is to attempt to have models handing over the edge...

Your way of seeing it is explicitly against the rules. For Skimmers the HULL must be on the table; the base is irrelevant.


Except it actually makes reference to measuring anything from the valk/vendetta's base in the IG FAQ. Which leads me to believe it is allowed to hang over the edge. Otherwise it cant get to some parts of the board because it would hang over the head. With your alls same ruling if my tail fin was over difficult terrain i would have to test for difficult terrain. Its the same concept.

With your ruling my opponent could place his objective in a capture and hold game in the corner and I would be unable to contest with the valk/vendetta. lol


Except it doesn't make references to measuring anything apart from (dis)embark and objectives from the base in the FAQ. So you stick with the rules for vehicles which are measure to/from the hull and completely ignore the base outside of assaults.

So there are three things you use the base for: 1. Objectives 2: (Dis)Embarking 3: Assaults.
Movement is not one of these three things so you ignore the base.
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

So if my tail fin hangs over difficult terrain will i have to test for difficult terrain than?

It is incredibly stupid if they cant hang over the edge at all it affectively cuts off a significant part of the board as the wingspan and length of the valk almost guarantee's me staying 5" away from the edge of the board at any one time. That is a nice objective in the corner. Unfortunately I cant contest it with this valk because the edge of the board is defending it?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 07:24:25


TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Strictly speaking, yes you would have to test for difficult terrain with the wing hanging over it. Although it could be argued that given the wing didn't make contact with the terrain it didn't enter it and so doesn't have to test. Essentially that the hull of the model and the piece of terrain occupy a specific 3d space each, and if they don't overlap the model can be said to not have entered the terrain.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




TK - no, its called "you have a really, really undercosted models that hasa couple of drawbacks"

Just follow the rules and accept the limitations. Yes, if your tail is over difficult terrain, you are "in" the terrain and must test. Yes, if an objective is far in the corner, you may not be able to contest - same as nob bikers cannot claim objectives in buildings.

Its the rules. Deal with it.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The difference between the Valkyrie having bits hanging over their base and an elaborately modeled guardsman or tyranid is that infantry models occupy the space of the base. Vehicles occupy their real space with the base(if any is there') existing for skimmers in assaults/embarking/disembarking.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




CGM - not entirely true. The base for SR and Valkyries is used for embarking / disembarking and claiming objectives because they have an exception to the normal rules.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

But you can have those little scarab beetle necron things hide under monoliths/other skimmers that overhang their bases as long as they are friendly, right?

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As long as they move under there themselves.

In fact as long as you maintain 1" between base and skimmer unfriendlies can also make it underneath.
   
Made in us
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





black-rabbit wrote:The way my local gaming circle plays it, we consider that if the whole base is on the table, the whole model is on the table.

Same here, it's the only thing that makes sense.

Of course, now someone will claim that since my Vendettas don't have wings so they look more like helicopters, that I'm modelling for advantage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 13:19:46


Fluff for the Fluff God!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wel technically you are - youve made it easier to get all 3 lascannons on target, as well as substantially reducing the size of the model, making it easier to position and get cover.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

Nos, I think that you can have the monolith stop over the scarabs as long as its base isn't crushing them. The Rule about not being able to stop on top of friendly models is for the being on the table, not the hull hanging over scarabs.

'On top' means 'on the top' or touching the roof/head/back of whatever it is. 'Above' is simply occupying any space higher than the model that obscures the view of it while looking straight down(tried really hard to avoid 'above' in the definition).

But anywho, that is drastically off topic. Skimmers have to be completely on the table, not just their bases. You measure distances to the model itself, so if part of the model is off(that isn't decorative like banners) than the entire model is off.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

I have never seen anyone argue that my wings or fins hanging over something cause terrain test or that it is illegally placed. My gaming group ruled that if the base was on then the model is on.

I think you all are basing your analysis on this faq below:

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

That comes in to play if you have a vehicle move on into DT and it immobilizes itself before coming on fully.

The vendetta is able to completely move onto the board. I can legally place the model and it sits up right. As for vendetta's taking dangerous terrain if the tail fin is resting above DT that is hularious and i would never do it. Fortunately those rocks down there are not tall enough to hit my vendetta, even if it did land.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

I think taking a dangerous terrain test for the models like Vendetta is a bit odd, but the entire thing MUST come on the board at once. I would tell an opponent to take a dangerous terrain test unless the base ended up in terrain but I will be a stickler on the entire model getting on the board.

RAW, it must take a terrain test when applicable and get on the board entirely. The base is only used for contesting obj, embarking/disembarking, and assaulting. All other distances are measure to the model, so it occupies the area below it for purposes of terrain but other models can pass through the area it 'occupies'.

That explanation got a lot more complicated than I thought it would.

-cgmckenzie

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/01 17:08:37



1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Tomb King wrote:I have never seen anyone argue that my wings or fins hanging over something cause terrain test or that it is illegally placed. My gaming group ruled that if the base was on then the model is on.


Which is a houserule - and is fine.

But it IS A HOUSERULE.

Tomb King wrote:I think you all are basing your analysis on this faq below:

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

That comes in to play if you have a vehicle move on into DT and it immobilizes itself before coming on fully.

The vendetta is able to completely move onto the board. I can legally place the model and it sits up right. As for vendetta's taking dangerous terrain if the tail fin is resting above DT that is hularious and i would never do it. Fortunately those rocks down there are not tall enough to hit my vendetta, even if it did land.


No, we're basing it on the rule that you measure to VEHICLES by measuring to the hull, and the vendetta / SR exceptions do NOT cover general measurement. So, if I can measure to a part of your model that is not within the 6x4 playing area, then that vehicle is NOT on the table. This means it must either move so it is on the table, or, if coming on from reserves, it is destroyed.

Sorry if this makes your undercosted, overpowered unit a *tiny* bit less OP, but the rules are the rules. Would you next ask to have a smaller base, because its unfair that your Valk is so high up? Theyre logically consistent - you want a rules change to benefit your model, just because your model has some drawbacks.

As for the monolith - a skimmer may not finish on top of another unit. After having moved the skimmer, If you look from above, and cannot see the unit, then youre movement there3 was illegal. No exceptions.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

On top of for skimmers means you can't park its base physically on a tank/infantry platoon. Above has a different definition than on top.

On top implies physical contact with the top of the bottom object while above merely means being in the airspace higher than the bottom object but overlapping when viewed from an orbiting ship/plane/ratling shot into the stratosphere.

To put it another way: a plane flying above your house is different than a plane on top of your house.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Tomb King wrote:I have never seen anyone argue that my wings or fins hanging over something cause terrain test or that it is illegally placed. My gaming group ruled that if the base was on then the model is on.


Which is a houserule - and is fine.

But it IS A HOUSERULE.

Tomb King wrote:I think you all are basing your analysis on this faq below:

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

That comes in to play if you have a vehicle move on into DT and it immobilizes itself before coming on fully.

The vendetta is able to completely move onto the board. I can legally place the model and it sits up right. As for vendetta's taking dangerous terrain if the tail fin is resting above DT that is hularious and i would never do it. Fortunately those rocks down there are not tall enough to hit my vendetta, even if it did land.


No, we're basing it on the rule that you measure to VEHICLES by measuring to the hull, and the vendetta / SR exceptions do NOT cover general measurement. So, if I can measure to a part of your model that is not within the 6x4 playing area, then that vehicle is NOT on the table. This means it must either move so it is on the table, or, if coming on from reserves, it is destroyed.

Sorry if this makes your undercosted, overpowered unit a *tiny* bit less OP, but the rules are the rules. Would you next ask to have a smaller base, because its unfair that your Valk is so high up? Theyre logically consistent - you want a rules change to benefit your model, just because your model has some drawbacks.

As for the monolith - a skimmer may not finish on top of another unit. After having moved the skimmer, If you look from above, and cannot see the unit, then youre movement there3 was illegal. No exceptions.


lol what about the dangerous terrain, raw i would have to test for terrain if my rear fin or part of one of my wings was over any sort of difficult terrain. You myswell give this to the tyranids as you all are substantially nerfing the model. The Valk/Vendetta is around 11" long and 10" wide. If you rule it your way then these models would be unable to deploy along with the rest of the army as models can not overlap. This means 3 vendetta's would take up roughly 330 Square inchs. Around 38% of your deployment zone in a pitched battle or almost 45% in spearhead. For 3 vehicles! That is assuming you place them right next to eachother or with gaps for other vehicles to fit in. With the vendetta unable to move within 4" of any side of the table it effectively stops them from moving in around 27.7% of the board, not including the various terrain. Atleast 25% of the board gets terrain, that means you have to avoid 52.7% of the board when your models take up about 9.5% of that board. Sounds to me like you all are trying to win outside of the game rather then beating the model.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

The rule about it taking the terrain test is silly but such is life. You can't hang over the edge of the board because there is nothing out there and anything beyond the edge doesn't exist. The base of the model only shows where the assault point is, where people disembark, and where it is for contesting OBJ.

Nos is right in most of his stuff except for the overhanging skimmer not being allowed above models. If you want to move the Vendetta to be surrounded by an infantry platoon all in base contact, go for it. As long as the base doesn't land on top of another model, you are fine.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Powerful Ushbati





Manhatten, KS

Models would never be allowed to embark or disembark because they would have to go under the model to get to the base.

TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)

TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)

TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

True fact. That's why the overhanging skimmers in relation to other models only applies to bases. Don't land you valkyrie on top of a tank and charge me. Actually, that might be cool...

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: