Switch Theme:

Placing template on a flamestorm canon  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Guardsman with Flashlight



Paris, France

Hello,
i just have a question about placing the template on a Baal Predator Flamestorm canon.
Do you have to align the template with the canon?

For instance, can I put the turret 90° to the right, and the template parallel to the tank?

Thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/06 15:51:30


 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

The way I play templates out of turrets is that the centerline of the template has to be within a 45 degree forward arc, just like regular line of fire. There's a little wiggle room, but it's a small angle, so you basically have to point the turret the direction you're firing.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in ca
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






center lign of the templete to a maximum of 45 degree from the turret, but the turret can turn no?

OH and templte at the end of the cannon (the way we paly it)

NICE WHFB & W40k Terrain, low price, high quality:http://www.dreamspiritwargaming.com
3000 ish --
Gotta paint all these boyz naoh
army pictures are at: http://imageshack.us/g/197/sam0019copy.jpg
DT:90S+GM-B+IPw40k11+ID+A+/hWD-R+T(T)DM+
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ElCheezus wrote:The way I play templates out of turrets is that the centerline of the template has to be within a 45 degree forward arc, just like regular line of fire. There's a little wiggle room, but it's a small angle, so you basically have to point the turret the direction you're firing.


Not at all true; in fact the template rules will often force you to break this.

You place the narrow end at the barrel, after ensuring the target is in LOS. The actual placement of the template is then dictated by the template rules.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

Interesting. The target unit has to be in the Arc of Sight (pg 59), but there doesn't seem to be any rules supporting that the template has to be. At the moment I don't see any reason nos is wrong.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Template must be placed over something in LOS, beyond that you follow the normal rules for templates and firing angles.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Remember Arc of Sight for any mobile weapons(i.e. any weapons on a vehicle that can move) is directly in the line of the barrel.

So in order to have the Target unit in Arc of Fire to place the template, you must have the turret pointed directly at at least 1 model in the target unit(the template can then come out tangentially)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




juraigamer wrote:Template must be placed over something in LOS, beyond that you follow the normal rules for templates and firing angles.


The target UNIT must be in LOS, however the template rules will override this in some cases - if you can only see one model, but more models can be hit if the te3mplate is entirely out of LOS, then you are required to place the template there.
   
Made in ca
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






nosferatu1001 wrote:
juraigamer wrote:Template must be placed over something in LOS, beyond that you follow the normal rules for templates and firing angles.


The target UNIT must be in LOS, however the template rules will override this in some cases - if you can only see one model, but more models can be hit if the te3mplate is entirely out of LOS, then you are required to place the template there.


Nope, if the player wants to put the template over that one guy taht he sees, but has a Heavy 4 small blast. He can then make 4 wounds and wound the other member of the unit hiding behind the rock that prevent LOS thanks to wound allocation. Cant quote de page of that since I don't have my BRB on me but they say that you can fire on a unit as long as you see one of them (or firing ordnance or things like that). Of course the unit will get cover if the template doesnt ignore it (like flamer, hurray.)

If one unit is in LOS, but while placing the template over that one unit, 3 more are getting hit that are not in LOS, the 4 others are getting hit also (again don't have the BRB on me so cant quote)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/06 19:43:18


NICE WHFB & W40k Terrain, low price, high quality:http://www.dreamspiritwargaming.com
3000 ish --
Gotta paint all these boyz naoh
army pictures are at: http://imageshack.us/g/197/sam0019copy.jpg
DT:90S+GM-B+IPw40k11+ID+A+/hWD-R+T(T)DM+
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Serder your thoughts are confusing.

First off; blasts aren't Templates, they're markers.

Second off you begin with a statement of disagreement, then continue with an explanation that asserts agreement in what Nos said.

Third of all you begin making statements of several Units, but by Context you seem to be meaning Models.

Lastly all Templates ignore cover, that is a basic part of the template rules. it is again Blast markers that do not necessarily ignore cover(only when they have a special rule, or are barrage and the Cover lies between the firer and the Target, but not between the Center of the blast marker and the models hit).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in fr
Guardsman with Flashlight



Paris, France

So, to illustrate the issue:

I tank shocked the stealer. Is it ok to point the turret at the stealer at the rear and flame parallel to the Baal predator? (as the ugly picture suggest)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/08 15:34:36


 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

After reading up, I don't see why not. You have to place the template so it covers as many models in the unit as possible, and that seems to override normal firing restrictions. The key part is that the unit be in LOS from the way the turret is pointed.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yep, Flames can magically shoot at a right-angle out of the barrel.

Does it make sense; only if you imagine the template to represent a "sweep" of the area(real Flame-throwers fire in Lines. Well, still cones, but the extreme end is only about 2x-3x as wide as the nozzle).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator






(real Flame-throwers fire in Lines. Well, still cones, but the extreme end is only about 2x-3x as wide as the nozzle).


But these are super cool flame-throwers of the far future!

Knights of Atlantis  
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

You can also traverse a flame stream to get an arc of fire.

The wide part of the cone would therefore be where the flame stream started its arc, with the narrow end being the trailing end.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: