| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 15:27:19
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Can he score objectives or not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 15:43:48
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
Excited Doom Diver
|
No. He's a vehicle, and vehicles - even troops - cannot score unless they have an explicit rule allowing them to (like the combat squadding on Ravenwing squadrons allowing their land speeders to score).
In addition, IIRC, Death Company - both on foot and their sarcophagi-entombed brethren - have a special rule explicitly stating they cannot score. Though I can't say for certain on that, as I don't have a Blood Angels codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 16:03:24
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Aelyn wrote:In addition, IIRC, Death Company - both on foot and their sarcophagi-entombed brethren - have a special rule explicitly stating they cannot score. Though I can't say for certain on that, as I don't have a Blood Angels codex.
You're correct. DC never count as a scoring unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 16:55:50
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
DC dread Does Not have the Black Rage special rule, that DC infanty unit DOES - Black Rage says the unit cannot score.
Where does it say vehicles cant score?
Automatically Appended Next Post: ah ha - pg 90 - vehicle troops cant score.
Ah well.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/12 16:58:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 17:12:37
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
Unless of course your a grey knight dereadnaught, then their stupid rules allow you to make some scoring. But again, stupid rules.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 17:30:25
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Dreadknight is a MC not a vehicle.
GK GM doesnt make any vehicle a Troop - it also doesnt make scoring units, just non Troop selections into troops. Which shouldent matter for any GK shenannigans, but apparantly a worthwhile differance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 17:58:30
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Orock wrote:Unless of course your a grey knight dereadnaught, then their stupid rules allow you to make some scoring. But again, stupid rules.
No, actually, it doesn't. Nothing in the rule says it makes the dreadnaught a scoring unit. What it says is that it allows the dread to "claim objectives as if they were troops". And since a Troop vehicle cannot control an objective, well, guess what a GK dread cannot do, even withthe Unyielding Anvil grand strategy?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 19:01:48
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
if it says "claim" then the FAQ should clear that up nicely...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 19:03:52
Subject: Re:Death Company Dread
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
yenhoi wrote:GK GM doesnt make any vehicle a Troop - it also doesnt make scoring units, just non Troop selections into troops.
Completely wrong. It makes unit scoring, it does not make them troops.
However, it makes them score as if troops. Vehicle troops do not score.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/12 19:11:17
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Right. It makes them score as if they were Troops; and vehicle Troops don't score.
---------
Back to the original topic, DC dreads don't score because of p.90; vehicle Troops are not scoring.
Regular DC also don't score, because they have a special rule saying they don't.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 03:41:15
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
Beast Lord
|
They may not have Black Rage, but they DO have rage. Which means even if they could score they wouldn't because of Rage. Unless the game just HAPPENED to end with a DC dread within scoring range of an objective, but then you were playing an idiot opponent for letting that happen.
|
around 2500 points
600 points |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 03:59:24
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Mordechai wrote:They may not have Black Rage, but they DO have rage. Which means even if they could score they wouldn't because of Rage.
Why would Rage have any bearing on it? Rage doesn't prevent units from scoring.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 07:41:32
Subject: Death Company Dread
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
insaniak wrote:Mordechai wrote:They may not have Black Rage, but they DO have rage. Which means even if they could score they wouldn't because of Rage.
Why would Rage have any bearing on it? Rage doesn't prevent units from scoring.
I guess because you might have trouble positioning the dreadnaught so that it doesn't see enemies it has to trundle off to kill?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|