Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:25:35
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
okay if in a FUN game all my troop slots are filled up, could i still feaild summoned daemons, since im a CSM player, and could i feild an endless amount daemons since it says normally it does not use up any slots on the force organizaion chart, otherwise treated as a regualr troop choice
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:26:54
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Renegade Inquisitor de Marche
|
AFAIK Yes. Feasibly if you had an infinate points game you could take an infinate amount of Daemons.
|
Dakka Bingo! By Ouze
"You are the best at flying things"-Kanluwen
"Further proof that Purple is a fething brilliant super villain " -KingCracker
"Purp.. Im pretty sure I have a gun than can reach you...."-Nicorex
"That's not really an apocalypse. That's just Europe."-Grakmar
"almost as good as winning free cake at the tea drinking contest for an Englishman." -Reds8n
Seal up your lips and give no words but mum.
Equip, Reload. Do violence.
Watch for Gerry. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:33:29
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
As long as you fill the two mandatory slots, yes you can.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 01:33:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:50:19
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Yes you can take as many units of lesser summoned demons as you want to pay for. There is no limit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 01:53:49
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
What difference do you see from it being a 'fun' game? Whether it's a casual pick-up game or a tournament game, the rules for building your army are the same unless you and your opponent decide to change them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 02:23:41
Subject: Re:probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I thought Summoned Deamons didnt take up any slots. they are just troops that don't take up any.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 04:01:36
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
revackey wrote:As long as you fill the two mandatory slots, yes you can. and you can fill those with 2 units of summoned daemons, since you are required to make two compulsory selections from the troops category, and lesser daemons are treated as a troops unit. EDIT: As per Page 89 this is not possible because there is a specific restriction on summoned daemons being used for this purpose.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 22:07:16
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 04:54:27
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
And hey, why not pile in as many Greater Ds too? You could go nuts with the Ds in a CSM army.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:04:22
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Kovnik
Bristol
|
I believe GD's are 0-1 in CSM codex.
Not on hand, but I am fairly sure.
|
Nerivant wrote:The Custodes are the reason Draigo is staying in the Warp.
ObliviousBlueCaboose wrote:I cant wait until i team up with a cron player an kill a land raider with a lasgun.
Black Templars- Nothing makes you manly like unalterable AV 14! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:21:26
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Yes, GD's are 0-1.
Hmm, I played CSM for 3 years and didnt think to use Lesser Deamons as my compulsory troop choice.
|
2000
1250
SO we need to get rid of the "You know you should be painting" Headliner... every time i see it i think of the collection of models sitting unpainted |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:21:33
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
DeathReaper wrote:revackey wrote:As long as you fill the two mandatory slots, yes you can.
and you can fill those with 2 units of summoned daemons, since you are required to make two compulsory selections from the troops category, and lesser daemons are treated as a troops unit.
Except that the Codex: CSM specifically states that the summoned daemons cannot be your mandatory Troops or HQ. They are 'in addition to' your min/max slots or some such phrasing. So while you can normally fill mandatory slots ( IMO) with units that do not take a slot, you cannot do so with summoned daemons.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:25:58
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Wait, does this mean that I can purchase a drop pod for my tac squad and this will count as my two compulsory Troops choices? Or is it a bit different?
Remember that dedicated transports count as the unit type they were bought for when a distinction is called.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:28:58
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
No, the drop pod is a dedicated transport and is in the same Force Org 'slot' as the unit it is bought for. So it only counts as one. Kinda like buying a GK henchmen squad as Troops (assuming they do not take up a slot) and giving them a transport. Even tho they don't take a slot, the two combined (unit and transport) would still be a single 'slot' on the I-don't-take-slots chart and only count as one Troops choice.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:33:16
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
So how can you fill mandatory slots with units that don't take them up? Not knowing other codices that well, would an SM example be using an Honour Guard Squad to take up an HQ slot if you want it to? I know you wouldn't usually want to do this but say for example a custom FOC for a custom mission.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 10:41:47
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
You can do it by following the rules. If it were possible to take an Honour Guard unit without first taking an HQ unit, sure, it would work. Read the main rulebook. All it says is that you must select this many units (1 HQ, 2 Troops) from the appropriate portion of your list. Nowhere is there a requirement for a unit to fill a slot on the force org chart. This is reinforced by GWs answer to the Emp Chump question in the BT codex that allows the Chump to be your only HQ, as even tho he does not take up a slot he is still an HQ unit.
Using the IG codex as an example. The Techpriest Enginseer is an HQ unit that does not take up a slot. I take an Enginseer as part of my army. So, have I selected an HQ unit from my army list (codex)? Yes. Are there any rules in the IG codex (similar to the CSM rules) that prevent the Enginseer from filling a mandatory choice? Nope.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 11:47:54
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
A good example, (and the precedent for this) is the Black Templar Emperor's Champion.
He does not take up a HQ slot, but can be used as a compulsory HQ choice.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 11:51:17
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I'm not sure the Champ is a good example - he not only doesn't take up a slot, he's mandatory. It could be a house reward for having to take him in the first place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 13:52:17
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
don_mondo wrote:You can do it by following the rules. If it were possible to take an Honour Guard unit without first taking an HQ unit, sure, it would work. Read the main rulebook. All it says is that you must select this many units (1 HQ, 2 Troops) from the appropriate portion of your list. Nowhere is there a requirement for a unit to fill a slot on the force org chart. This is reinforced by GWs answer to the Emp Chump question in the BT codex that allows the Chump to be your only HQ, as even tho he does not take up a slot he is still an HQ unit.
Using the IG codex as an example. The Techpriest Enginseer is an HQ unit that does not take up a slot. I take an Enginseer as part of my army. So, have I selected an HQ unit from my army list (codex)? Yes. Are there any rules in the IG codex (similar to the CSM rules) that prevent the Enginseer from filling a mandatory choice? Nope.
Okay, sorted. I am aware that you have to take a Chapter master before taking an Honour Guard.
But, in relation to my previous question, it wouldn't work for any DTs, but EVERY other "non- fo-slot" unit can do this? (unless specifically forbidden by the codex, of course)
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:46:13
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Pretty much.
So if it were mandatory to take an Elites choice, a SM Techmarine could fulfill the choice
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 21:16:45
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
don_mondo wrote:DeathReaper wrote:revackey wrote:As long as you fill the two mandatory slots, yes you can.
and you can fill those with 2 units of summoned daemons, since you are required to make two compulsory selections from the troops category, and lesser daemons are treated as a troops unit.
Except that the Codex: CSM specifically states that the summoned daemons cannot be your mandatory Troops or HQ. They are 'in addition to' your min/max slots or some such phrasing. So while you can normally fill mandatory slots ( IMO) with units that do not take a slot, you cannot do so with summoned daemons.
I am not seeing that reference. For clarification what page is it on?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:01:36
Subject: Re:probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Page 89, in the Summoned Daemons paragraph. "They exist outside of the force organization chart and are chosen in addition to your normal minimums and maximums"
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 22:07:23
Subject: probably not the first one who asked this
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Thank you, I saw the entry for Daemons and the unit pages, missed the bit on page 89 (Mostly because I had no reason to look there)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|