Switch Theme:

Impaler Cannon - Cover saves from Flat-out Skimmer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Hey all.

My brother played a game against our uncle the other day and a scenario came up:

My uncle used Flat-Out on his Land Speeder to zip across the board. He did not land in area terrain but there was intervening area terrain between the Land Speeder and my brother's Hive Guard. The question arose on whether or not the Impaler Cannon's special rules negates the cover saves from the Land Speeder's Flat-Out movement or not. The wording on the Impaler Cannon is a little vague so we weren't real sure. Flat-Out states that it is considered as being obscured which grants a 4+ cover save.

Does an Impaler Cannon negate the 4+ cover save from a fast skimmer that moved "Flat-Out" the previous movement phase?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 16:28:25



Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





England

If the rules for that particular weapon states that cover is ignored, then it is ignored. Just count 'flat-out' as any other cover save.

I do not run nids, but a logical conclusion can usually be extracted from any two conflicting rules.


Hope that helps

Check out my new short story! - http://www.dakkadakka.com/wiki/en/The_Blood_bearers - All comments welcome 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Would be easy if it literally says "cover is ignored", but it doesn't. I don't know if I will be reprimanded for quoting the text exactly, so I am refraining from it.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Impaler cannon only negates cover from blocked LoS if memory serves correctly. Area Terrain, KFF, Flatout, turboboost, etc etc I believe still get their save. You can quote the majority of the rule just not the whole passage.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

The relevant part is that, "The target can only count the benefits of cover they are in or touching if it lies between them and the Hive Guard."
So the question would be; does the cover granted by moving flat out (or turbo boosting for that mattter) count as being "in the cover" and as such grant a cover save against an impaler cannon?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






So the question would be; does the cover granted by moving flat out (or turbo boosting for that mattter) count as being "in the cover" and as such grant a cover save against an impaler cannon?


When it is put like that, I would think the answer would most definitely be that the Land Speeder gets the cover save.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Their cannons ignore cover based on LOS. It says that in the weapon listing.

The land speeders had a 4+ from obscurement, and a 4+ from flat out. The cannons ignore the 4+ from obscurement, but the speeders still have the 4+ from flat out. Simple stuff.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 20:33:27


Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






The land speeders had a 4+ from obscurement, and a 3+ from flat out. The cannons ignore the 4+ from obscurement, but the speeders still have the 3+ from flat out. Simple stuff.


Wait. What? Pretty sure that all Flat-Out gives you with a fast skimmer is 'obscured'. Where are you getting 3+ from?


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

juraigamer wrote:Their cannons ignore cover based on LOS. It says that in the weapon listing.

The land speeders had a 4+ from obscurement, and a 3+ from flat out. The cannons ignore the 4+ from obscurement, but the speeders still have the 3+ from flat out. Simple stuff.


I think you're confusing flat out with turboboosting.
Skimmers moving flat out count as obscured and get a 4+ cover save.
Units turboboosting gain a 3+ cover save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 17:40:25


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger




juraigamer wrote:Their cannons ignore cover based on LOS. It says that in the weapon listing.

The land speeders had a 4+ from obscurement, and a 3+ from flat out. The cannons ignore the 4+ from obscurement, but the speeders still have the 3+ from flat out. Simple stuff.
Completely and utterly wrong.

- Impaler Cannons ignore benefits of cover from terrain that the enemy is in or touching if it is not between them and the Hive Guard. Most of the time this won't do anything, since this is pretty much identical to the way that area terrain is treated with normal weapons. The rule is there to prevent people from claiming cover by saying "the missiles came from the left, since the Hive Guard doesn't have LOS to me and they must have curved around that wall there" or something to that effect.

- Impaler Cannons have no effect on cover saves. Special rules and wargear which grant cover saves are not the same as cover or terrain.

- Obscured vehicle cover saves are 4+, not 3+

- Moving flat out grants obscured status, not a set save value
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Xarian wrote:
juraigamer wrote:
- Impaler Cannons have no effect on cover saves. Special rules and wargear which grant cover saves are not the same as cover or terrain.


So you're saying that a monstrous creature or vehicle that was 50% obscured from the Hive Guard would get a cover save even if it was not actually in any cover?

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Rules/Wargear that grant cover saves are not affected by the Impaler Cannon.

Ork Bikers' Dust Cloud, Venomthropes cover bubble, Shield of Sanguinus, Flat-Out, Turbo-boosting, etc., etc. Because it is expressly granted to the model from such. The impaler cannon simply says, "You cannot claim the benefits of cover unless you are in or touching. . ."

It has nothing to do with expressly granted rules. You're not in or touching anything. You have a rule that says you get a cover save.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 18:33:06


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

That works for me, I always thought it would because those types of cover saves are not dependent on the terrain or cover the model is physically in.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Sounds good. Thanks, guys!


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Durr, of course I would make a simple mistake like that...

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

juraigamer wrote:Durr, of course I would make a simple mistake like that...


Just don't make it during the game and it's all good!

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in nz
Brainy Zoanthrope






juraigamer wrote:Durr, of course I would make a simple mistake like that...


Simple stuff really.

Couldn't help it.

Gargoyls assualt "Seems Good"

Tyranids 500
1k
1.5k
1750
1850
2k

Feel free to send me messages with points and what style you play restrictions and i will happily construct compettitive lists for you  
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger




puma713 wrote:The impaler cannon simply says, "You cannot claim the benefits of cover unless you are in or touching. . ."
While your conclusion was correct, this is not the correct wording of the impaler cannon - at all. The wording only affects cover that the models are in/touching and no other types of cover whatsoever.

I'll go through it step by step:

"The target can only count the benefits of cover they are in or touching if..."

Does this rule ignore other types of cover (50% blocked LOS, etc)? No. It only mentions one specific type of cover: cover that the models are in or touching. That's why there's no period before the 'if'.

"...if it lies between them and the Hive Guard."

So this rule ignores the particular type of cover unless it is between the model and the Hive Guard.

--

It fits the structure "X can only benefit from Y if Z"
Or, alternately, "X benefits from Y only if Z"
Which is another way of saying "If not Z then X does not benefit from Y"

Where:
X = "the target"
Y = "cover they are in or touching"
Z = "it lies between them and the Hive Guard"

So it boils down to: "If it does not lie between them and the hive guard, then the target may not benefit from cover they are in or touching"

You'll note that in this entire argument, cover that the model is not in and is not touching is not mentioned.

And also, to respond to time wizard:
Yes, that's correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/15 00:46:39


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: