Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 19:32:52
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Just doing a sanity check for myself.
Thundercrush happens at I3, correct?
Or rather I3 occurs first; Thunderscrush still goes before I2, right?
Also, despite the check vs. highest WS of models in base contact, the small template can be placed anywhere in base contact with the sphinx, in theory (only) hitting a unit not even in combat with the sphinx?
Seems blatantly to be the case. . .not entirely sure why its an issue.
/shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 20:16:15
Subject: Re:Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Mmm, I would still say Thundercrush goes at I1, as nothing says otherwise. Yes, it says after the crew has attacked, but it doesn't specify when. Everything in the game for attacks revolves around striking at your I, or first with ASF, or last with ASL. This one, to me at least, gives no guidance as to when. Why they felt the need to say after the crew is kind of weird, considering they would go first anyway. Maybe they had the same I at one point? *shrug*
I would stick with I1.
Yes, you may place the template anywhere you wish as long as it touches the Warsphinx's base. It even says friend or foe, so you can stomp your own guys in order to get to something specific. It has the same damaging restrictions as stomp, though (War Beasts, Infantry, Swarms).
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 20:45:37
Subject: Re:Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
The main issue I have with I1 is that there would be absolutely no need for the delineation of the timing if it occured when the attacks it replaces occur.
If you assume the text was written the way it was accidentally, I1 makes sense, but that seems a strange assumption.
That said, I think I will go will default I1 but add it to my list of pre-game discussion.
Thanks!
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 21:07:52
Subject: Re:Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Well, I just can't see anything in the rule for thundercrush that would make me comfortable using it at anything but I1. While it would be nice to swing with it a little quicker, I just can't justify it.
/shrug
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 21:12:41
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Oh, I understand completely! I do not mean to sound argumentative, the issue sort of goes past the level of simply assuming extra words though. If there are models with I2 in the combat, the Thundercrush occuring at I1 is nominally going after the crew, but is in reality going after the I2 guys. Still, it seems questionable enough that assuming the weaker seems safest.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/17 21:21:14
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 21:41:54
Subject: Re:Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
No worries, I was just clarifying my mindset.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 23:47:10
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Scribe of Dhunia
|
Does the sphinx have an initiative value? I don't have the codex, but wouldn't it make sense to go at the sphinx's initiative (assuming i'm thinking of the right model with that rule)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 23:56:27
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
kirsanth wrote:Just doing a sanity check for myself.
Thundercrush happens at I3, correct?
Or rather I3 occurs first; Thunderscrush still goes before I2, right?
/shrug
I would say it happens in the time frame After I3 but before I2
So basically after all the I3 attacked, then i would thunder crush.
|
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/18 17:47:18
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
I think that line is just to clarify that you don't have to sacrifice the crew's attacks to Thundercrush. I'd stomp it at I1...
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/18 19:21:18
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Deadly Tomb Guard
In ur gaem, killin ur doodz.
|
"After the crew have attacked, a Khemrian Warsphinx may exchange all of its attacks to make a single Thundercrush attack (though it can still Thunderstomp)."
Straight out of the book.
RAW seems to suggest as soon as your Crew gets done attacking you can make the attack at I3. Part of the bonus of a 1 dice roll hit or miss type of thing going on.
It also seems to suggest that even if both the Crew and the Sphinx are I10 and have ASF, the Crew attacks first, and then the Sphinx attacks.
|
8th ed Khemri in 8-4-0 Malleus wrote:The swordsmen will tar pit nearly anything nearly forever (definitely long enough for the old tank in the flank prank).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/18 21:24:39
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Ragnar4 wrote:"After the crew have attacked, a Khemrian Warsphinx may exchange all of its attacks to make a single Thundercrush attack (though it can still Thunderstomp)."
Straight out of the book.
RAW seems to suggest as soon as your Crew gets done attacking you can make the attack at I3. Part of the bonus of a 1 dice roll hit or miss type of thing going on.
It also seems to suggest that even if both the Crew and the Sphinx are I10 and have ASF, the Crew attacks first, and then the Sphinx attacks.
Init 2, Init 1, and ASL are all "After the Crew have Attacked".
If the rule said, "Immediately after the crew have attacked", I would agree with you.
The only specification of when is "After" the crew. After gives you a sequence, not a time. Without a rule to specify when, you should default to the basic rules, which would be at the WarSphinxes own initiative.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/18 23:03:56
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
I'm with Matt on this one. His interpretation requires the least extrapolation, and still complies with RAW.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 13:21:28
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Is it possible to give the crew great weapons? Perhaps they wanted to make sure the crew got its attacks in before their ride just suddenly flopped over onto everything?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 14:08:36
Subject: Re:Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Nope, no adjustments to crew equipment.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 14:36:46
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
But what about a Tomb King riding on board with a great weapon?
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 14:43:35
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
Dont try to bend the rules lol, its pretty specific.
Even if its a Tomb King on mount, they still treat it as thunder crushing after I3
Which is after I3, but before enemy I2
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/19 14:44:02
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 15:29:23
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
It seems weird that the argument against "bending the rules" calls for attacking at initiative 2.5...
And if it says to crush after the crew attack, what *does* happen if your Tomb King rider is swinging with a great weapon?
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/19 15:40:04
Subject: Thundercrush (again)
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
Oho my bad, then it should attack dead last if TK have great weapon
|
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
 |
 |
|