Switch Theme:

Two issues from a recent game  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Hi all, just played a game and ran into two questions:

1) Can units inside an exploding transport claim cover saves from the explosion? I said no, since they aren't on the board and thus can't really be said to be in cover, but we weren't totally sure. Similarly, can units in cover claim cover saves against their own weapons Getting Hot?

2) When firing a blast weapon at two vehicles that are touching one another, can you position the blast so that the center hole (including the center of the template itself) overlaps the target model but also touches the adjacent vehicle (and thus does a full strength hit to both), or does the center hole have to be entirely on the target model?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/18 09:52:21


 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






1) You can take cover saves from explosions, but you'd have to get that cover save from wargear, a psychic power or a special rule. Area terrain or anything similar won't help. You can always take cover saves, unless you are explicitly told they are not allowed. So cover saves are possible against "Get's hot!", though mostly due to bad wording.

2) The hole must be over the target model. If it's over a second model, it's not over the target model.(BRB pg. 30)

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in fr
Wicked Warp Spider




A cave, deep in the Misty Mountains

1) As said before, cover save from wargear. However, I would disagree with getting a cover save from get hot. Admittedly no where in the book does it say that these cover saves are allowed, however I haven't seen anywhere that you can always take cover saves unless stated otherwise. Not to mention it makes more sense getting no save.

2) As long as the central hole of the blast marker is entirely over the target model, anything else that is under the blast is hit. In the example you gave, if your blast marker was entirely over one vehicle, but the radius caught the other vehicle, it would get hit too.

Craftworld Eleuven 4500

LoneLictor on thread about an ork choking the Emperor:
 LoneLictor wrote:
I like to imagine the Emperor kills so many Orks that he ends up half buried beneath a pile of corpses, with only his head sticking out. A lone grot stumbles across him, and starts choking him.

Then Horus comes across the lone grot, somehow managing to kill the Emperor, and punts it into space.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) in the rules for cover saves it states you can take them, and then in the rules for Assaults it states you cannot. General permission to take them is right there in the rules.

2) However it would get hit at HALF strength. It is NOT legal to put the hole over two vehicles, as this violates the requirement for the hole to be entirely over the hull of the target vehicle.

The only way it would be legl is with a skimmer over another vehicle
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

and skimmers are forbidden from hovering over other models.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Lord Rogukiel wrote:1) As said before, cover save from wargear. However, I would disagree with getting a cover save from get hot. Admittedly no where in the book does it say that these cover saves are allowed, however I haven't seen anywhere that you can always take cover saves unless stated otherwise. Not to mention it makes more sense getting no save.

You are only allowed to claim cover save if either a) the line of sight from the firer is obscured or if b) the firer is shooting through more than 2" of area terrain. For similar reasons you can't claim cover saves from area terrain when a vehicle explodes since you are defacto point blanc and inside from the firer (the vehicle you are in).

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

well, thats because you technically weren't in the area terrain at the time of the explosion.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

I'm just saying it wouldn't matter anyway.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

BRB pg60:

'Place the marker with the hole over any part of the vehicle's hull'. RAW does not say 'any fraction of the hole'.

But the question remains open of scattered blasts landing with the hole touching two hulls. You only get full strength if 'the centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicle's hull.' If you want to strip this down to extreme RAW, it's not saying the hole or any fraction thereof, it's saying the centre of the blast marker.

Slightly dodgy wording, here, but with nothing defining the 'centre' as the hole - the hole is AFAIK just described as being 'in the centre' - then geometry tells us the centre of this circular object is the point where diameters cross.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




GT - no, they are not. They are forbidden from ending THEIR move over another model, other models are NOT forbidden from ending THEIR move under a model.

Mahtamori - your 2) is incorrect. You only need to be firing through more than 2" of Area Terrain if you are firing OUT OF area terrain. Read the title of that paragragh....
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Mahtamori wrote:
You are only allowed to claim cover save if either...b) the firer is shooting through more than 2" of area terrain


This is not a rule. If you are in area terrain you get to claim a cover save no matter how far you are away from the shooter. This affect the 'gets hot' question. How ever the vehicle question this doesn't apply because you aren't in the area terrain when you take hits you are still in the vehicle. You disembark once you survive the hits.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
VoxDei wrote:
Mahtamori wrote:
You are only allowed to claim cover save if either...b) the firer is shooting through more than 2" of area terrain


This is not a rule. If you are in area terrain you get to claim a cover save no matter how far you are away from the shooter (the two inch rule is for when the fire is in terrain and the target is not). This affect the 'gets hot' question. How ever the vehicle question this doesn't apply because you aren't in the area terrain when you take hits you are still in the vehicle. You disembark once you survive the hits.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/18 17:50:50


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






So, how exactly would you be able to claim a cover save when the damaging unit surrounds the troops before they appear on the field before difficult terrain is established? And how exactly does the LOS of an exploding plasma gun get obscured on to the same model? Short answer, they aren't. The unit in the transport hasn't even been fielded yet, as the rolls to wound happen before the area terrain and the troops are placed on the field. And the wound for Get Hot! is for the same model, so he can't obscure himself.

C'mon people, the cover save is not guaranteed every time something bad happens. Stop abusing the rule.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




not cover save not in cover till you get out
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because you are already in the terrain. See page 67, measuring to embarked units. You measure to the unit in the vehicle, find they are in area terrain, and find they therefore get cover.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Again, this is rampant abuse of the area terrain and vehicle damage rule. If you don't ant to lose models, don't use transports. Or better yet, don't play the game.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Solo - so, you dont have a rules argument?

Good to know.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






SoloFalcon1138 wrote:Again, this is rampant abuse of the area terrain and vehicle damage rule. If you don't ant to lose models, don't use transports. Or better yet, don't play the game.


You don't get cover from terrain for explosions. You can get cover elsewhere (KFF, SoS).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/19 11:14:49


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: