| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/21 05:49:25
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can not move, now I'm going to move as far as possible.
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/26 23:57:03
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Object can not move, now move object as far as possible.
That's all it is, seriously.
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/29 03:26:50
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can not move, now I'm going to move as far as possible....
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/29 06:24:27
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well the immobed result says "It may not move for the rest of the game." it makes no metion of 'may not make a normal move' or that this denial of movement is limited to this 'Movement' (whatever that is) you mention.
Ones has a rule telling you the trukk may not move for the rest of the game.
One also a rule telling you to move the model 3D6, as far as
possible.
Amazingly this means that 'as far as possible' is 0".
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/29 06:35:18
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Smitty wrote:Chances are, if this does actually occur in a game, one or more of the players will have forgotten that the trukk is immobilized, and will move it anyways. Such is the chaos of a 40k game.
(=\ I'm pretty sure most of my opponents will remember when my Trukks been immobilised...
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/30 02:37:43
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
beigeknight wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:beige - then youre missing the basic rules knowledge needed to comment further. Reread your rulebook and note that *everything* that happens to infantry happens to every unit type in the book, except where specified otherwise.
Yeah, page 11 in the BRB. I have the LittleRedBook but I assume it's got the same rules. It didn't say that "everything that happens to infantry happens to every unit type in the book, except where specified otherwise". Or even imply that. If there is a certain passage in the book that you're refering to please point it out to me. Is your rulebook and my rulebook different somehow? Even at the top, in bold, before it starts talking about movement rules, it says "...we'll just explain how squads of infantry move..." and right after that it says "Vehicles, jump infantry, bikes and certain other units move in different ways to represent their greater mobility, and these will be discussed in detail later.
And then there's a section later on in the book talking about how vehicles move. And nowhere in there does it state that they have to stop 1" from an enemy model, because they don't have to.
What I'm trying to get at is that "...stop 1" from any model or terrain" is not a normal move, as per the vehicle movement rule.
On a side note, I wonder how many times this has actually come up in a game throughout the world.
"MODELS IN THE WAY
A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model (which is represented by its base or by its hull) or through a gap between friendly models that is smaller than its own base (or hull) size. A model cannot move so that it touches an enemy model during the Movement and Shooting phases – this is only possible in an assault during the Assault phase. To keep this distinction clear, a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting." Pg 11
You know, in the rules for movement. Unless you're saying that a vehicle isn't a model? This harks back to the Specific > General that Nos is trying to help people understand. You have a rule saying models may not move with-in one inch. Vehicles do not have a rule saying they may move with-in 1". So as the vehicle is a model, it can not move with-in one inch.
What I'm trying to understand is how "may not move for the rest of the game" is over-ridden by "move".
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/30 03:15:09
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Brother Ramses wrote:ChrisCP wrote:What I'm trying to understand is how "may not move for the rest of the game" is over-ridden by "move".
If you are asking this, then you have ignored the last 10 pages of this thread and are only just parroting Nos for some reason.
Okay, you are forbidden from moving for the rest of the game. And you're saying that one's now allowed to move the model. It doesn't work with-in the application of the rules.
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/30 05:35:55
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jidmah wrote:cgmckenzie wrote:It's not allowing you to move it, it is telling you to move it. Slight difference there.
Not quite correct - more exact would be:
The trukk is not allowed to move, it is telling you to move it.
"It may not move for the rest of the game."
"Move the trukk"
So please again show where people keep finding permission to break 'may not move' with 'move the trukk'. After all it will have moved 3D6 in a random direction and you'll have broken the rules for an immobilised result.
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/30 08:10:56
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Again - that doesn't give permission, for you the player to move the trukk a distance greater than 0", which is 'as far as possible', when it may not move for the rest of the game.
And in case it was blindingly obvious, the player always moves models, "a player may move any of his units", "the player selects another unit and moves that one", "a player doesn’t have to move all (or indeed any) of his units" Page 11
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/30 08:12:11
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/30 23:47:17
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No it says "May not move for the rest of the game."....
|
|
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/07/01 05:37:41
Subject: Ramshackle Rule
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes it will, "instead move the models the minimum distance necessary to make space for the monolith."
Is quite different from "as far as possible" with a maximum distance of 0".
|
|
|
 |
|
|