Switch Theme:

Need a response immediately! Land Raider crusader frag launchers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Alright, we're playing a 3 player game and opponent A blew up opponent B's land raider, so player B's squad disembarked, and he charged on his next turn. His DA book says the frag rounds count if he charges in the same turn he disembarks (but he disembarked in other players turn). Can he get his charge? I say no, but he is arguing yes, as it doesn't specify game turn or player turn. Need a response immediately, in game now

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





If I understand the situation correctly... uhhh that's a bit "No".

You can't benefit from a piece of wargear from a destroyed unit.
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Thanks. Still a bit of an argument from him (if it wrecks instead, which it didn't anyway) but he agreed to this response. Thanks. Mods can lock if they don't feel it needs to be around anymore

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

If he didn't disembark the turn he assaulted, then no he doesn't get the grenades.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If it doesn't specify it means player turn. Page 9 of the rulebook and reaffirmed in the FAQ.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Also going off of what your friend is saying about the turns, the FAQ also states that whenever a rule talks about a "turn" to assume it means "Player Turn" unless specified.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Turn means player turn unless otherwise specified.

So unless he is in the land raider at the start of his (Player B's) movement phase he can not use the frag launchers.
Murrdox wrote:You can't benefit from a piece of wargear from a destroyed unit.


You can benefit from the frag assault launchers if you rammed a vehicle with the land raider and the land raider was destroyed, since the frag assault launchers rules say "Any unit charging into close combat on the same turn as it disembarks from the LRR or LRC counts as having frag grenades."



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/28 04:16:46


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

Thanks guys, I felt confident in my answer, I just wanted backup to show him everyone's opinions on it. All set now.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





DeathReaper wrote:
You can benefit from the frag assault launchers if you rammed a vehicle with the land raider and the land raider was destroyed, since the frag assault launchers rules say "Any unit charging into close combat on the same turn as it disembarks from the LRR or LRC counts as having frag grenades."


Interestingly worded... but I think that rule assumes that the Land Raider in question that was disembarked from is still in existence when the assault occurs. True, the unit did disembark from the land raider this turn... but when they Assault, the Land Raider doesn't exist to give them the bonus anymore.
   
Made in us
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh





Norwalk, Connecticut

RAW, it sounds plausible. RAI....no fething way. Lol. Oh well, I guess that one sits with a TO's ruling. And since I still TO at my local tournaments (If I ever bother to show up)...it would never fly. I'd laugh at somebody attempting that and tell them no. The model giving the ability is gone.

Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.

Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.


Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Murrdox wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
You can benefit from the frag assault launchers if you rammed a vehicle with the land raider and the land raider was destroyed, since the frag assault launchers rules say "Any unit charging into close combat on the same turn as it disembarks from the LRR or LRC counts as having frag grenades."


Interestingly worded... but I think that rule assumes that the Land Raider in question that was disembarked from is still in existence when the assault occurs. True, the unit did disembark from the land raider this turn... but when they Assault, the Land Raider doesn't exist to give them the bonus anymore.

All the Rule cares about is if the unit charged into close combat on the same turn as it disembarks from the LRR or LRC.

so if the terminators disembarked from the LRR or LRC that turn they get the benefit weather the vehicle is there or not, that is what the RAW says.

Basically you ask the question "did this unit that assaulted disembark from a vehicle with the frag assault launchers this turn"

If the answer is yes, then they get the benefit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: