Switch Theme:

Complex assault at same initiative  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer








As you can see from the picture, there is a lot of stuff happening at initiative 6!

First off, for some clarification, that is TWO squads of Genestealers. One squad has six Genestealers, two of which is attacking the Raider while the rest of the squad is attacking Wyches. There is a second squad of Genestealers that fully assaulted the Raider. There is also a squad of Tyranid Warriors mixed in there with the Wyches. My questions:

1) We decided to let him resolve his Genestealers first. We both realize that all of the Wyches and the Genestealers attack at the same time. He uses 4 of his Genestealers to attack the Wyches. There is one unsaved wound and I pull a model off (which is the black primed model sitting right next to the Raider). The other two Genestealers attack the Raider and whiff. The squad of 6 Genestealers attack the Raider and cause an explosion. The explosions is 3". The question is this: That one model I pulled off... does she count as getting hit by the explosion? We had some discussion with some other people at the shop and it was sort of split on if it counts or not. We ultimately decided that it DID count as getting hit as the ENTIRE initiative count is resolved AT THE SAME TIME. So, does that one Wyche get hit or not?

2) Do the wounds caused by the explosion count towards combat resolution?

3) There is a Haemonculus inside the Raider that suffered a wound from the explosion. Does that count toward combat resolution?

4) After the fight, can *ANY* Genestealers "pile-in" into the Haemonculus that had to bail out of the Raider and suffered a wound?

5) After the fight, can the squad of eight Genestealers that assaulted the Raider "pile-in" into the Wyches?

Thanks for your answers! It was a little complex and I think we played it out right (or close enough).


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kurce wrote:1) We decided to let him resolve his Genestealers first. We both realize that all of the Wyches and the Genestealers attack at the same time. He uses 4 of his Genestealers to attack the Wyches. There is one unsaved wound and I pull a model off (which is the black primed model sitting right next to the Raider). The other two Genestealers attack the Raider and whiff. The squad of 6 Genestealers attack the Raider and cause an explosion. The explosions is 3". The question is this: That one model I pulled off... does she count as getting hit by the explosion? We had some discussion with some other people at the shop and it was sort of split on if it counts or not. We ultimately decided that it DID count as getting hit as the ENTIRE initiative count is resolved AT THE SAME TIME. So, does that one Wyche get hit or not?

As you say, it's all happening at once, so yes, that model would be hit.


2) Do the wounds caused by the explosion count towards combat resolution?

No. Those wounds are caused by the explosion, not by close combat.


3) There is a Haemonculus inside the Raider that suffered a wound from the explosion. Does that count toward combat resolution?

No. Same reason.


4) After the fight, can *ANY* Genestealers "pile-in" into the Haemonculus that had to bail out of the Raider and suffered a wound?

He wasn't engaged in the combat, and you can't engage units that weren't involved in the combat. So no.


5) After the fight, can the squad of eight Genestealers that assaulted the Raider "pile-in" into the Wyches?

Yes. It's all one big multiple combat, so they are required to do so.

 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Oh, well, in that case, we played it pretty bad, then. I thought explosions counted towards combat resolution since it was caused as a result of close combat. Oh well, now we know.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

They do count towards resolution, BRB FAQ:
Q: In a multiple combat involving opposing vehicles and
non-vehicle units are wounds caused by the Destroyed –
Explodes! result on the Vehicle Damage table counted
towards the combat total? (p63)
A: Yes all wounds caused in this way will count. Unsaved
wounds caused to enemy models will count to your
combat total and unsaved wounds caused to friendly
models will count to your opponents combat total.
   
Made in au
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




Perth, AUS

insaniak wrote:
Kurce wrote:1) We decided to let him resolve his Genestealers first. We both realize that all of the Wyches and the Genestealers attack at the same time. He uses 4 of his Genestealers to attack the Wyches. There is one unsaved wound and I pull a model off (which is the black primed model sitting right next to the Raider). The other two Genestealers attack the Raider and whiff. The squad of 6 Genestealers attack the Raider and cause an explosion. The explosions is 3". The question is this: That one model I pulled off... does she count as getting hit by the explosion? We had some discussion with some other people at the shop and it was sort of split on if it counts or not. We ultimately decided that it DID count as getting hit as the ENTIRE initiative count is resolved AT THE SAME TIME. So, does that one Wyche get hit or not?

As you say, it's all happening at once, so yes, that model would be hit.


2) Do the wounds caused by the explosion count towards combat resolution?

No. Those wounds are caused by the explosion, not by close combat.


3) There is a Haemonculus inside the Raider that suffered a wound from the explosion. Does that count toward combat resolution?

No. Same reason.


4) After the fight, can *ANY* Genestealers "pile-in" into the Haemonculus that had to bail out of the Raider and suffered a wound?

He wasn't engaged in the combat, and you can't engage units that weren't involved in the combat. So no.


5) After the fight, can the squad of eight Genestealers that assaulted the Raider "pile-in" into the Wyches?

Yes. It's all one big multiple combat, so they are required to do so.

The explosion does count as mention above, the squad of 8 DO NOT pile in to the wyches after combat, as they charged the raider and didn't have a model in B2B with any wyches, they don't even get to consolidate as it's a vehicle.
Some people would say that since they're within 2' they count as in CC but they didn't charge the wyches, if it wasn't a multi charger why would they pile into the wyches? If you could do this you could argueably charge into your own squad in CC and still be in combat as your within 2', which is just odd.

Altansar -7k
Black Legion - 4k
My Blog - Getting It Done 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

The Wyches were in the same combat as the 8 genestealers (because of the 2 from the unit of 6 that also charged the raider) and so the 8 genestealers must try and pile into the wyches. It's not two seperate combats, it's 1 complex combat and whether the 8 charged the wyches or not is irrelevant as long as they were both in the same combat.

Check the bottom of pg. 41 for confirmation. All units involved in a Multiple Combat must pile into an enemy involved in that combat. So because the unit of 6 multicharged the unit of 8 and the wyches are in the same combat and so must pile into each other if possible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/06 07:36:31


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MikZor - as stated above, the squad of 8 was involved in ONE multiple combat, meaning they must pile in towards the wytches.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

MasterSlowPoke wrote:They do count towards resolution, BRB FAQ:
Q: In a multiple combat involving opposing vehicles and
non-vehicle units are wounds caused by the Destroyed –
Explodes! result on the Vehicle Damage table counted
towards the combat total? (p63)
A: Yes all wounds caused in this way will count. Unsaved
wounds caused to enemy models will count to your
combat total and unsaved wounds caused to friendly
models will count to your opponents combat total.

Well, look at that. Must have blanked that one out...

 
   
Made in au
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




Perth, AUS

Chrysis wrote:The Wyches were in the same combat as the 8 genestealers (because of the 2 from the unit of 6 that also charged the raider) and so the 8 genestealers must try and pile into the wyches. It's not two seperate combats, it's 1 complex combat and whether the 8 charged the wyches or not is irrelevant as long as they were both in the same combat.

Check the bottom of pg. 41 for confirmation. All units involved in a Multiple Combat must pile into an enemy involved in that combat. So because the unit of 6 multicharged the unit of 8 and the wyches are in the same combat and so must pile into each other if possible.

Can't argue with that. I can kinda see the logic in this, just seems fishy.
Thanks for the clarity

Altansar -7k
Black Legion - 4k
My Blog - Getting It Done 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





related question.

an explosion from an assault wounded nearby models that were NOT part of ANY assault, do those wounds count towards resolution ?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

No.
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Seems we played it right, Kurce. I did not pile into the Haemonculus because he was not in combat, but they do need to pile into the Wyches because the 6man Genestealer squad was in assault to the Raider and the 8man Genestealer was assaulting the Raider so is therefore in the same combat. And the explosion counts towards combat resolution for both causing the Raider to explode and the insuing wound to the Maemonculus.

Oh, and FYI, he wins the combat because of Dodge/FnP and always Dodging all my Rending wounds. Hate how Tyranids are so bad, especially against DE.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/07 15:19:36


- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

at least you didn't get into an Argument about weather the Wytches get their Dodge save against the explosion.

that could have gotten ugly.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Grey Templar wrote:at least you didn't get into an Argument about weather the Wytches get their Dodge save against the explosion.

that could have gotten ugly.


Ya, that was pretty easy to determine because explosions are allocated as shooting attacks and as such, can not dodge them (yes, they are in combat but thats not how we saw it).

- 3000+
- 2000+

Ogres - 3500+

Protectorate of Menoth - 100+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Disarray wrote:related question.

an explosion from an assault wounded nearby models that were NOT part of ANY assault, do those wounds count towards resolution ?
No.


No, However if the explosion causes 25% of the models as casualties in the unit "that were NOT part of ANY assault" then the unit that was not part of any assault would have to check morale at the end of the assault phase.

It is rare that 25% casualties cause a morale check in the assault phase, but this is one of those situations.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





My only problem is that the Answer here kind of says otherwise

Q: In a multiple combat involving opposing vehicles and
non-vehicle units are wounds caused by the Destroyed –
Explodes! result on the Vehicle Damage table counted
towards the combat total? (p63)
A: Yes all wounds caused in this way will count. Unsaved
wounds caused to enemy models will count to your
combat total and unsaved wounds caused to friendly
models will count to your opponents combat total.


Granted the question only asks about units in the assault, and maybe I'm nitpicking but the Answer does say ALL WOUNDS caused this way will count...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/07/07 18:04:23


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: