Switch Theme:

Close Combat Invuln saves and shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My question for you is this:
If a unit only has an invulnerable save in close combat (i.e. The Swarmlord), is in close combat and hit by a non-close combat attack (i.e scattered blast marker). Does the model/unit still get invulnerable saves from that attack?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




Perth, AUS

Don't see why he would, it's still a shooting attack

Altansar -7k
Black Legion - 4k
My Blog - Getting It Done 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No; it was not a close combat attack.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

True, however the rule states "While in close combat the Swarmlord has a 4+ Invulnerable save". The Swarmlord is in close combat for this situation. And for the record, it was my opponent who had the close combat invuln, getting hit by the Doom of Malen'tai s spirit leech.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





The wording does seem to allow him to take his save.
Compare the wording to that of Dark Eldar Wyches for an example of when the opposite would apply.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Monstrous Master Moulder




Sacramento, CA

Depends on how the specific rule is worded. If it gets its save while in close combat then it is entitled to the save whenever it is in close combat regardless of the source of the wound. If it gets its save against close combat attacks then it only gets to use it against close combat attacks. The Grey Knights FAQ brought this question up regarding the warding staff. It works whenever the bearer is in close combat regardless of where the wounds came from, whereas the subtly different nemesis force sword only helps defend against close combat attacks.

Agitator noster fulminis percussus est 
   
Made in pl
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utapau

Surely "While in close combat the Swarmlord has a 4+ Invulnerable save" answers this question effectively. As long as the Swarmlord is in close combat at the point that wounds are resolved, he should get his save.

~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

I think the idea is he is so in his element that he can literally shrug off attacks left right and centre. when he's out of combat, he lacks that extra bit of adrenaline

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Gotta go with, he gets the 4++

   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

While I do not believe the intent was for it to work as such, as per the wording I would say he gets the 4++.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






He gets the 4+, Same as a Grey knight with a warding Staff gets his 2+ per the new FAQ:

Q: Can the save granted by a Nemesis warding stave
be taken against all Wounds suffered whilst the wielder
is engaged in close combat and not only against
Wounds caused by close combat attacks? (p54)
A: Yes.

And "wounds caused in close combat" is the when that the GKNWS uses, So wyches still do not get theirs from any other source than a Close combat attack.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Sam__theRelentless wrote:Surely "While in close combat the Swarmlord has a 4+ Invulnerable save" answers this question effectively.

It would if that were actually what the rule says. It's not.

However, the Grey Knight FAQ posted by Kommissar Kel would seem to set a precedent here, as silly a decision as it is.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

insaniak wrote:
Sam__theRelentless wrote:Surely "While in close combat the Swarmlord has a 4+ Invulnerable save" answers this question effectively.

It would if that were actually what the rule says. It's not.


If I misquoted I apologize (as I did not have my codex on me at the time) Actually the model taking wounds was equipped with the warding staff. I was just using the Swarmlord (and misquote) as an example.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




"The Swarmlord has a 4+ invulnerable save in Close Combat" pg 56 of the Codex
   
Made in pl
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utapau

Same thing in that case...

Well, at least I quoted the misquote correctly

~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc



NC

Rules as intended, I strongly stand in saying that he shouldn't get the save, as his CC invul is from his ability to parry all manner of attacks with his bone swords. (if i remember accurately).

But strictly RAW with the current phrasing, he has a 4++ against any and all wounds while he is locked in CC.

 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






In my opinion...

Q: When two special rules or effects contradict each
other how is this resolved? (p2)

A: Roll off using ‘The Most Important Rule!’.

Solved.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Kurce wrote:In my opinion...

Q: When two special rules or effects contradict each
other how is this resolved? (p2)

A: Roll off using ‘The Most Important Rule!’.

Solved.

That's not particularly relevant to the discussion, and if you're going to keep posting it into YMDC threads, I'm going to start treating it as Spam and deal with it accordingly.

 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Seems legit to me. Official GW FAQ says roll off if it isn't obvious. Done.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This isn't an issue of contradictory rules, which is what the FAQ response you posted is talking about.

It's also, while a workable solution to use at the table, not an answer to the question. As such, it's no more relevant than pointing out that people can change the rules to suit themselves.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: