Switch Theme:

Declaring Charges and reactions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch





This came up in a game recently and I was hoping you could tell me if we played it out correctly.

Say my opponent declares 2 charges on two separate units.

I choose to "hold" with one and "flee" with the other.

He for the unit charging my "holding" unit. He rolls enough to close against my "holding" unit and closes the gap. Models are now in base to base.

My opponent then realises that his second unit can no longer see the unit they declared the charge against due to his first charging unit blocking their line of sight. Due to this it is not possible for them to make base to base using just one wheel no matter how high they roll on the dice.

So 2 questions arise...

1. Does the charge auto fail? (If so is it classed as a normal failed charge?)
2. If yes then does my unit flee? (Or do they have no charge reaction as their is no longer any charge happening. )

The actual charges were much more complicated than my example but im trying to break it down as much as I can.

Thanks for any help guys.

When life gives you lemons, BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Charges are declared one at a time, and charge reactions are handled immediately.

So in your case, he would declare charge 1; You hold. He declares charge 2; You choose flee and immediately roll the distance, pivot and move your unit. He can then choose to resolve the distance rolls in whatever order he wants. If he does charge 1 first, and his unit now blocks charge 2 from happening, then Charge 2 automatically fails.

There were two ways (at least) for your opponent to avoid this:

1. Most simply, resolve Charge 2 first. That would prevent his unit in Charge 1 from getting in the way.

2. When your unit chose to Flee from Charge 2, he could have opted to Redirect his charge most likely into the same unit involved in Charge 1.

Order of charges can sometimes be very important, but it's also important to remember that charge reactions occur immediately.
   
Made in gb
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch





This is very helpful. Thanks steamdragon.

We ended up playing it that I fled anyway, but we did not consider the charge redirection.

Regarding the charge redirection: If I flee from a charge does he get to auto redirect to a new target instead or rolling to see if he can reach his original intended target?

When life gives you lemons, BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




He has to take a Ld test to redirect to a new charge target. If he succeeds, he can then declare to any legal new unit. He still has to follow all the basic rules (front arc, within range, etc).

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch





Perfect. Thanks.

I seem to be on a roll here and I am taking notes for my next game. I have one other question that I hope you guys can shed some light on.

Lets say that 3 of his units charge 1 of mine. 2 of his units are in the front arc and one in the side arc of his intended target (my 6 strong unit of Ogre Bulls).

His unit in my side arc charges and maximises model count in base to base.

His other 2 units charge the front facing of my unit but due to the size of his charging units it is not possible for them both to be in base to base with my small unit of 3x2 bulls.

So what happens?

When life gives you lemons, BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




In that case, one of them fails to charge. It would be his choice. If they could both make it, with the free distance on wheels and such, it should be tough not to get them both into base to base. Even if it means that one of the units is only corner to corner, that is legal as long as the maximum number of models that could be brought into play are. I have seen it happen, but it is rare.




I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch





Good to know. Thanks for that.

We have been playing it correctly then. It only cropped up in one game I played at the weekend. Due to scenery and placement of units it seemed impossible for his 2 units to get into base to base. So we ruled that one failed.

Thanks again.

When life gives you lemons, BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD! 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Daemon_Dave wrote:Perfect. Thanks.

I seem to be on a roll here and I am taking notes for my next game. I have one other question that I hope you guys can shed some light on.

Lets say that 3 of his units charge 1 of mine. 2 of his units are in the front arc and one in the side arc of his intended target (my 6 strong unit of Ogre Bulls).

His unit in my side arc charges and maximises model count in base to base.

His other 2 units charge the front facing of my unit but due to the size of his charging units it is not possible for them both to be in base to base with my small unit of 3x2 bulls.

So what happens?


He should have moved in the two to the front first, splitting the frontage. Then move the unit into the flank. That would maximize contact between all 3 units involved in the charge.
If he moved the flank in first, he's SOL on the front, one of the two units most likely won't fit; though it might have been possible for one unit to touch other the other clipping on the outside corner.

I'm going to bet the ogres didn't do so well, they don't normally like being triple teamed.

-Matt




 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

You don't have to resolve charges in the order that they're declared? (to steamdragon)

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, you decide in which order to resolve
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Yep. Declaring them in order is an artifact from 7th. Now you resolve them how you want. It keeps things a lot simpler which I would daresay was the goal.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: