Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 19:53:16
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
OK me and a buddy were discussing lash of submission, and heres the the question that popped up. if i have a sorcerer with lash in a noise marine squad, can he lash a seperate enemy unit from the target of the noise marines? example sorcerer lashes mariner tact squad and the noise marines shot at scout squad? also can a lash sorcerer lash out the top of a rhino, and the squad inside still fire? does he count as a weapon being shot? even though hes not shooting?
thanks in advance!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 19:57:55
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Nope. He has to target the same unit.
Rhino, yes, he can cast out of the fire point and yes, it counts as one of your models 'firing'.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 19:58:16
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I'm not sure if this is classified as a PSA or not, however my gut says yes.
Can the Sorcerer target and "shoot" a diferent unit than his squad?
I know measurement is done at the same time, so with your 2x Firing Points in a Rhino measure to see if you are in range after declaring what you're doing, and lash/Bolter, etc will fire at the same time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 20:23:15
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
IIRC, RAW lash is NOT a PSA by its current definition. It is a power used in the shooting phase instead of firing a weapon. So RAW yes he can target a separate unit. Lash out of a rhino would use one of the fire points as Lash requires los.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/01 20:25:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:06:08
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:Nope. He has to target the same unit.
Rhino, yes, he can cast out of the fire point and yes, it counts as one of your models 'firing'.
Don - not true. Lash is NOT a PSA, not any longer. As such he is not constrained by shooting rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:23:21
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
so i CAN lash a different enemy unit than the one my unit is firing on? thats how i am interpreting the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:28:49
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
zachwho wrote:so i CAN lash a different enemy unit than the one my unit is firing on? thats how i am interpreting the rule.
Yup, that's how we've been playing at our FLGS and tourny.
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:29:40
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
very interesting.... thanks guys!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 21:32:55
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
zachwho wrote:so i CAN lash a different enemy unit than the one my unit is firing on? thats how i am interpreting the rule.
Well, some people may get picky over "...instead of using another ranged weapon", as it implies similar limitations as with firing ranged weapons.
But I side with the view that Lash is explicit in that which models can be targeted, and it's not bound by "shooting attack" limitations. So yes.
|
Mr Vetock, give back my Multi-tracker! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 22:00:05
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
The "another ranged weapon" bit is why I do still consider it a PSA, which meas that the Lash rules consider Lash to be a ranged weapon. And stand by my answer. Haven't seen anything from GW one way or the other, except for this FAQ:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting
attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a
ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP
value) and any psychic power that specifically states
that it is a psychic shooting attack.
IMO, Lash meets the second definition, in that it states that it is a ranged weapon in the Lash rules.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 23:24:33
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
it doesn't state that its a ranged weapon in the lash rules, it says instead of using another ranged weapon. so instead of firing a bolt pistol i can use lash, a psychic power used in the shooting phase that does not have a str or ap value, i also don't roll to hit with it. so i would say its not a ranged weapon. the RAW are pretty clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/01 23:25:21
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
don_mondo wrote:The "another ranged weapon" bit is why I do still consider it a PSA, which meas that the Lash rules consider Lash to be a ranged weapon. And stand by my answer. Haven't seen anything from GW one way or the other, except for this FAQ:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting
attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a
ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP
value) and any psychic power that specifically states
that it is a psychic shooting attack.
IMO, Lash meets the second definition, in that it states that it is a ranged weapon in the Lash rules.
It says no such thing. Lash replaces a shooting attack but it is not a shooting attack. Opinion has no place here as it is clearly define in the FAQ what a PSA is and lash meets neither requirement. Automatically Appended Next Post: The best way to decide if it is a PSA or not is this: does it say it is? Then it is. Does it have a profile? Then it is. Does it seem like it might be or it makes sense that it would be? Then it is not a PSA.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/01 23:30:08
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 00:29:42
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Lash =/= PSA
It does not have a profile, nor does the codex state that it is a PSA. It functions very much like the IG PBS's "Weaken Resolve" power, in that it is done in the Shooting Phase, and that the unit may not fire weapons and cast in the same phase; however, neither have a weapon profile, and neither are defined by their dex as a shooting attack.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/02 00:30:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 02:42:49
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Instead of using another ranged weapon..... Meaning a ranged weapon other than the lash. Meaning they considered the lash to be a ranged weapon. Doesn't have to have a rofile, since it;s description says it's a ranged weapon. Doean't have to state it's a PSA, since it's description says it's a ranged weapon. See where I'm going with this? It's description says it's a ranged weapon, so yeah, i think it's a PSA. If the word "another" wasn't in there, the sentence would read differently and would agree with what you are saying, instead of shooting a ranged weapon, I can use Lash. But it doesn't say that, it says instead of shooting another (ie a ranged weapon other than the Lash ranged weapon) ranged weapon, I can use Lash. See the difference?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 02:55:03
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its description does not say it's a ranged weapon, which is the point. In order to be classed as a psychic shooting attack, the FAQ states that:
It must have a profile like that of a ranged weapon.
Does the lash? No.
It must be specifically stated as being a psychic shooting attack.
Is the lash? No.
This is where your argument falls down, as you're basing your argument off something that is quite unspecific; we're assuming that the presence of 'another' imples that it is a shooting attack, but assumptions and implications mean nothing when it is clearly written that it must be specifically stated as being a PSA for it to be one; nothing in the lash's rules specifically states it's a PSA.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/02 02:55:26
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 08:30:04
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Don - as above. It has to now state it is a PSA, or have a ranged weapon profile. It doesnt meet either of those conditions.
It may be considered a ranged weapon, but that is NOT enough to make it count as a PSA any longer. It must have the *profile* of a ranged weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/02 19:28:26
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
I disagree. But that's just my take on it.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 12:42:20
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Alluring Sorcerer of Slaanesh
|
zachwho wrote:very interesting.... thanks guys!
Indeed, this thread helps out a great deal. I had the same question myself.
I've also seen that Lash can be used to pull units out of combat, http://www.belloflostsouls.net/2007/08/tactica-lash-of-submission.html, is this true as well?
I'll start another thread if need be but hopefully zachwho will find this useful also
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/03 12:44:11
No pity, no remorse, no shoes |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 14:16:31
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
Nashville/Hendersonville, TN
|
The CSM faq specifically says that Lash cannot be used to move units out of combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 14:27:37
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Alluring Sorcerer of Slaanesh
|
Lord_Mortis wrote:The CSM faq specifically says that Lash cannot be used to move units out of combat.
That is a damn good point and I should have remembered/checked this before steamrolling a silly question.  I should have read the date on the Article and the date of the FAQ
Much obliged anyway Mortis!
Let this be a lesson to all who don't want to look silly
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/03 14:29:36
No pity, no remorse, no shoes |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 16:52:50
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
zachwho wrote:so i CAN lash a different enemy unit than the one my unit is firing on? thats how i am interpreting the rule.
Uhh, no, for the following reason ... and I'm going to skip all the "It's a PSA! -- No, it ain't!" hubbub.
Whether it is a PSA or not, the Sorcerer is attached to a unit. He's is targeting something. Is he shooting? Maybe. Maybe not.  This is the slightly grey area.
Anyway, without an expressly written text like "Allows firer to target a separate unit" like a Tau "Target Lock" for Crisis Suits or tanks, then the sorcerer is bound by the rules of being attached to the squad. So if he Lashes something and the CSMs wanna bust some caps too, they do it when the targeted unit is at its starting point, before it gets moved by the Lash.
This ruling/interpretation (like a TO would rule) goes on the "permissive rules" mindset; the rule needs to say you can do it, if you're gonna do it. And Lash doesn't specify anything like a tau "Target Lock" does.
So, I learned to *not* attach my sorcerer to Oblits, but in a slow moving rhino squad of CSM instead.
Good 'nuf?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/03 16:58:22
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 17:07:29
Subject: Re:Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Minnesota, the southeastern part that time forgot
|
Well, I was gonna quote the faq for my response, but several others already have, so...
Lash is not a shooting attack, as per the faq (and that's really the core of this debate), so does not have to follow shooting rules. Look at the eldar, for instance, with their abilities. Has anyone ever made the rest of the farseers squad have to shoot at what was just doomed? Or guided/fortuned?
Lash and such eldar abilities are in the same category, that is, non-shooting psychic abilities. The only difference is that lash is done in the shooting phase.
|
I will split your thoughts open! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 17:11:16
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Brother - no, it isnt good enough, because it isnt correct.
It doesnt matter that you "tartget" a different unit - if youre not shooting, youre NOT bound to the SHOOTING RESTRICTION of targetting the same unit as the rest of the unit.
Which is why Lash not being a PSA is important. Youre not shooting therefore targetting a different unit is fine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 18:19:22
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It doesnt matter that you "tartget" a different unit - if youre not shooting, youre NOT bound to the SHOOTING RESTRICTION of targetting the same unit as the rest of the unit.
Which is why Lash not being a PSA is important. Youre not shooting therefore targetting a different unit is fine.
I see your point, nos. If Lash is, indeed, not a PSA, then this would validate your argument.
I would still contend that the 'attached' rule dictates the 'targeting', not dependent on PSA status.  For, if we aren't shooting at a unit with Lash, what is it the sorcerer is doing?  (No need to answer that).
Since I'm about to hang up my DE for a while, and about to bust out the Lash/Oblit spam, I'd benefit from your interpretation on being able to target a separate unit. However, my local TO ruled the way I outlined it ... and *shrug* it's playable either way.
... Hmm, I now realize that this was earlier this year before those recent FAQs. I'll run it by him again. Not to see if either argument is "right" but simply how it'd be called in the next tourney.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 18:32:45
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, nothing indicates you are shooting them - no roll to hit, no strength, no AP, nothing. You cannot take saves against it. Nothing indicates its a shooting attack, not any longer, given the change in definition of a PSA.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 18:59:13
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, nothing indicates you are shooting them -
Except for the bit in the Lash rules about it being ranged weapon....................... And what do you do with ranged weapons? You shoot them.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 19:14:22
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
don_mondo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, nothing indicates you are shooting them -
Except for the bit in the Lash rules about it being ranged weapon....................... And what do you do with ranged weapons? You shoot them.
Right, don. It has partial qualification of being a "Shooting Attack". Does that fully qualify it though?
Like JotWW, and a few other things in 40k, Lash is an oddity that falls in between definitions. I mean really, do you think that the GW writers thought it through and would be able to readily answer our query without looking at the other guy?
GT: Uhm. Huh. Well, yeah, it's a PSA, because of the range.
PK: But it doesn't do damage or have anything to save against.
GT: Like Jaws?
PK, Damnit, don't bring that one up!
MW: --
GT: No! Just keep quiet, you!
PK: Markerlights?
AT: But they aren't Psychic Shots.
GT: Alessio, you're still here?
Etc.
Lastly, if you two, don and nos, seasoned YMDC posters, are on opposite sides of an issue, then it is highly likely that the afore-mentioned chuckleheads would have to argue about it for a bit to decide it.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 19:22:33
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Minnesota, the southeastern part that time forgot
|
don_mondo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, nothing indicates you are shooting them -
Except for the bit in the Lash rules about it being ranged weapon....................... And what do you do with ranged weapons? You shoot them.
You mean the part about "A psyker may use this psychic power in the Shooting phase instead of another ranged weapon."? So, that bit about another ranged weapon means that lash is a ranged weapon?
|
I will split your thoughts open! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 19:23:04
Subject: Re:Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting
attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a
ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP
value) and any psychic power that specifically states
that it is a psychic shooting attack.
Lash has neither a profile nor does it specifically state that it's a PSA(not even in the extensive FAQ-errata).
Jaws does specifically state that it's a PSA.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/03 19:32:25
Subject: Lash of Submission in a unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, nothing indicates you are shooting them -
Except for the bit in the Lash rules about it being ranged weapon....................... And what do you do with ranged weapons? You shoot them.
YEt it isnt a PSA. So what is it?
it meets neither of the NEW criteria for determining what is and isnt a PSA, so it isnt one.
|
|
 |
 |
|