Switch Theme:

Can this wargear combination and execution work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Sneaky Sniper Drone





hello MDK

I come before you to ask a question regarding a discussion I had with a fellow player about outfitting certain wargear on Tau FW Vre for a certain effect.
Among the folks in the FLGS there was a mixed opinion so we all agreed that turning the question to be answered here was the best choice.

Forgive me if this ends up being a very basic thing....most of us are pretty new to 40K since the first shop in our city opened heh.....Ok enough gilding the lily

Suppose one was to outfit a firewarrior (Vre) with a hard wired multi tracker to make use of his (or possibly her? fluff?) markerlight and pulse rifle in the same turn.
Adding in addition a hard wired target lock.

Now the situation follows: FW team A encounters enemy A and moves to engage but wants to assist the FW team B who has moved to engage enemy B.
Team A Vre wants to use his target lock to place a markerlight on enemy B to support FW team B's BS skill, then resume firing at enemy A with the rest of his own unit to help increase VOF.

Now my question: is this a legal move?

If so please allow me to deviate away from the topic and ask a question that should be placed in tactics but: "do you use said method to support fire teams with different but close objectives?"

You make the call

thank you for your time, it is appreciated


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Looking back it may have been easier to just say:

"Can he shoot weapon 1 at target A and weapon 2 at target B"

sorry for over complicating

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 16:58:23


- 3000 painted 2500 based



13 Wins
2 Draw
3 Losses 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





No, the Target lock simply allows you to have that model fire at a different target that the rest of the squad not a different target per weapon. I believe you could fire both your pulse rifle and markerlight at target B due to the Multi tracker but you would be unable to split those shots.
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





unfortunately, the model must always fire all weapons at the same target. he is allowed, however, to fire both his weapons at target B.

Edit: ninja'd again

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 17:08:22


 
   
Made in cn
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Thank you both for the very quick reply.

that combo seemed a bit too good to be true...

Thanks again

- 3000 painted 2500 based



13 Wins
2 Draw
3 Losses 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Hans_Einberg wrote:
Now the situation follows: FW team A encounters enemy A and moves to engage but wants to assist the FW team B who has moved to engage enemy B.

Well they aren't doing any markerlighting then, it's a heavy weapon.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

The other thing to warn you about, is that taking the Multi-tracker on a Firewarrior doesn't actually do anything.

The multitracker's effect is this, "It enables the model to fire two battlesuit weapon systems in the same turn."

Since battlesuit weapon systems is actually a defined column of wargear on page 25, and neither pulse rifles nor markerlights are listed, it is a waste of 5 points.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





Pullman, WA

@Lone Dragoon: That's been FAQed to be "...fire two weapons in the same turn." But the point still stands that you can't shoot at two different targets with the same model (Otherwise: Crisis suits FTW!).

However, a quick question for the rest of you along this line of inquiry: If the 'vre shoots target B while the squad shoots target A, if the Tau player were to suffer an aneurysm and order the squad to assault, would the only valid assault target be A or B, or can they assault at all? I suspect A, but I'm not 100% sure :/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 22:31:35


Imagine the feeling when you position your tanks, engines idling, landing gear deployed for a low profile, with firing solutions along a key bottleneck. Then some fether lands a dreadnought behind them in a giant heat shielded coke can.

The Ironwatch Magazine

My personal blog 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

they would be able to assault either.

sadly this is not thecase and they can onlyassault the shooting target.

unless the other unit that wasnt shot at is within 2"in which case tey can declare an assault on the shot unit,and move subsequent modals to assault the others,so long as they stay in coherency,as per ASSAULTING MULTIPLE UNITS,pg 34 of rules

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Well which one is it Deadshot, you wrote it twice? Try double checking your post before you click 'submit' to see if it makes any sense.

I would say that they have to assault the unit that the whole unit shot at. The sergeant is granted a specific exception to shooting from the rest of the unit, so I would think that his shot towards a separate target, granted by wargear, would not factor into 'which unit does the unit get to assault'.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: