Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 11:15:34
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
im going to be taking the Book Of Secrets in my next game.
im wondering if once ive rolled my random spell if i can change it to the signature spell? the FAQ doesnt say i cant but want your guys opinion please.
|
mmmm that was a dodgy mushroom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 11:34:05
Subject: Re:WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Wondering Why the Emperor Left
|
Page 115 – Book of Secrets, second paragraph
Change to “Treat the bearer as a Level 1 Wizard, who may use
the Lore of Fire, Lore of Shadow or Lore of Death. He may
not attempt to channel. If he ever casts a spell with irresistible
force he must roll D6+1 rather than 2D6 on the Miscast
table.”
As far as i see it he becomes a level 1 wizard and is treated like normal so roll one spell for him and then you can change it for the signature spell. The question i want to know it if the say exhalted hero has the mark of tzeentch does he have to use the lore of tzeentch even though it's not listed and with that could you do thos combo:
Exhalted hero
Mark of tzeentch
book of secrets
spell familiar (can he have an arcane item?)
necrotic phylactery
shield
Bsb
Third eye of tzeentch
Disc of tzeentch
If so this makes for one hard as Storm of magic hero! be it if he is 245 points. Perfect in 1000 points.
|
2500 points of Iron Hands!
5000 points of Skaven
2000 points of Daemons of Chaos
Adding to the Daemons and Iron Hands ATM! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 11:39:14
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My understanding is that once the Book of Secrets is taken, the character counts as a wizard and thus has access to arcane items.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 13:04:00
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorcerers that take a mark must use spells from that mark's lore. Book of secrets turns you into a level 1 wizard, not a sorcerer, so you cant take spells from a sorc lore.
|
Play warhammer fantasy online : www.universalbattle.com |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 13:36:49
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That remains up for debate. There is a line in the Chaos army book that makes it clear that they use the term "Sorcerer" for any model from that book with Wizard levels. Thus a model with the Book of Secrets can take Sorcerer only items like the Third Eye of Tzeentch.
Edit: From the FAQ, for extra clarity:
Q. Can a Daemon Prince who is a Wizard take ‘Sorcerer Only’
gifts? (p110 & 112)
A. Yes.
Now, while the FAQ specifically mentions a Daemon Prince, it shows that "Sorcerer Only" items are able to be taken by entries other than "Chaos Sorcerer" and "Sorcerer Lord".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/19 13:44:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/19 17:58:23
Subject: Re:WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
James100 wrote:
As far as i see it he becomes a level 1 wizard and is treated like normal so roll one spell for him and then you can change it for the signature spell. The question i want to know it if the say exhalted hero has the mark of tzeentch does he have to use the lore of tzeentch even though it's not listed and with that could you do thos combo:
good point!! my lord is having the book and he has MoT so does that mean he has to use one of Tz spells as described in the rules??
|
mmmm that was a dodgy mushroom |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 03:19:00
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Since it says 'may use' not 'must use' when detailing the lores accesible through the BoS, i'd say the use of the mark lores takes precedence.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/24 18:16:49
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Inside my body
|
Avatar 720 wrote:Since it says 'may use' not 'must use' when detailing the lores accesible through the BoS, i'd say the use of the mark lores takes precedence.
Nope, if the book is taken, the model is considered a Lv1 wizard with Fire/Shadows/Death spells. So if you take your sorcerer lord with the mark of Tzeentch, with the BoS he magically becomes a Lv1 wizard with the Lore of Fire or whatever.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/24 18:58:20
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Raulmichile wrote:Avatar 720 wrote:Since it says 'may use' not 'must use' when detailing the lores accesible through the BoS, i'd say the use of the mark lores takes precedence.
Nope, if the book is taken, the model is considered a Lv1 wizard with Fire/Shadows/Death spells. So if you take your sorcerer lord with the mark of Tzeentch, with the BoS he magically becomes a Lv1 wizard with the Lore of Fire or whatever.
He will still have the MoT though, which is how this discussion came about in the first place. Using your logic, anything else the lord has purchased will also be lost if the Book is taken. You can't argue that the book affects marks but not magical items, it either affects everything, or it affects nothing.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/24 19:29:44
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Inside my body
|
Avatar 720 wrote:Raulmichile wrote:Avatar 720 wrote:Since it says 'may use' not 'must use' when detailing the lores accesible through the BoS, i'd say the use of the mark lores takes precedence.
Nope, if the book is taken, the model is considered a Lv1 wizard with Fire/Shadows/Death spells. So if you take your sorcerer lord with the mark of Tzeentch, with the BoS he magically becomes a Lv1 wizard with the Lore of Fire or whatever.
He will still have the MoT though, which is how this discussion came about in the first place. Using your logic, anything else the lord has purchased will also be lost if the Book is taken. You can't argue that the book affects marks but not magical items, it either affects everything, or it affects nothing.
He only becomes a Lv1 wizard with the Lore of fire/shadows/death, the mark of Tzeentch and whatever weapon, armour, magic item he has. I didn't say the model looses everything. The only thing that changes is that he becomes a fire/shadows/death wizard. Nothing more.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/24 19:52:58
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You'd be ignoring the Mark of Tzeentch, though. In the Sorcerer's rules, it states he may choose his spells from the lore of fire/death, or "...if he has a Mark of Chaos, must choose from the Lore appropriate to that mark".
It'd be the same for Mark of Slaanesh or Mark of Nurgle, the Book of Secrets does not change the fact that his Mark disallows the choice of spells from any other lore.
If the wizard was meant to use the spell solely chosen from the book, then it'd have stated that he 'must' use the Lore of Fire/Shadow/Death, but as it stands, the book only says "may" use the Lore of Fire/Shadow/Death; a sorcerer with a mark 'must' use the Lore of the respective mark; it makes no allowances for magical items, and the 'must' of the mark overrides the 'may' of the book.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/24 19:53:16
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 00:03:36
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Avatar: pushback. The rules for having the appropriate lore of your mark of Chaos are in the sorcerer section, not the Mark of Tzeentch section. You don't treat the bearer of the Book of Secrets as a sorcerer, you treat him as a level 1 wizard who knows spells from one of the three rulebook lores. I would say that the book overrides the mark.
Next question: once he takes the book, can he then take a scroll or other arcane item on top of it?
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 00:17:06
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It still doesn't sort out Raulmichile's post about a Sorcerer Lord with it, since it's mentioned there.
As for magic items, he becomes a wizard, so yes,he can.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 02:43:01
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
WoC FAQ wrote:Treat the bearer as a Level 1 Wizard, who may use
the Lore of Fire, Lore of Shadow or Lore of Death.
It says "treat the bearer as", not that they actually Are a wizard (for the purposes of taking arcane items).
WoC FAQ wrote:Q. Can a Daemon Prince who is a Wizard take ‘Sorcerer Only’
gifts? (p110 & 112)
A. Yes.
The DP IS a wizard, and can take daemonic gifts labelled "sorcerer only". It's a huge jump to say a model with book of secrets can take arcane items. That's adding rules that aren't there, imo. I don't see it being legal according to the RAW above.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/28 02:43:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 02:47:34
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BRB Page 504:
Only a character with a Wizard level can carry an Arcane item.
It says nothing about needing to be a wizard, only having a wizard level, which he gains by having the Book.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 04:45:35
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Yes, but it says "can":
Only a character with a Wizard level can carry an Arcane item.
If we took that quote in a vacuum, Daemon Princes could carry arcane items, too.
I don't know. I could be convinced about this, but I feel like the Book of Secrets should have an additional line saying the bearer can take an arcane item.
Treat the bearer as a Level 1 Wizard, who may use the Lore of Fire, Lore of Shadow or Lore of Death. He may not attempt to channel. If he ever casts a spell with irresistible force he must roll D6+1 rather than 2D6 on the Miscast table.”
The rule lays out that the bearer is treated AS a level 1 wizard (but they are still not necessarily a wizard, for the purposes of taking arcane items, I'd say). This pseudo-wizard, however, May use one of 3 lores, but May Not channel.
I just don't see how things that aren't explicitly laid out in this rule can be done, as he's not a true wizard. I.e., using a chaos lore (it's not on the list) or taking arcane items (not an ability that he is given on the list).
I would allow a person to trade the spell they roll for for the signature spell... afaik every model that can generate a spell can do so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 15:33:53
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If we took that quote in a vacuum, Daemon Princes could carry arcane items, too.
No they couldn't since they don't have a magic item quota, only one for Chaos Gifts.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 17:50:16
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Avatar 720 wrote:If we took that quote in a vacuum, Daemon Princes could carry arcane items, too.
No they couldn't since they don't have a magic item quota, only one for Chaos Gifts.
To be fair, the Daemon Prince could spend all of his ZERO points on magic gear to buy a ZERO point arcane item.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/28 19:13:54
Subject: WOC - Book Of Secrets
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If he had zero points to spend, then yes, but as it stands there's nothing that even allows him access to magic items.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
|