Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 21:59:22
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Defending Guardian Defender
|
Hey everybody, my friend and I were playing SM and Orks, the battle for black reach starter set, and he used an interesting tactic with SM. It was:
1. I assaulted as Orks, beat him
2. he used Combat Tactics to fail the morale test and fall back
3. I failed a sweeping advance
4. He used the ATSKNF to to regroup, which allows him to move as normal and regroup even if within 6", Correct?
5. He shoots his flamer, and then assaults again
6. I lose the unit and HQ, then the match.
Is this a legal set of moves?
I apologize for my Newbishness and thanks in advance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 22:13:07
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
It was correct up until step 4 where he used ATSKNF to regroup. If you have a model within 6" of that unit at the beginning of his turn they automatically fail again and have to fall back a further 2d6. If you had been outside 6" from his unit then it would have been perfectly legal as ATSKNF allows him to regroup in almost any other circumstance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 22:13:34
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
ATSKNF Doesn't override the no regrouping within 6" restriction. If you are allowed to take the test, you auto-pass. You are also allowed to take them even under half strength. But it doesn't allow you to take them within 6", so instead of regrouping he should have fallen back again (assuming they were within 6").
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 22:35:29
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Yup.
You can escort marine units off the table.
My Scarabs are rather fond of doing that, if i can get the squad to break...
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 22:36:51
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
Sydney, Australia
|
its just getting the squad to break thats the problem.
|
Heamonculus army - almost 500 points (more in the mail). none painted.
Wych army - in the mail
DT:90S++G++MB+IPw40k056D+A++/areWD337 R+++T(T)DM+
On Scarabs: "Cry Havoc and let slip the Evil Roombas of Death!" - Philld77
On Landraiders: "Not really a transport though so much as it is a tank with a chauffeur's license" - Nictolopy |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/20 23:14:35
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Yup
Pariahs bodyguarding a Lord with a Nightmare shroud is my favourite, possibly with the Deciever as the other HQ
Occasionally i luck out
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 03:19:01
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
Sydney, Australia
|
wish i could vod paraihs. would make them SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much more dangerous.
|
Heamonculus army - almost 500 points (more in the mail). none painted.
Wych army - in the mail
DT:90S++G++MB+IPw40k056D+A++/areWD337 R+++T(T)DM+
On Scarabs: "Cry Havoc and let slip the Evil Roombas of Death!" - Philld77
On Landraiders: "Not really a transport though so much as it is a tank with a chauffeur's license" - Nictolopy |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 04:27:09
Subject: Re:Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
At 'Ard Boyz, my Landraider tank shocked a Thunderwolf Deathstar (Canis, Lord, and 4 TWC) out of necessity to line up its Flamestorm on some Grey Hunters. The Wolves broke, fell 1" away from the board edge, so I disembarked my Librarian and ran him to within 6". My opponent was not very happy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 19:20:19
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Tracer Bullet wrote:. If you had been outside 6" from his unit then it would have been perfectly legal as ATSKNF allows him to regroup in almost any other circumstance.
ATSKNF overrides exactly one restriction, the one about being below half. Everything else still applies.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 06:06:30
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
goose creek, SC
|
yeah ATSKNF along with combat tactics can be pretty effective if he has the next turn since then he can rapid fire the hell out of you. Just stay within that 6 inches and you will just keep making them run.
|
Deathbringers 5500
"we are the defenders of humanity, we are the bringers of death."
Waaaghallans 4000
"We dont fight fer food, or fer teef, or guns, or cos we's told ta fight. We fight cos we woz born ta fight. And win."
Kabal of the Bleeding Shadows 1500
"Fear not the darkness. Fear that which the darkness hides."
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny
(")_(") to help him gain world domination
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 10:46:01
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Consolidate your orks towards his marines next time.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 15:39:54
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Deathsadvocate wrote:yeah ATSKNF along with combat tactics can be pretty effective if he has the next turn since then he can rapid fire the hell out of you. Just stay within that 6 inches and you will just keep making them run.
Until the marines that are falling back, use their bolters to double tap and make you fall back as well, then rally next turn anyway.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 16:05:24
Subject: Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
If the orks number 11 modals thet're fearless.Therer are at the most 9 modals,probably less.They fire 18 shots and miss 1/3,so that is 12 shots hit.They then wound with half.That is 6 dead orks.not enough to cause fall back.That is if the orks killed only 1.There is a large group of 20.If the SM are in Rapid fire range,then the sluggas will be in range too.So that is 12 shots,4 hit,and 2 wound and usually 2 are saved.Followed by 6 Big Shoota shots,6,4 hit,2.3333 wound and 1.5 fail,so that is 1~2 dead.Follow that up with another assault to kill more and repeat.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/24 20:55:29
Subject: Re:Is this proper rule interpretation?
|
 |
Defending Guardian Defender
|
Thanks for all of the information on the rule. I am still trying to figure this game out, but with you guys and the people at my local gaming store I think that I can get to the point where I don't embarrass the Emperor. Thanks again!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/24 20:55:56
|
|
 |
 |
|