Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 02:52:50
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
Toronto, Canada
|
Sorry if this has been answered before, I searched the forum quickly and couldn't find anything about it. Since units with Rage are required to move towards the closest enemy unit in their movement phase, does this override their ability to embark into transports, even if they embark before moving? I know that Grotsnik, while not actually affected by Rage, has a similar question answered in the ork FAQ saying that he can embark so long as it's driven towards the closest enemy unit. Using this as a precedent, could I park a rhino next to a unit of death company one turn, then next turn have them embark and move them the full 18"? Furthermore, since they're in a vehicle, would I be able to regain control of where they were moving, as it mentions under the rage USR, or is that "against the spirit of the rule" and I would be obliged to drive them at the closest enemy?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/21 02:53:44
Ecce Homo Ergo Elk |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 03:06:18
Subject: Re:Rage and transports
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
This has been answered before and the answer is... (drum roll please) you can embark a raged unit onto a transport and as long as they are on said transport do not have to suffer from the rage effect. If, however, their transport is wrecked/destroyed or they disembark for any reason they are once again affected by the rage.
This is the only way to keep Death Company from chasing a chew toy Land Speeder.
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 03:15:51
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
bruno.sardine wrote:..could I park a rhino next to a unit of death company one turn, then next turn have them embark and move them the full 18"? ...
As for Rage and embarking, models are given permission to embark, rage does not take this ability away.
As for moving a BA rhino Flat out after embarking, this can not be done. Units can not embark onto a transport if it has moved flat out, or is going to move flat out in the movement phase.
With that said I see no reason you can not embark them and move the rhino 12" towards the nearest enemy.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 03:22:32
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
Toronto, Canada
|
DeathReaper wrote:bruno.sardine wrote:..could I park a rhino next to a unit of death company one turn, then next turn have them embark and move them the full 18"? ...
As for Rage and embarking, models are given permission to embark, rage does not take this ability away.
As for moving a BA rhino Flat out after embarking, this can not be done. Units can not embark onto a transport if it has moved flat out, or is going to move flat out in the movement phase.
With that said I see no reason you can not embark them and move the rhino 12" towards the nearest enemy.
Whoops, of course. Forgot that little caveat. Thanks for the info!
|
Ecce Homo Ergo Elk |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 03:24:49
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
well, you don't have to move the vehicle towards the closest enemy, as it doesnt have rage eh?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 09:22:06
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Kelne
|
Also, from my understanding, if you park the rhino in such a way that the Death Company don't see any enemy on the board, they will not move toward the enemy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 09:30:21
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
Best idea when playing Blood Angels . . . don't use Death Company.
|
2500
5000
12,500
4000
5000
2500
3500
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 13:03:07
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
bruno.sardine wrote:Sorry if this has been answered before, I searched the forum quickly and couldn't find anything about it.
Since units with Rage are required to move towards the closest enemy unit in their movement phase, does this override their ability to embark into transports, even if they embark before moving? I know that Grotsnik, while not actually affected by Rage, has a similar question answered in the ork FAQ saying that he can embark so long as it's driven towards the closest enemy unit. Using this as a precedent, could I park a rhino next to a unit of death company one turn, then next turn have them embark and move them the full 18"? Furthermore, since they're in a vehicle, would I be able to regain control of where they were moving, as it mentions under the rage USR, or is that "against the spirit of the rule" and I would be obliged to drive them at the closest enemy?
Mad Dok's rule is much deeper and more controlling than rage. Don't get into the mistake of comparing the two. Mad Dok's rule also doesn't have a LOS component like rage, so that is why you have to worry about people forcing the Dok ro move, disembark and not being allowed to re-embark. Also, Rage is a rule that is governed by RAW... Only Mad Dok's rule has 'against the spirit of the rule' within FAQ so only Mad Dok can someone argue RAi and other stuff like 'will embarking get me closer to the enemy and assaulting.'
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/21 14:00:04
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
Toronto, Canada
|
nkelsch wrote:Mad Dok's rule is much deeper and more controlling than rage. Don't get into the mistake of comparing the two.
Very good point. Thanks for clarifying that!
Alkasyn wrote:Also, from my understanding, if you park the rhino in such a way that the Death Company don't see any enemy on the board, they will not move toward the enemy.
That's true, if they don't have LOS to any enemy units, you control them normally. But assuming that they have LOS to something else, say 48 inches away, could they embark in the rhino? As DeathReaper and Sanguinis have said, the answer is yes.
Thanks for the help all
|
Ecce Homo Ergo Elk |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/27 20:42:49
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Pragmatic Collabirator
|
Last sentence of rage clarifies that you don't have to drive closer to the enemy once embarked.
What if a raging squad move towards the closest unit and there happens to be an empty rhino in front of them. Are they then required to embark since after they do so they would be closer to the enemy, measuring from the hull?
|
I have Faith.
"Strong units. Weak units. That is only the selfish perception of people. Truly skilled players should try to win with their favorites."
Sisters of Battle Paint Blog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/27 21:02:55
Subject: Rage and transports
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
paintedpotato wrote:Last sentence of rage clarifies that you don't have to drive closer to the enemy once embarked.
What if a raging squad move towards the closest unit and there happens to be an empty rhino in front of them. Are they then required to embark since after they do so they would be closer to the enemy, measuring from the hull?
In that situation, I would say yes, since they:
1: Have the ability to embark
2: Must move as fast as possible towards the closest visible unit.
so If they all end up within 2" of a access point of an empty vehicle, and can fit inside said vehicle, I would say they would have to embark.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|