Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:02:33
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Guard player rolls up, shoots over necron warriors at the monolith behind them. Calls for the order that allows rerolls.
He can't hurt the monolith....but the flamer templates cover the necrons....does he get the rerolls?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:07:52
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
Nothing stops you from targeting something you cannot hurt. What is the exact wording of the order however?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:11:21
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Sure, the weapons fire counts as twin-linked. That would include re-rolling wounds v. the other covered models. Just make sure he uses the shortest possible path for the template to hit the Monolith, no maximizing number of Warriors hit.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:13:24
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
I agree with Homer
|
Eldar from the Ixialen Craftworld (6000pts) / Chaos from the Bloody dawn company (5000pts) / Imperial Guard from the Minerva 3rd Battalion (3000pts) / Crimson Drop compagny (BA) 2500 pts
No my avatar is not one of my unit, its a very nice work of conversion wouldn't you say? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:13:35
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
General Hobbs wrote:
Guard player rolls up, shoots over necron warriors at the monolith behind them. Calls for the order that allows rerolls.
He can't hurt the monolith....but the flamer templates cover the necrons....does he get the rerolls?
Why didn't he just target the warriors? Is there a part of the story we're missing??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:16:23
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
Hmm let me re-think that...
Because the order says: Target a Monstrouscreatue or vehicule unit firing at the target count their weapon as twin-linked...
So he fired at the Monololith to use the order that gave it twin-linked, but the main intention was to have re-roll on the warrior since it would not actually break the monolith...
Thats a tough one... the rule is to help you bring down big things with small guardsmen... so firing at the target to get re-rolls on other unit it cheezy at best...
Id have to read the whole rules and think about it... Automatically Appended Next Post: The exact wording is this:
Choose one enemy vehicule (or squadrons of) or monstrous creature (or squadron of) visible to the officer. The nominated unit immidiately fire at the nominated target counting their weapon as twin-linked...
So as I said.. i dont see how we can make this illegal.. but it is cheezy and it is IMO abbusing the rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/22 19:19:39
Eldar from the Ixialen Craftworld (6000pts) / Chaos from the Bloody dawn company (5000pts) / Imperial Guard from the Minerva 3rd Battalion (3000pts) / Crimson Drop compagny (BA) 2500 pts
No my avatar is not one of my unit, its a very nice work of conversion wouldn't you say? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:21:03
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
warboss wrote:Why didn't he just target the warriors? Is there a part of the story we're missing??
Because the order in question, "Bring it Down!" is only usable if the target is a Vehicle, Monstrous Creature, or unit of Monstrous Creatures.
That said, the wording of the order supports this scenario. The Order says that the unit "immediately fires at the target, counting their weapons as twin linked." Thus the weapons count as twin-linked for all purposes, even collateral damage in the case of template or blast weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:21:59
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
After seeing the exact wording I agree with LazyPete. I want to say it shouldn't work but RAW it looks like it will. Again, its kind of a WAAC thing to do.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:23:29
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
General Hobbs wrote:Guard player rolls up, shoots over necron warriors at the monolith behind them. Calls for the order that allows rerolls.
He can't hurt the monolith....but the flamer templates cover the necrons....does he get the rerolls?
Was he covering as much of the monolith as possible? If not, illegal placement of the template.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:26:39
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
The order is call "Bring it Down" if I'm not mistaken.
It gives the weapons in a squad firing at a monstrous creature or vehicle twinlinked. Since the flamer template rerolls wounds with twinlinked it would be legal for him to do. And since you are firing the template at a single model it just has to touch the model, doesn't even have to cover the closest edge so he can lay it however he wants.
|
Warhammer, one of a few games where Yahtzee is possible and not always a good thing
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Armys:
-Fast'N'Slow Bikers- (5 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:26:44
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Very easy to only cover a small amount of the monlith with just hte end of the flamer, however
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:27:50
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
@ Scott - I think it just says as many models as possible do you have a pg number / quote for that particular rule as I don't have a book infront of me
|
Warhammer, one of a few games where Yahtzee is possible and not always a good thing
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Armys:
-Fast'N'Slow Bikers- (5 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:28:36
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Scott-S6 wrote:General Hobbs wrote:Guard player rolls up, shoots over necron warriors at the monolith behind them. Calls for the order that allows rerolls.
He can't hurt the monolith....but the flamer templates cover the necrons....does he get the rerolls?
Was he covering as much of the monolith as possible? If not, illegal placement of the template.
Right, I think this is the only caveat - he wouldn't be able to cover as many Necron Warriors as possible, instead he would have to cover as much of the Monolith as possible. However, if that took him over a unit of Warriors, I don't see any reason why you would not get re-rolls.
It's similar to assaulting a vehicle you cannot hurt for an extra 6" movement up the field.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:46:02
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
KestrelM1 wrote:warboss wrote:Why didn't he just target the warriors? Is there a part of the story we're missing??
Because the order in question, "Bring it Down!" is only usable if the target is a Vehicle, Monstrous Creature, or unit of Monstrous Creatures.
That said, the wording of the order supports this scenario. The Order says that the unit "immediately fires at the target, counting their weapons as twin linked." Thus the weapons count as twin-linked for all purposes, even collateral damage in the case of template or blast weapons.
Ahh, thanks. Its a bit underhanded but legal from the wording posted above. It doesn't say it counts as TL against that target but simply counts as TL.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:46:46
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
You have to cover as many models in the targeted unit as possible. And since the Monolith is only a single unit, you are free to position the flamer anyway you like it so long as it touches the vehicle. It still has to be able to reach the Monolith for this strategy to work, however.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 19:54:22
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jimsolo wrote:You have to cover as many models in the targeted unit as possible. And since the Monolith is only a single unit, you are free to position the flamer anyway you like it so long as it touches the vehicle. It still has to be able to reach the Monolith for this strategy to work, however. The underlined above is incorrect. P.29 states "Against vehicles, the template must be placed to cover as much of the vehicle as possible without touching any friendly models" So you can not "position the flamer anyway you like it so long as it touches the vehicle." and of course you still need to be able to touch the vehicle with the template, otherwise the flamer does not fire because it has missed. As for the OP, yes you would count all the units weapons as twin linked if you issue that order. This includes flamers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/22 19:55:31
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 21:02:34
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Huh. My bad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 21:08:10
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
It is a smart move.Give him a pat on the back for me.Still it was underhanded.......give him 2.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 22:05:51
Subject: Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
ToI wrote:@ Scott - I think it just says as many models as possible do you have a pg number / quote for that particular rule as I don't have a book infront of me
Against vehicles you must cover as much of the vehicle as possible - death reaper has already quoted it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/22 22:07:17
Subject: Re:Legal or not...flaming a target you cannot hurt to get rerolls.
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Quote it he did, handing me my tuchas in the process. Page 29.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|