Switch Theme:

FAQ on dreadnauts with smoke launchers in stormraven?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I felt like there was a previous FAQ about dreadnauts riding in storm ravens being able to launch their smoke to protect the storm raven.

1. I can no longer remember where I saw this, is it still legal?

2. can it be used despite the ruling that vehicles with POTMS can't shoot a gun if theyve used smoke (since its the dread using smoke, not the gunship)?

3. Can I use the smoke after deep striking the stormraven, +fire main weapon for moving at combat speed, +fire the other weapon for POTMS, +fire missiles as defensives, +and fire hurricane bolters as defensives (probably not, but everything is so broken in the GK codex that I have to ask)?

Any memory of this concept would be appreciated. Thanks!
-Mark

I welcome it.
-Mark 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

1. I have no idea what you are talking about, so not legal

3. You pop smoke instead of shooting.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

1. Fairly certain it's not legal as they're seperate units
2,3- Debunked as they're not a squadron, not the same unit, and certainly not the same vehicle.

thought there was a 4th

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/28 18:25:46


   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If the dread uses smoke then the dread gets a cover save. Not especially useful since the raven is the unit being shot at.

2&3 see above.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





alright, so no one seems to recall this ruling. so unless I can find the original (or potentially imagined) ruling on #1, 2 and 3 do not apply. Thats fine, I wont bank on it.
thanks
-Mark

I welcome it.
-Mark 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


We have a ruling on Dreads using their Some Launchers while in a Stormraven in the INAT (not sure if that's what your memory is thinking of), but we ruled that it does not protect the Stormraven, nor does it protect the Dread from the damage caused by its Stormraven exploding.

So the only way it benefits the Dread is if the Stormraven gets destroyed and then the Dread is then shot at by further enemy units.



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/28 19:36:31


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: