Switch Theme:

A question about rending and sniper weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




Reading a Ciaphas Cain book outside the Black Library

Okay, in the rulebook it says when Rending weapons roll 6 to wound, it causes a wound regardless of the unit's toughness. If so, are armor/invulnerable saves still taken or ignored?
For Sniper weapons, it says it always wounds on 4+. Do I still take saves as normal?

Some other questions (don't want to start another topic):
-In an assault, can a model use only one type of grenade at a time?
-For Sternguard, can he shoot special ammunition through his boltpistol or a stormbolter?
-For vehicles, can you pivot after you shoot?
-When rolling for reserves, can you roll in any order you choose, or is it all simultaneous?
-Do close combat weapons confer +1 attack, or 2 close combat weapons (example: for a space marine with a boltgun AND a chainsword (no boltpistol), how many attacks would he have)
-Do DCCW give +1 attack to the walker, or do you need 2 DCCW for that?
-Can immobilized vehicles shoot their weapons at a unit assaulting (locked in combat) with them?
-What counts as defensive weapons for a vehicle? (ex: do lascannon sponsons count?)


I know it's a lot of questions but I've been looking for an answer to them for quite a while.

Thanks in advance

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/29 19:56:58


2000
2000
500

"Change Rules All" 
   
Made in us
Hacking Interventor





Okay, in the rulebook it says when Rending weapons roll 6 to wound, it causes a wound regardless of the unit's toughness. If so, are armor/invulnerable saves still taken or ignored?
It says it makes the hit AP2, so you still get the invul.

For Sniper weapons, it says it always wounds on 4+. Do I still take saves as normal?
yes, you do, it causes a wound, then you save in response ot the wound.

Some other questions (don't want to start another topic):
-In an assault, can a model use only one type of grenade at a time?
You can use as many as you have.

-For Sternguard, can he shoot special ammunition through his boltpistol or a stormbolter?
No, only the bolters have special rounds.

-For vehicles, can you pivot after you shoot?
nope, movement phase has been over

-When rolling for reserves, can you roll in any order you choose, or is it all simultaneous?
Any order

-Do close combat weapons confer +1 attack, or 2 close combat weapons (example: for a space marine with a boltgun AND a chainsword (no boltpistol), how many attacks would he have)
+1 for the second CC weapon, the space marine listed would have one attack.

-Do DCCW give +1 attack to the walker, or do you need 2 DCCW for that?
Need two.

-Can immobilized vehicles shoot their weapons at a unit assaulting (locked in combat) with them?
Yes, because if they do not have a weapon skill, they are not locked.

-What counts as defensive weapons for a vehicle? (ex: do lascannon sponsons count?)
Anything strength 4 or less.
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot




Blackwood, New Jersey

Okay:

Rending ignores armor saves, so if you rolled a 6 to wound, the target gets no armor save. Invulnerable saves may be taken as normal.

Sniper weapons wound on a 4+, the target still gets an armor save unless of course you rolled that 6 for a rend.

Grenades in assault, you need to be more specific. What army/unit are you talking about? VS. vehicles, you can only use one type of grenade at a time (frag, krak, meltabomb), Grey Knights have some special grenades that can be used at the same time in regular assaults.

Not sure on the sternguard, it says bolters so it probably counts the others as well, someone else will have to answer that one.

You can pivot before you shoot, not after.

You can roll in any order you choose. Remember that units have to be on the table to use their special abilities, for example you can't have a drop pod come down and then use the locator beacon to deepstrike terminators that same turn.

Space Marines with a bolter and chainsword only has one attack. You get a bonus attack for having two close combat weapons, and a pistol counts as a close combat weapon for assault purposes. The only times this isn't true are when you have two different special weapons (power sword and power fist), or certain weapons that only ever give you a bonus attack if you have two of them (power fist, thunder hammer, lightning claw).

You would need 2 DCCW for an extra attack.

First of all, vehicles are never locked in combat. They can be assaulted, but they are free to move away if they choose and are able. As to the question, it depends entirely on whether the gun mounts can see them. If there is a model in front of your sponson mounted weapon, then it can fire. If the vehicle only has a hull mounted weapon (let's say a vindicator) and all the models are behind it, then it cannot fire on that unit. Treat it like any other case, if the vehicle's weapons can see the target, it can shoot at it. Note that the vehicle can still fire on something else in LOS, as it is not locked in combat.

Defensive weapons are anything S4 or less, so no the lascannons do not count. For SM, this is generally limited to storm bolters, and the hurricane bolters on a Land Raider Crusader.

Edit: ninja'd!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/08/29 20:13:05


DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+

2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/280663.page

Moving.

 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Probably going to get ninja'd, but answering anyway :3

- Rending weapons that roll a 6 to wound count as AP2 (shooting) or Power Weapons (melee). (Rulebook, pg 31 & 42)

- Sniper weapons have an AP value. If they wound without Rending, use this value; if they Rend, they have AP2.

- I'm not aware of any rule forbidding the use of more than one grenade type.

- Sternguard special ammo can only be used in Boltguns. (Codex SM, pg 63)

- Vehicles can pivot in the movement phase only. (Rulebook, pg 57)

- You can roll for Reserves all in one handful of dice or one by one, as long as you make all of your rolls before bringing arriving units into play one by one. (Rulebook, pg 94)

- Single CCW gives no bonus attacks. Two CCW generally gives +1A, though some - power fists, etc - must be a matching pair for this to count. (Rulebook, pg 42)

- One DCCW gives Power Weapon that doubles Strength, each extra one after that gives +1A. (Rulebook, pg 73)

- Units are not locked in combat after resolving attacks against vehicles without WS, immobilised or not. (Rulebook, pg 63; note that even though the unit is not locked in combat, they can still attack in the vehicle's turn if it does not move away.) If a Predator's autocannon can see a unit and is in range, it can shoot at it it even if it's still in base to base contact following a charge; if a Dreadnought is charged, it is locked in combat and cannot shoot.

- Any weapon of str4 or less is a defensive weapon. (Rulebook, pg 58)

   
Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




Reading a Ciaphas Cain book outside the Black Library

Thanks for the helpful replies, guys

Soz... some more questions:

-Does WYSIWYG apply for when the profile says all Space Marines have boltpistols AND boltguns, and I don't have a boltpistol in the model's hand or somewhere on him? In other words, can the marine shoot a boltpistol if it doesn't look like he has one?

-do you HAVE to roll for reserves, or can you skip and roll the next turn?

-can a scoring unit be at 2 objectives at one time, if it is still in coherency?

2000
2000
500

"Change Rules All" 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

lledwey wrote:You can pivot before you shoot, not after.


Infantry and Walkers can. I can't find anything that lets non-Walker Vehicles do the same; I've always understood RAW to say that vehicles have to pivot in the movement phase, whilst infantry are more flexible and can pivot as they shoot.

This means a Vindicator has to pick its targets in advance, whilst a Devastator Squad can scan for targets.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

moarmoarmoar wrote:-Does WYSIWYG apply for when the profile says all Space Marines have boltpistols AND boltguns, and I don't have a boltpistol in the model's hand or somewhere on him? In other words, can the marine shoot a boltpistol if it doesn't look like he has one?

That's not quite how WYSIWYG works...

WYSIWYG is simply a convention for streamlining the game. The model on the table should accurately reflect what it is supposed to be... but it has no immediate effect on the rules in itself.

So to fit WYSIWYG your Space Marines should all have boltguns and bolt pistols. But if one of them doesn't have a bolt pistol modelled, that just means it isn't WYSIWYG... it doesn't mean that he can't use his bolt pistol.

How closely you adhere to WYSIWYG ultimately is down to you and your opponent, or the event organiser in the case of organised play. A lot of players don't worry too much about standard equipment. So not having pistols or grenades on your marines isn't a big issue, since most people are aware that marines have pistols and grenades as standard.

Having said that, taking the time to model holsters and grenades does reduce potential confusion for those who aren't aware of it.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

moarmoarmoar wrote:Thanks for the helpful replies, guys

Soz... some more questions:

-Does WYSIWYG apply for when the profile says all Space Marines have boltpistols AND boltguns, and I don't have a boltpistol in the model's hand or somewhere on him? In other words, can the marine shoot a boltpistol if it doesn't look like he has one?

-do you HAVE to roll for reserves, or can you skip and roll the next turn?

-can a scoring unit be at 2 objectives at one time, if it is still in coherency?


WYSIWYG only applies to Characters. You do not have to model every piece of equipment onto your average Joe.

Yes, you have to roll for reserves. You cannot skip.

Yes, a unit can hold multiple objectives. The FAQ addressed this directly:
Q: Can the same unit control several objectives,
providing it is large enough to be within 3" of each
one of them ? (p91)
A: Yes, absolutely, but we find this does not happen
that often when enemies are around...

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

- Where the Codex says every trooper of a common identikit type has the same weapons, and the kit doesn't come with a holstered pistol and two types of grenade for every model, a little flexibility is generally accepted. As long as the extraordinary stuff is clearly shown - the flamer, missile launcher and sergeant's Power Fist - the uncommonly used rank & file kit isn't a massive issue.

- Yes, you must roll for reserves whenever they're available. (Rulebook, pg 94). Imagine the drop pods being launched before battle begins, and the battle barge trying to get a teleport lockon and then get out of surface weapon range!

- Yes. (40K FAQ ver 1.4, pg 7) Note there's no rule (AFAIK) demanding a unit be in coherency to score; it can't end its movement phase out of coherency, but a Tactical Squad conga line that tags two objectives and has the middle eight models killed by enemy shooting is still a scoring unit and is still within 3" of two objectives...

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

lindsay40k wrote:
lledwey wrote:You can pivot before you shoot, not after.


Infantry and Walkers can. I can't find anything that lets non-Walker Vehicles do the same; I've always understood RAW to say that vehicles have to pivot in the movement phase, whilst infantry are more flexible and can pivot as they shoot.

This means a Vindicator has to pick its targets in advance, whilst a Devastator Squad can scan for targets.


With the exception being you can pivot a weapons gun barrels to check if you have LoS P.58

you can not move the vehicle, but you can pivot turrets and sponson gun barrels.

moarmoarmoar wrote:-Does WYSIWYG apply for when the profile says all Space Marines have boltpistols AND boltguns, and I don't have a boltpistol in the model's hand or somewhere on him? In other words, can the marine shoot a boltpistol if it doesn't look like he has one?

Generally any upgrades must be WYSIWYG, standard equipment does not all have to be present. (This is how the 'Ard Boys rule it.)
moarmoarmoar wrote:-do you HAVE to roll for reserves, or can you skip and roll the next turn?

you MUST roll for your reserves starting turn 2, you can not skip the roll. Though you can use any re-rolls you may have to try to roll low.

moarmoarmoar wrote:-can a scoring unit be at 2 objectives at one time, if it is still in coherency?


Yes, if you are within 3" of an objective you claim that objective. If one unit is within 3" of two objectives they hold them both, if they are within 3" of three different objectives, they can claim all three etc...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

moarmoarmoar wrote:
Okay, in the rulebook it says when Rending weapons roll 6 to wound, it causes a wound regardless of the unit's toughness. If so, are armor/invulnerable saves still taken or ignored?

Rending will make the weapon AP2 so no armor saves are allowed otherwise all other saves apply unless otherwise stated in the weapon description.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
For Sniper weapons, it says it always wounds on 4+. Do I still take saves as normal?

The sniper weapon should have an ap so that will be used, but all other saves may be taken as normal. Now this will change should you roll a 6 to wound with the sniper rifle (5-6 to hit or wound with Eldar Pathfinders) as you have now caused rending. The above rules for rending apply.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
Some other questions (don't want to start another topic):
-In an assault, can a model use only one type of grenade at a time?

No you can use any grenades such as rad and frag simultaniously. Note that you cannot use defensive grenades if you are already locked in CC or against "Counter-Attack".

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-For Sternguard, can he shoot special ammunition through his boltpistol or a stormbolter?

Boltguns and combi-weapons only and only the bolter part of the combi-weapon.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-For vehicles, can you pivot after you shoot?

No. All movement must be in the movement phase and pivoting is apart of that.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-When rolling for reserves, can you roll in any order you choose, or is it all simultaneous?

While physically you can roll in any order they are all treated to have happened simultaneous, and you cannot use any rules they have to help you bring in more that turn. Such as a DP with a locater beacon can't come in turn 2 and help with a terminator squad DS in that turn as well.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-Do close combat weapons confer +1 attack, or 2 close combat weapons (example: for a space marine with a boltgun AND a chainsword (no boltpistol), how many attacks would he have)

It does not matter what type of weapon it is for extra attacks. All that the rules require is that it be 2 single handed weapons. Now this is most commonly 2 pistols, 2 CCW, or a pistol and a CCW. LC, TH, and PF are different as they need two of the same type of weapon to use.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-Do DCCW give +1 attack to the walker, or do you need 2 DCCW for that?

No the seismichammer counts as an additional DCCW and you would then gain an extra attack assuming you still have the other DCCW.


moarmoarmoar wrote:
-Can immobilized vehicles shoot their weapons at a unit assaulting (locked in combat) with them?

No. Only the old Vindicare could intentionally shoot into combat and thats gone now. A blast may still scatter into a CC but may not be targeted at a squad locked in combat

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-What counts as defensive weapons for a vehicle? (ex: do lascannon sponsons count?)

Only weapons with a strength of 4 or less are defensive. Lascannons wether sponsons or turret mounted are S 9 and thus are not defensive.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
moarmoarmoar wrote:
-Does WYSIWYG apply for when the profile says all Space Marines have boltpistols AND boltguns, and I don't have a boltpistol in the model's hand or somewhere on him? In other words, can the marine shoot a boltpistol if it doesn't look like he has one?

It would be prefered if you did model both, but in practive I find that most people can be a little leniant on WYSIWYG. It is there to avoid confusion when playing so just try to make everything clear. What marines have both?

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-do you HAVE to roll for reserves, or can you skip and roll the next turn?

You have to roll.

moarmoarmoar wrote:
-can a scoring unit be at 2 objectives at one time, if it is still in coherency?

Yes you can. I'm not 100% but I don't think coherency matters at that point. Say you chain a 30 man mob across 2 objectives and are holding both. You are then shot at you go to ground and still loose some. Going to ground will prevent them from moving and thus they cannot move in the movement phase so they cannot move into coherency. Since they are still holding both objectives they are yours.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/29 20:59:30


d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Akroma06 wrote:
moarmoarmoar wrote:
-Can immobilized vehicles shoot their weapons at a unit assaulting (locked in combat) with them?

No. Only the old Vindicare could intentionally shoot into combat and thats gone now. A blast may still scatter into a CC but may not be targeted at a squad locked in combat


Re-read the question, Akroma06; the situation is a vehicle that's been immobilised and assaulted.

If it has a WS, the vehicle locks in combat with the attackers and neither can shoot or be targeted.

If it has no WS, the vehicle does not lock in combat with enemy units. As long as no blasts touch a friendly unit before rolling scatter, the unit that assaulted the immobile vehicle can be targeted, even by the vehicle (assuming its guns can draw LOS).

   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot




Blackwood, New Jersey

Yesh, I was thinking of dreads pivoting, my bad!

DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+

2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
 
   
Made in gb
Nervous Hellblaster Crewman





London, UK

If I read the above comments on close combat wepaons right, then a chaos space marine with bolt pistol and close combat weapon (which are both part of their standard kit) gets 2 attacks in close combat while a vanilla space marine with a bolt pistol and no close combat as their standard kit gets one attack in close combat. For the same points. Am currently trying to decide whether to go chaos space marine or vanilla, and I have to say an extra attack in CC is a big incentive to go to the dark side.

That which does not kill you can still hurt quite a lot. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes you are reading it correctly.

The main reason to avoid chaos is that, while tactical marines are awful, everything else they have is pretty good - including Vulkan to make all those pretty meltas work a lot better (well, roll 1,1 instead of just a plain "1" in my experience ) than they used to.
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot




Blackwood, New Jersey

Yeah, both have their advantages. For example, Chaos Marines get that extra attack, have LD10, and can take one special per 5 men or two at 10 men, and can go all the way up to 20.

Codex Marines, on the other hand, have And They Shall Know No Fear, Combat Tactics, Combat Squads, and can take a Razorback instead of the Rhino if they so choose.

Like nos said, Tactical Marines aren't that great, but they do have some neat stuff that Chaos Marines miss out on.

DR:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k99+D+++++A++/mWD267R++T(T)DM+

2000 Points Athonian 39th
2000 Points Angels of Absolution
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: