Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/29 23:44:14
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Can I use Gates of Infinity inside a Land Raider and teleport him and his squad of termies out to some where elese?
|
3000pts+
BURRRRRN HERETICS |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/29 23:49:51
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/29 23:50:35
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
But how?
To me this smells mega cheesy !?
|
3000pts+
BURRRRRN HERETICS |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/29 23:53:03
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I take it as its a Psychic power and not a Psychic shooting Attack and we can all use Powers in vehicles? just be glad the raider doesn't go too!!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/29 23:54:17
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Hmm yeah as that would be even worse! Automatically Appended Next Post: Anyone else have an opinion on this or is it that yes he can teleport out?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/30 00:12:17
3000pts+
BURRRRRN HERETICS |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 00:46:07
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Not 100% sure on the wording, but if its phrased as "the librarian and his unit" and its not a shooting attack then yes it would work like that.
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 00:50:30
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yes it's working as intended, nothing cheesy about it.
Libby + Squad may GOI from LR to any point within 24" of the hull of the LR
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 01:16:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
simply yes
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 04:06:14
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
WanderingFox wrote:Not 100% sure on the wording, but if its phrased as "the librarian and his unit" and its not a shooting attack then yes it would work like that.
Even if it was a PSA used on the librarian and his unit, he could still use it while embarked.
However it is not a PSA, and it does not replace the Librarians movement, so he can use it while embarked.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 04:22:09
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
He cant use a PSA inside a LR as there are no fire points
|
3000pts+
BURRRRRN HERETICS |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 04:22:11
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If it was a PSA, it would be hard to use mainly as the LR lacks firing points.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 04:26:36
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You only need a fire point to shoot out of the Land raider.
To hit himself or the unit he is with (If there is such a power) he would be allowed since he is targeting the unit inside the transport with him, and not firing out of the transport.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 04:36:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Well what I was getting at is you can't "shoot" yourself.
It's disallowed in the first step of the shooting sequence
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 06:17:13
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
California
|
GOI is not a PSA. It's "The librarian and any unit he is with"
|
Dirty Harry wrote:I know what you're thinking. "Did he fire six shots or only five?" Well, to tell you the truth, in all this excitement I kind of lost track myself. But being as this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you've got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 06:38:09
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Your Friend Doctor Robert wrote:GOI is not a PSA. It's "The librarian and any unit he is with"
we're well aware, it was an IF IT WAS A PSA situation
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 09:44:12
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Well what I was getting at is you can't "shoot" yourself.
It's disallowed in the first step of the shooting sequence
Except for some Nid powers you would be correct. But they exist, so you're not
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 15:37:51
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
1 power in particular.Onslaught.It is a PSA that hits a friendly unit(and stops the Tervigon from firing other weapons).Catalyst isn't a PSA,and niether is Dominion,obviously.The Hive Tyrant powers and Zoanthrope powers are PSA,but the broodlord's isn't.The Doom's Cataclysm is,but it targets enemies.
So only 1.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 15:43:57
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
AH... I don't think they can because the Libby and his unit aren't considered to be "on the tabletop".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 17:24:59
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Theybare considered on the table,because they can disembark,or shoot,if there were fire points.If they are not on the table they couldn't do this.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 18:03:05
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
|
They are embarked in the Land Raider.... and therefore may disembark onto the tabletop or stay embarked and shoot from any fire points.
Once they disembark.... they are now on the tabletop.
Just saying that just because they are in play doesn't necessarily mean they are on the tabletop.
But whatevs. No official ruling... not even an INATFAQ on it... play it however you want.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 18:37:32
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
According to the rules you can cast the power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 19:49:55
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Yes you can use GoI while inside a land raider. It's kinda the same thing as null zone. You would just measure the 24" distance from any point on the hull of the raider for the movement.
|
Warhammer, one of a few games where Yahtzee is possible and not always a good thing
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Armys:
-Fast'N'Slow Bikers- (5 wins, 1 draw, 2 losses)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 21:38:01
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
Tsannik wrote:They are embarked in the Land Raider.... and therefore may disembark onto the tabletop or stay embarked and shoot from any fire points.
Once they disembark.... they are now on the tabletop.
Just saying that just because they are in play doesn't necessarily mean they are on the tabletop.
But whatevs. No official ruling... not even an INATFAQ on it... play it however you want.
Seconded. I see an awful lot of people saying "the rules say you can use it that way", but I don't see any evidence for that situation being addressed in the rules at all. I'm not saying you can't, just saying it's not addressed.
Yes. You can cast powers from inside a vehicle. If the power needs LOS or is a psychic shooting attack (but I think all powers that need LOS are PSAs) you need a firing point, if it doesn't, you don't.
However, there is a very strong precedent that you cannot affect models inside a vehicle. They are in many ways not actually there. Now, all the cases I can think of where that's relevant, the target unit is an enemy unit, in which case it is clearly not allowed. (Let me know if you can think of exceptions.) Most powers that you can think of, actually would affect the surrounding vehicle, such as shrouding. Does that rule change just because the unit is friendly, or that they are in the same vehicle? I'm not sure it does. Yes, logic says it should, but common sense logic is not the governing set of rules here.
Related question, can you summon (THE GK power) a from inside a vehicle? I'm not sure that you can. I think you summon the vehicle or nobody.
Automatically Appended Next Post: ToI wrote:Yes you can use GoI while inside a land raider. It's kinda the same thing as null zone. You would just measure the 24" distance from any point on the hull of the raider for the movement.
It's not the same thing at all. Null zone is a power cast from inside a vehicle, which is fine, affecting units outside the vehicle, which is also fine. You're talking about affecting a unit inside a transport, which is actually a different matter altogether.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/30 21:42:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/30 22:01:04
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Gate of infinity does not require LOS...
Q: Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport
vehicle? (p50)
A: Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still
worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will
count as one model shooting through that fire point if
the power is used in the Shooting phase).
If the psychic power does not require line of sight and
has a range or an area of effect that is normally
measured from the model using it, these are measured
from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking
section on page 66.
Combine that with:
Q: Can psychic powers be used on a unit embarked on
a transport? (p50)
A: For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a firm ‘No,
unless the psyker himself is in the unit being
transported’
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/31 21:25:45
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
Did anyone suggest it needed LOS? I didn't. Don't know why you're bringing that up.
However, the second point is pretty convincing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/31 21:32:10
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
The first point is emphasis that as a power that doesn't require LOS,it follows the rules for the second point.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/01 01:16:05
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Well what I was getting at is you can't "shoot" yourself.
It's disallowed in the first step of the shooting sequence
Although the original question has been thoroughly answered, I did want to point something out:
You can absolutely "shoot" yourself. You can't target your own models (except for the powers listed earlier for 'nids), but you can certainly shoot them. Consider a scattered blast weapon...
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/01 05:06:09
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gate requires you to remove the models from the table. This is not qualified with "if they are on the table," this is a required step in the power.
If you read your embark section, you will find that embarking ALSO removes your models from the table.
You can not remove models from the table that another special rule already required you to remove from the table.
You may absolutely not use GoI on an embarked unit. You must be on the table. Embarking EXPLICITLY removes the models from the table, exactly the same that GOI requires you to do. You must disembark to use GoI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/01 18:01:36
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
DevianID wrote:Gate requires you to remove the models from the table. This is not qualified with "if they are on the table," this is a required step in the power.
If you read your embark section, you will find that embarking ALSO removes your models from the table.
You can not remove models from the table that another special rule already required you to remove from the table.
You may absolutely not use GoI on an embarked unit. You must be on the table. Embarking EXPLICITLY removes the models from the table, exactly the same that GOI requires you to do. You must disembark to use GoI.
OK, I also find that very convincing logic. WanderingFOX kinda had me convinced with:
Q: Can psychic powers be used on a unit embarked on
a transport? (p50)
A: For simplicity’s sake, the answer has to be a firm ‘No,
unless the psyker himself is in the unit being
transported’
Now, DeviantID's point directly contradicts that. That leaves me right back where we started, where I'll say it's currently "unknown". However, DeviantID's point seems like the one that would have precedent, as it doesn't matter much if it is, or is not, legal to cast a power in the same transport with you --- They indeed are not on the table.
Also, besides that, I find the idea of teleporting out of a vehicle directly a little silly. So, I'm like 80% "no" then.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/01 18:23:27
Subject: Gate of Infinity inside a Land Raider?
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
DevianID wrote:Gate requires you to remove the models from the table. This is not qualified with "if they are on the table," this is a required step in the power.
If you read your embark section, you will find that embarking ALSO removes your models from the table.
You can not remove models from the table that another special rule already required you to remove from the table.
You may absolutely not use GoI on an embarked unit. You must be on the table. Embarking EXPLICITLY removes the models from the table, exactly the same that GOI requires you to do. You must disembark to use GoI.
So, by this logic, if a Shokk Attack Gun removed the vehicle from play (double 6's), it would not affect the people inside?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|