Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:02:50
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
Scenario: A librarian, a Sanguinary Priest, and 8 Assualt Marines enter play via a drop pod (Obviously the Drop Pod is dedicated to the assualt squad). It lands.
Question: In the same turn as when the Drop Pod lands, can the two ICs leave the squad as they disembark? (I've looked in the BRB but diden't see this covered. I'm guessing its in there, but I probably missed it.)
Basically, I would like to place the drop pod, have the Assualt Marines fire at one target, and the Librarian fire his psychic power at another. "You take the high road, I'll take the low road, and we'll meet at the funeral pyres, Sergeant...."
Thanks, Guys.
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:08:44
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
No you cannot separate the turn you arrive from reserve.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:11:20
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Yes. It's during the movement phase, so they are not restricted in that manner. Also, as long as they have the ability to move out of coherency (and the IC join/leave rules don't expressly prohibit it) they can split from the unit. Specific rule in question (outside of the normal IC restrictions) is located on page 68 of the BRB They can also disembark separately by either the unit or the characters disembarking while the others remain onboard, or even disembarking at the same time using different access points (but they must end their move more than 2" away from each other). Drop pods are open-top so you can disembark form it anywhere, and thus as long as you do so more than 2" apart the ICs will break form the unit. juraigamer wrote:No you cannot separate the turn you arrive from reserve.
There a specific rule that states that? The only thing I can think of is that the drop pod counts as cruising when it lands, thus you can only make a 2" disembark. I don't see anything that denies you the ability to disembark from multiple locations on the pod thus putting the IC out of the unit. Not saying you're wrong, just curious as to where the ruling for this is as I've apparently missed it XD
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/09/04 06:19:34
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:21:28
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
Uhm...Page 68 in my main rulebook covers Tank Shock. Might you be referencing the smaller Black Reach pocket rulebook, WanderingFox?
What section is it under?
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:34:57
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yea, IC's embarking and disembarking rules are on 67, not 68. For clarification the big rule book, and the Assault on Black Reach mini rule book are numbered exactly the same, so rules references will be the same no matter which you have.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/05 18:19:15
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:38:31
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
WanderingFox wrote:There a specific rule that states that?
It's covered in the rulebook FAQ.
While in normal circumstances the IC and the unit can disembark from a vehicle and go their separate ways, the restriction on splitting on the turn they arrive from reserve would take precedence here.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/04 06:38:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 06:59:05
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
Okay, so if its from a rhino or similiar, they CAN do this. But becuase its from a drop pod they can't?
Well, fiddle-sticks. Automatically Appended Next Post: Thanks, peoples.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/04 06:59:21
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 09:30:34
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Only if the rhino wasnt arriving from Reserve as well.
It's arriving from Reserve that triggers the restriction, nothing else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/04 18:53:23
Subject: IC in a Drop Pod
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Ah there it is. My bad. I missed it because the question in the faq is in reference to outflank :3
|
W/L/D: 9/4/8 Under Construction |
|
 |
 |
|