Switch Theme:

Assaulted a unit that is pinned... does it unpin?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

can a unit that is pinned become unpinned when assaulted?

I see nothing that removes the "pinned/gone to ground" status...


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Why does it matter?, pinning has no bearing on CC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/15 20:04:17


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Check final paragraph of 'going to ground' (pg24).

If charged, pinned units fight as normal, losing any benefits for cover.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh wow, there's no RAW (I can find) that says if you drive off the chargers you're unpinned. Interesting...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/15 20:07:48


   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

lindsay40k wrote:Check final paragraph of 'going to ground' (pg24).

If charged, pinned units fight as normal, losing any benefits for cover.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh wow, there's no RAW (I can find) that says if you drive off the chargers you're unpinned. Interesting...


I agree, you don't remove go to ground if assaulted.

So, if you go to ground (either voluntarily or by pinning) in the enemy's shooting phase, and then get assaulted in the enemy's assault phase, and wipe out the assaulting unit (or force them to retreat), you will still be unable to act on your turn.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

This may be a houserule due to misunderstanding but:

doesn't it say somewhere under Compulsory Movement that any compulsory movement (such as falling back, pile-in moves, etc) remove Gone to Ground unless it says otherwise (like BT Righteous Zeal)?
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Rulebook just says you remove go to ground if you break, nothing about if you drive off chargers...

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The FaQ addresses that issue and they will return to mormal if they are forced to make a pile-in move


Q: If a unit that has gone to ground is then forced to
move, other than to fall back, do they return to normal
or still count as having gone to ground? (p24)
A: They will return to normal

Found Here

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/15 20:29:45


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

FAQ p2 says if you're forced to move, you lose gone to ground. Rulebook p34 says if you're assaulted, you must react (by moving). So, though it's not explicitly stated, the rules as followed mean you unpin the moment you move a model to meet the charge.

Of course, if the charge engages every member of the unit, there's no move, so RAW still leave you pinned in that situation...

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

AH! That's the compulsory movement rule. If the models are FORCED to move (i.e. compulsory) then they are no longer G2G!
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






lindsay40k wrote:FAQ p2 says if you're forced to move, you lose gone to ground. Rulebook p34 says if you're assaulted, you must react (by moving). So, though it's not explicitly stated, the rules as followed mean you unpin the moment you move a model to meet the charge.

Of course, if the charge engages every member of the unit, there's no move, so RAW still leave you pinned in that situation...

Does it really matter? If they don't have to move for Defenders React, then they will invariably have to move at some point during that assault phase (Pile In, Consolidation, Fall Back) or will be locked in combat for long enough that the effects of GtG will have worn off by the time they get to move next. Net result is the same.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Cheexsta wrote:
lindsay40k wrote:FAQ p2 says if you're forced to move, you lose gone to ground. Rulebook p34 says if you're assaulted, you must react (by moving). So, though it's not explicitly stated, the rules as followed mean you unpin the moment you move a model to meet the charge.

Of course, if the charge engages every member of the unit, there's no move, so RAW still leave you pinned in that situation...

Does it really matter? If they don't have to move for Defenders React, then they will invariably have to move at some point during that assault phase (Pile In, Consolidation, Fall Back) or will be locked in combat for long enough that the effects of GtG will have worn off by the time they get to move next. Net result is the same.

Except that consolidation is completely voluntary. So technically if you've gone to ground, and the enemy manages to get base to base with every one of your models (so that none of your models are forced to make a "Defenders React" move), and you win combat and all enemies flee/get swept/are wiped out, you cannot make a consolidation move and are still gone to ground. Weird.
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

Bugs_N_Orks wrote:
Cheexsta wrote:
lindsay40k wrote:FAQ p2 says if you're forced to move, you lose gone to ground. Rulebook p34 says if you're assaulted, you must react (by moving). So, though it's not explicitly stated, the rules as followed mean you unpin the moment you move a model to meet the charge.

Of course, if the charge engages every member of the unit, there's no move, so RAW still leave you pinned in that situation...

Does it really matter? If they don't have to move for Defenders React, then they will invariably have to move at some point during that assault phase (Pile In, Consolidation, Fall Back) or will be locked in combat for long enough that the effects of GtG will have worn off by the time they get to move next. Net result is the same.

Except that consolidation is completely voluntary. So technically if you've gone to ground, and the enemy manages to get base to base with every one of your models (so that none of your models are forced to make a "Defenders React" move), and you win combat and all enemies flee/get swept/are wiped out, you cannot make a consolidation move and are still gone to ground. Weird.


Yes, it's voluntary, but I don't think there's anything to suggest that you're completely prevented from consolidating as a result.

   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Bugs_N_Orks wrote:Except that consolidation is completely voluntary. So technically if you've gone to ground, and the enemy manages to get base to base with every one of your models (so that none of your models are forced to make a "Defenders React" move), and you win combat and all enemies flee/get swept/are wiped out, you cannot make a consolidation move and are still gone to ground. Weird.

Ah, you are right. I had misremembered consolidation as being a compulsory move.

Still, the situation seems to be very rare, but it seems to be possible.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: