Switch Theme:

Outflank question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I tried to seach for this but didn't find anything. this happened to a just over the weekend at a tourny. A his player outflanked a warrior squad due to hive commander and joined a tyrant prime with them also. now I thought if an IC joined. unit to outflank they had to bag the rule also just like infiltrate. Can any one steer m to the correct answer because I also play kids and if this works I might take warriors with a prime finally.
   
Made in au
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine





Vegas Baby

You are right: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/343023.page

ICs need the outflank rule as well if they wish to outflank. The hive commander only lets the unit outflank.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Outflank is not a USR so that actually has no bearing on this.

The problem is that a Prime is an HQ and the Warriros are troops. Hive Commander says you give the troop unit outflank, but doesn't specify if a joined IC can benefit (for example snikrot's rules give the benefit to ICs). Main rulebook FAQ states that ICs join units before deployment/reserves on top of that.

It's a bit of a conundrum, but personally I'd say no....and I'm a tyranid player. Would be glad to see an FAQ or Errata to make the wording more specific.


At a tournament, ask the TO. The TO's word is law even if it isn't RAW.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/27 02:22:54


 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

I'm under the impression that ICs need to have scouts, infiltrate, or the explicit ability to outflank in order to outflank with the squad, otherwise it loses its ability. I say this because I play Space Wolves, the only way you can get a character to outflank with Scouts is to give a Wolf Priest Saga of the Hunter.

Anyway, I believe the rule is on the USR page, but I don't have it handy on me at the moment...

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except the squad doesn't have the Outflank USR - the Tyrant just allows one troop choice to outflank. You can't compare them to Wolf Scouts.


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Andilus Greatsword wrote:
Anyway, I believe the rule is on the USR page, but I don't have it handy on me at the moment...


It's on page 76 of the main rules, it is the Scout USR, and it is one of the USRs with an asterisk, meaning that if the IC and the unit do not both have the USR, then when they are joined, neither one has the ability.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Outflank itself is not a USR. Certain USRs (Infiltrate and Scout, come to mind) allow a unit to outflank. However, if the rule says a single troop choice than, IMHO, the unit chosen may outflank, as long as there is no attached IC. (Unless said IC can also outflank).

On a side note, if a unit without Scout, has a special rule allowing them to Outflank, is joined by an IC with Scout, would they still be able to outflank, as the IC would lose Scout?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Technically no - which is why initially you could NOT attack any ICS to the SW Scouts, as while they had the ability to gain Outflank they could NOT gain Scouts / Infiltrate, making the Scouts lose those USRs and leaving them unable to OBEL

The FAQ changed the rules to allow it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: