Switch Theme:

Placing a unit that mishaps back into Warpquake  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

1) If I had the GK power Warpquake active and a unit mishaps into it, and rolls the option that I get to place them (Misplaced, 3 or 4), can I place them into that or another warpquake?

2) If 'yes' to question one, would they mishap again?

Edit: Fixed the title to better reflect the question.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/28 14:19:39


Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




Sort of a grey area. The rules state you must place the unit in a valid Deep Strike position. I guess it wouldnt be any differant than someone placing the central deepstriker in the very corner of the board and saying "well, when you make a circle around that figure, its gonna cause another mishap." So I would say no. Again a grey area- but only a player without honor would pull such shenanigans
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




You can't mishap a mishap.
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





You can only mishap once per deepstrike attempt so if you were to place the enemy models within your warpquake area it wouldn't do anything as they had already had a mishap.
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

Is there a rule somewhere that states that you can only mishap once per deepstrke atempt? I couldn't find it, thus my question.

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) A valid deepstrike position is not one in which they can mishap

So the answer is "no".
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

That is not a restriction on the Mishap rule, nosferatu1001, it reads:

"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exclusing impassable terrain, but including difficult terrain, which of course counts as dangerous for deep striking units!), in a valid deep strike formation, but without rolling for scatter."

I suppose, by that rule, you could also place it within 1" of one of your own units. The question is: does it mishap again? Why or why not?

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1" of your own units IS impassable, as you may not move there.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I'd say that it can, but it doesn't have to. If the "valid deep strike" formation causes a model to be placed within one inch of an enemy unit or on top of a friendly unit, the unit would mishap again.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

Interesting take on the Impassible Terrain rule.

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Fearspect wrote:Interesting take on the Impassible Terrain rule.


It isn't terrain, you just may never move within 1" of a unit outside the purposes of assault.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

I understand your position, just don't see where in the rules this is prevented.

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






1) I've always been under the impression that yes, you could do this, but it would NOT cause a mishap again, because "deploying via Deep Strike" is quite different from "deploying via your opponent selecting a valid location." So by that logic, Warp Quake will not activate twice. Nevertheless, warp quake does not re-classify any area as "impassable" so you could cause a mishap using the power, then place the unit right next to the unit that cast it, if you so chose.

2) See 1)

With regard to valid placement (e.g. impassable vs. not), I agree with what Nos said.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

This came up in my game vs a daemons player at the BAO. The judges ruled that you could not place them in the warp quake area as that seemed to be the best interpretation of the rules at the time.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





I would argue that the unit would mishap again if "misplaced" back into the warp quake zone.

The misplaced rule says:

"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (excluding impassable terrain, but including difficult terrain, which of course counts as dangerous for deep striking units!), in a valid deep strike formation, but without rolling for scatter." BGB p. 95 (emphasis added)


and the Warp Quake rule says:

...any enemy unit deploying by Deep Strike within 12" of the squad (after scattering) will automatically suffer a Deep Strike mishap." Codex: Grey Knights p. 28 (emphasis added)


Even though it's the opponent doing the deploying, they're still getting deployed in the warp quake zone pursuant to the deep strike rules, so they'll trigger the effect. There's no rule I'm aware of limiting a unit to one mishap roll per turn, it's just not something that happened much before warp quake came around. Nothing indicates that the Warp Quake effect stops working after the first time it affects a unit, either. Finally, we're not re-rolling a re-roll (which would be prohibited), this is an entirely new roll on the mishap table.

Hope this helps!
-GK


Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Neenah, Wisconsin

I don't think they'd mishap a second time, and here's why.

Normal situation:

Unit deploys by deep stirke.
Player A chooses location.
Player A rolls for scatter.
Unit lands on another unit---MISHAP!
Player A rolls on chart and gets a "3".
Player B places the unit in a legal location.

Now take note what does NOT happen. When placing the unit player B does not roll again for scatter. Why? Because the unit has already deployed by deepstrkie when player A made the roll. Player B placing the unit is not a whole new deployment, it is an extension of the original Mishapped deployment.

Since it is all part of the original deployment, and warp quake would have already had its effect, it never comes into play when player B places the unit.

Visit my blog at www.goingaming.blogspot.com


 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





I agree with the above. It is also backed by the description of what has happened with the unit deepstriking in the first lace.
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Placing the unit back in the Warpquake could also be interpreted as rerolling the mishap, which is basically what you would be doing.
Since there is nothing in the warpquake entry that allows for such a reroll......
I would have to say no.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in ca
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon





Tied and gagged in the back of your car

Dok wrote:This came up in my game vs a daemons player at the BAO. The judges ruled that you could not place them in the warp quake area as that seemed to be the best interpretation of the rules at the time.


With that logic, what would happen if the GK player covered the entire table with a warp-quake zone? Would the unit be considered destroyed? And yes, this is entirely possible and very easy to do.

But really, this is just the area of very poor rules writing. Were I in charge, I would just say that anywhere the opposing player places the unit (disregarding impassible terrain, since that's irrelevant for this discussion) would disregard rules like Warp Quake. I would suggest not ignoring things like Coteaz' "feth YOU DEEPSTRIKERS!" rule regardless of how you choose to actually do it, but I consider Warp Quake to be too poorly written to be used any other way to how I've stated above.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




GK - excpet you are "placed ...in a valid deepstrike formation"

This does NOT say that you are deep striking, merely being placed in a valid deepstrike formation
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




A misplaced result says that the opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table. Is this really another deepstrike? No. Place it where you want, but there is no other mishap.

   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

Fafnir wrote:
Dok wrote:This came up in my game vs a daemons player at the BAO. The judges ruled that you could not place them in the warp quake area as that seemed to be the best interpretation of the rules at the time.


With that logic, what would happen if the GK player covered the entire table with a warp-quake zone? Would the unit be considered destroyed? And yes, this is entirely possible and very easy to do.

But really, this is just the area of very poor rules writing. Were I in charge, I would just say that anywhere the opposing player places the unit (disregarding impassible terrain, since that's irrelevant for this discussion) would disregard rules like Warp Quake. I would suggest not ignoring things like Coteaz' "feth YOU DEEPSTRIKERS!" rule regardless of how you choose to actually do it, but I consider Warp Quake to be too poorly written to be used any other way to how I've stated above.


The game would break, and you would be stuck in an eternal void of darkness forever. Or if you were playing in a tournament, you could consult the TO. If you are playing a "friendly" game where you cover the table with warp quake when it would matter then you are not playing a friendly game.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:GK - excpet you are "placed ...in a valid deepstrike formation"

This does NOT say that you are deep striking, merely being placed in a valid deepstrike formation


+1

You are placed in a valid deepstrike formation, you are not using the deepstrike rules at this point, since you have already suffered a mishap, you are now simply being deployed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Sounds to me that someone is trying to break an already broken codex.....

 
   
Made in us
Assault Kommando





DeathReaper wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:GK - excpet you are "placed ...in a valid deepstrike formation"

This does NOT say that you are deep striking, merely being placed in a valid deepstrike formation


+1

You are placed in a valid deepstrike formation, you are not using the deepstrike rules at this point, since you have already suffered a mishap, you are now simply being deployed.


+1 on this as well... look at it this way:

Even if you agree that it "could" be placed in this fashion, you are still not being deployed via "deepstrike," you are being deployed via "Deepstrike mishap."

To the OP: So... free Force weapons, psychic abilities and Stormbolters not enough for you? lol

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/29 06:28:21


"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
"Those who hammer their guns into plowshares will plow for those who do not." 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I think its not about breaking the rules, but clarifying hard to call areas so that we all can further understand the problems that might arise during a game, and move past it to enjoy the game.
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




'In a valid deep strike formation"

Meaning you place them in an area where they can land and stay there while maintaining the circle. If anyone ever actually argued this with me I would have to hit them for acting in a very unsportsmanlike manner during an enjoyable game. If they mishap they mishap, place them in a kill box and knock the unit off the table, it's really that simple. If you can't take the gift that has been given to you without asking for more then you should definitely pick up another game and let the rest of us enjoy this one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/29 09:05:03


2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Connor - at 4ppm those force weapons and SB arent "free", by any means
   
Made in us
Inspiring Icon Bearer





azgrim wrote:Sounds to me that someone is trying to break an already broken codex.....


Hardly. This is one of the problems playing an army that people see as OP. Any ruling that could go either way tends to have a community up in arms because "OMG ur like so OP you dont need 2 be able 2 do that also!11!"

It's frustrating. I've actually had a TO tell me that he was going to ignore the FAQ on stacking hammerhands because "GK's are OP as it is. You don't need that."

I'm not even very good at 40k. It's not like I was wiping the floor with my opponents.



Age of Sigmar, New World Tournament Ruleset


[centerPlease feel free to pop in and comment, or send me a PM![/center]



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Agreed with the above :/ Very aggravating.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: