Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 14:41:47
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
During a game this evening my boys and their Nob assaulted a vehicle.
They all hit in initiative order and the boys wrecked the vehicle with multiple imobilised results.
The passengers disembarked. The vehicle was destroyed - wrecked, but my opponent insisted that I should still roll my hits for the initiative 1 Nob with his powerclaw.
I was obviously not keen to do this as I ran the risk of exploding the vehicle and incurring wounds on my squad and besides the vehicle was already destroyed. You can't kill an infantry model once he is already destroyed so to me it is illogical that the Nob woulldcontinue to assault the vehicle once it was destroyed
What do you all think?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 14:46:21
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 14:46:44
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
The vehicle no longer exists as an entity, it's just a piece of terrain, so there's nothing for him to swing at. You were correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 14:53:01
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The vehicle is no longer a unit, and cannot therefore be the target of a close combat attack. Your opponent is wrong
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 15:04:13
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Akroma06 wrote:No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
Pretty much.
But if you are afraid of losing models due to a scenario like this, than separate the nob and let the boyz attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 15:07:09
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
You cant separate the nob he is an upgrade not ic
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/29 15:07:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 15:08:31
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
If a vehicle is wrecked, it becomes a piece of dangerous, difficult terrain that affords a 4+ save. This happens at the end of the Boyz initiative step and before the Nob's initiative step. The terrain is not given an AV value and cannot be attacked.
You no more have to make your Nob's attacks 'to see if he makes the vehicle explode' than you would have to do so 'to see if he makes a Pyrovore explode' if the Boyz killed it before him.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 15:10:30
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Bigdobbo wrote:You cant separate the nob he is an upgrade not ic
Crap, that's right.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 15:55:57
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
You can pull shenanigans to stop him being able to get within range to attack, though. Just make a picket line of Boyz 2" away from the engaged models so he can't get through!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:41:47
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Akroma06 wrote:No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
I don't get the cover bit. Either the vehicle is destroyed and no longer a unit when I1 is reached or not.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 16:47:48
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Homer S wrote:Akroma06 wrote:No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
I don't get the cover bit. Either the vehicle is destroyed and no longer a unit when I1 is reached or not.
Homer
Because if the boyz had gone through cover they would all swing at I1 due to assaulting through cover rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 18:00:51
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
DeathReaper wrote:Homer S wrote:Akroma06 wrote:No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
I don't get the cover bit. Either the vehicle is destroyed and no longer a unit when I1 is reached or not.
Homer
Because if the boyz had gone through cover they would all swing at I1 due to assaulting through cover rules.
Ah ha, so then everyone attacked at I1. D'oh!
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 18:23:06
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
Hold up, everybody. I wasn't saying cover is involved, just that in the moment between the I3 Boyz attacking and I1Nob being able to attack, the vehicle model turned from a unit under the opponent's control to a piece of terrain as described. The model is on the board, but it's no longer attackable.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 18:43:43
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
We know you did not mention cover lindsay40k, we were clarifying what Akroma06 had said.
Akroma06 wrote:No once the vehicle is destroyed thats it no more swinging at it. Now had you gone through cover then yes you would still need to swing with the nob.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 19:06:44
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Folks have a habit around here of injecting different scenarios into a thread. Never was quite sure if the intent is to clarify or cloud the original issue.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 19:07:39
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Everything is resolved at initiative. If the boys wrecked it at I3 or I2 then the I1 Nob never strikes.
If the boys wrecked it at I1 due to difficult terrain assault, then yes, the NOB's powerclaws and results would be forced to be applied at the same time as the boyz even if you did the boyz first and potentially give more chances for EXPLODES which I assume your opponent was wanting.
It is all done by initiative in CC.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/29 19:35:14
Subject: Re:Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
You have to resolve attacks in I order. if what you are attacking is removed as an attackable object before your I step then the attack doesn't occur.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/30 02:35:53
Subject: Does the Nob still have to swing his powerclaw if his boys already wrecked the vehicle
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
If you carried on and blew the thing up; which he wanted you to do, and it was because then he would now have place to deploy the squad that was inside and be able to try to fight back.
Edit: Just saw you said the squad already jumped out, nvm that. You were still right in ending the attacks though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/30 02:36:23
"Of course I have, have you ever tried going insane with out power? It sucks! Nobody listens to you." |
|
 |
 |
|