Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/03 20:38:07
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Giggling Nurgling
|
Ok so lets say a player rolls a 1 causing the dread to target the closest unit and fire all of it's weapons twice. Can that unit be in close combat since the dreadnaught is obviously not caring what it's target is? If it ends up targeting a friendly unit not in close combat and its using template weapons do i get to place the templates or does my opponent?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/03 20:51:04
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine
|
The rules say you can't fire into combat.
You place the template AFAIK.
|
Arguing with some people is like playing chess with a pigeon. You can play the best chess in the world, but at the end of the day the pigeon will still knock all the pieces off the board and then gak all over it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 07:57:44
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 08:05:46
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
CombaticusCarl wrote:Ok so lets say a player rolls a 1 causing the dread to target the closest unit and fire all of it's weapons twice. Can that unit be in close combat since the dreadnaught is obviously not caring what it's target is? If it ends up targeting a friendly unit not in close combat and its using template weapons do i get to place the templates or does my opponent?
#1 You have to pick the closest legal target, you can not target a unit in CC.
#2 It does not matter who places the template, because you have to follow the rules for templates and cover as many models in the target unit as possible. (But it is your shooting, so you place the template)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 09:04:50
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You find the closest legal unit to fire upon within the weapons LOS and you fire upon them. You cannot fire upon units in CC, so you ignore them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/04 09:16:13
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. You are told to "target", and target has restrictions placed on it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 14:56:16
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Lol, I was pretty sure I was the only person left playing a Chaos Dreadnought, Everyone laughs, but hey, hes fun!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 14:59:44
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, played with 2 at the indy gt last year - where they also played that, despite them being vehicles, they had 180 degree LOS.
Meant one game when both FF one blew the other up....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 15:12:23
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Hmm... I thought the Walker rules were pretty clear, pivot to face.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 15:14:03
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I was under the impression because of that they had 360 degree LOS
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 15:36:40
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Homer S wrote:Hmm... I thought the Walker rules were pretty clear, pivot to face.
Homer
Once you have determined what is in LOS, as per the FF rules. Otherwise you cannot pivot towards the nearest enemy in LOS - you would have to pivot and THEN check what is in LOS, which breaks the requirement to pivot after determining firing angle. The only time Vehicle LOS is EVER mentioned is in relation to firing arcs.
So no 360 los. No 180 LOS. 45 degree LOS from each weapon. Thats it.
Walkers used to have a 180 degree LOS in 4th. This isnt 4th
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/05 16:52:45
Subject: Question about Chaos Dreadnaught Crazed rule
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Danger Will Robinson, here we go again down that path again.
|
|
 |
 |
|