Switch Theme:

How does Infernal Puppet Work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




kay, so i just finished looking at the chaos warriors book while kitting out my sorcerer lord, and i was reading infernal puppet. it says you may modify any roll on the miscast chart by D3. the example shown simply shows addition or subtraction. however, the term modify does not explicitly limit the puppet's uses to addition and subtraction. i checked the FAQ, but couldn't find any thing on it. i also searched through the forums, and still no topic regarding this, so either everyone understands this already and i am just now seeing it or i just broke an item (which i doubt)
basically fellow dakka-neers, riddle me this: if my opponent rolls a 9 on the miscast table, and i roll a 6 on my D3, resulting in the ability to modify his result by 3, can i divide/multiply the result of his roll?
it just doesnt seem right for the price of a 35 point item. especially when paired with the lore of Tzeentchs Pandemonium, or the ability to use it on myself. "i rolled a three? hm, guess i'll just multiply by 3, get a 9, and lose all the power dice i already used casting this spell. lolumadbro?"
does anyone have an answer?
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Modifying a dice roll is either via addition or subtraction. Check pg 7 under Modifying Dice Rolls.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Scribe of Dhunia






The rules are actually pretty straightforward. It says you can modify it up to D3. Modifying (as defined by the BRB) is the act of adding or modifying a roll, and since that's what your doing, your unable to divide/multiply.
   
Made in ca
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought




Victoria B.C.

As scarecrow said, it works really well with the spell pandemonium.

Overview of the WoC army book.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/388667.page#3171854
Ralin Givens is the chaos to my warriors. Ra Ra Ra go team awesome I mean chaos
Tzack Vahr Zhen's unholy followers.
all hail Howie Mandel deal or no deal it dosnt matter tzeentch wins
Khorne flakes part of a good breakfast when you plan to kill maim and burn all!!!

Do you have enough Priests do you?
 
   
Made in gb
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions





Qo'noS

Modification is addition and subraction, not multiplication or division, if that's what you were thinking, as that would be very, very broken.

'I once saw a man kill another with only a sock. It was slow and painful to watch...'

Darnath Lysander: The Man, The Mystery, The Legend
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Davall wrote:Modifying a dice roll is either via addition or subtraction. Check pg 7 under Modifying Dice Rolls.


Agreed.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: