Switch Theme:

Deepstrike mishap  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Preacher of the Emperor





A strange place

This was a question that came up durng a game, that we didn't knew how to solve.

Five terminators deepstrike and have a mishap.
We roll the dice, and the opponent gets to chose the DS place.
He takes, the model and places it directly in the boards corner.

If you deepstrike, you have to make a full circle around the original model, before you can start a second circle. ( if we're not mistaken)

But if he's in the corner, only two terminators can stand on the board in base contact with the original model. The rest can't be placed, since you have to make a full circle first.

Does this means that:

- there is a second deepstrike mishap
- the two remaining terminaters are dead
- you can start the second circle.
- or possibly, the entire unit is wiped

And another minor question:

if you manage to wipe out a necron unit in your turn, can it still use the WBB rule?


Thanks for reading, and hopefully we'll have our answer soon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/20 19:40:56




 
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





IIRC the unit must be placed in a valid location, ie one which allows the whole unit to be placed.

As for the necrons in the case you described they would get WWB only if there is another necron unit within range and would join the other unit.

nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed.
 
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

No, according to BRB 95 "Deep strike mishaps" Misplaced you "you deploy the unit anywhere" So you dont place one models first and then the rest, but all at the same time in the normal circle formation They cannot mishap again since you dont roll anything or allowed to place them on anything that causes a mishap. (but like the rule says you can place them in difficult terrain and cause danger terrain test)

 
   
Made in be
Preacher of the Emperor





A strange place

Ah thanks, for the quick reply.

I already thought something iffy was going on, when he placed it there.



 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut







sillyboy wrote:
And another minor question:

if you manage to wipe out a necron unit in your turn, can it still use the WBB rule?


Thanks for reading, and hopefully we'll have our answer soon.



Unless there are other models of the relevant type nearby, or a Tomb Scarab, no, it cannot.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

We had a rather long argument about this topic a few weeks ago. Basically it boiled down to two sides:

Side A: If a unit mishaps and the opponent is allowed to deploy them again, he may automatically cause another mishap if he wants. This can continue until the mishap roll results in either the unit going into reserves or the unit being destroyed.

Side B: The intention of the rule is for the opponent to place the unit in a valid location. If the opponent could cause another mishap, they always would, and the mishap table would effectively be just "go back to reserves" or death.


I am a FIRM believer in side B. But, there was dissenting opinion on this.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

I agree with Grakmar.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





The only reason I would say that he couldn't do that is because of what the deepstrike mishap table says. In essence both sides A and B that Grakmar mentioned are correct.

Here is why I say this, the rules state that the opponent may place the unit anywhere on the table except impassible terrain, but the unit must be in a valid formation and no scatter is rolled for.

Here is my take, the opponent places them anywhere but they must be able to validly fit where they are placed otherwise they are not in a valid formation.

 
   
Made in us
Crazed Cultist of Khorne






North Carolina

Well first of all that is a dick move and second of all a model can only mishap once so he has to put it somewhere that it won't mishap them.

Black Dragons : 2000 points
Brazen Dragons: 6000 points

I am White/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both orderly and selfish. I act mostly for my own benefit, but I respect and help my community - Specially when it helps me. At best, I'm loyal and dedicated; at worst, I'm elitist and shrewd.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

jeremyj1234 wrote:Well first of all that is a dick move and second of all a model can only mishap once so he has to put it somewhere that it won't mishap them.

Lots of people assume that a model can only mishap once. But, it doesn't actually appear in the rulebook anywhere.

Hence, our argument.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

jeremyj1234 wrote:a model can only mishap once
If this were an actual rule it would make the "delayed" mishap awesome.
Amungst other things.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





jeremyj1234 wrote:model can only mishap once


I have to agree with Grakmar on this, a unit isn't limited in the number of mishaps, but I do believe that you opponent is breaking the stipulation of the unit being placed in valid formation by making it so that the entire unit can not deploy.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

DakkaDakka wrote:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 01:18:31


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

The rule for misplaced states:

"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exluding impassable terrain..."

Page 13 states:

"Remember that other models, friends and enemies, also count as impassable terrain."

So it is impossible to deploy the misplaced unit anywhere that can cause a mishap.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Note that impassable terrain is not the only thing that causes a mishap. In fact, in the OPs example it wasn't impassable terrain, rather it was the board edge.So simply citing "excluding impassable terrain" and calling the 2nd mishap impossible isn't correct.

Page 95 says "... because they would land off the table, in impassable terrain, on top of a friendly model, or on top of or within 1" of an enemy model, something has gone wrong."

Italics mine.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Trickstick wrote:"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exluding impassable terrain..."


"On the table" excludes placing the unit off the table, or partially off the table.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/10/21 02:55:29


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





And let's not throw warp quake into the mess, shall we?

Sourclams wrote:He already had more necrons than anyone else. Now he wants to have more necrons than himself.


I play  
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

imweasel wrote:And let's not throw warp quake into the mess, shall we?


Ack, tricky one. It then comes down to if the deployment is actually a deep strike or not. I would be of the opinion that it is not, as misplaced does not say that it is. It simply states that the unit is deployed at a position, not deep struck there.

Not nearly as cut and dried as the original question but I don't think it is too bad. Probably more open to debate though.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Trickstick wrote:The rule for misplaced states:

"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exluding impassable terrain..."

Page 13 states:

"Remember that other models, friends and enemies, also count as impassable terrain."

So it is impossible to deploy the misplaced unit anywhere that can cause a mishap.

But, you could still place models within 1" of an enemy unit. That's not impassible terrain, and it would cause another mishap.

(Again, I'm fully in favor of the interpretation that you cannot cause another mishap, just pointing out that the rules are vague.)

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Trickstick wrote:
Trickstick wrote:"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exluding impassable terrain..."


"On the table" excludes placing the unit off the table, or partially off the table.

Wow I can't read. Thanks and sorry.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Grakmar wrote:
Trickstick wrote:The rule for misplaced states:

"Your opponent may deploy the unit anywhere on the table (exluding impassable terrain..."

Page 13 states:

"Remember that other models, friends and enemies, also count as impassable terrain."

So it is impossible to deploy the misplaced unit anywhere that can cause a mishap.

But, you could still place models within 1" of an enemy unit. That's not impassible terrain, and it would cause another mishap.

(Again, I'm fully in favor of the interpretation that you cannot cause another mishap, just pointing out that the rules are vague.)


You cannot move within one inch of enemy models except for assault. I think it states it as impassable but I'll double check to make sure. Don't have the rulebook on me right now.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Grakmar wrote:But, you could still place models within 1" of an enemy unit. That's not impassible terrain, and it would cause another mishap.


Fair enough, I didn't think about that. I would consider within 1" of an enemy to be impassable but it is a hole in the rules. I would argue that it would not count as a "valid deepstrike formation" but that is open to interpretation.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

Ok, I haven't read right through, but what happens if a unit suffers mishap from something like GK Squad's Warp Quake, and are placed in the same spot? They would be deep striking into Mishap Zone, so would they suffer mishap again?

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Deadshot wrote:Ok, I haven't read right through, but what happens if a unit suffers mishap from something like GK Squad's Warp Quake, and are placed in the same spot? They would be deep striking into Mishap Zone, so would they suffer mishap again?


It depends on who you talk to. The second time you place them it is argued they are not deep striking and therefore warp quake does not work since it only applies to deep striking.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

rogueeyes wrote:
Deadshot wrote:Ok, I haven't read right through, but what happens if a unit suffers mishap from something like GK Squad's Warp Quake, and are placed in the same spot? They would be deep striking into Mishap Zone, so would they suffer mishap again?


It depends on who you talk to. The second time you place them it is argued they are not deep striking and therefore warp quake does not work since it only applies to deep striking.


You have to re-read the misplaced rule. The opponent deploys the unit anywhere on the table. Not just the first model, but the unit. This would include all models in the unit.

They must be deployed in a valid deep strike formation. This would be the first model is placed, the next models are placed in a circle around the first, etc. All the models in the unit have to be placed on the table.

They can't be placed in impassable terrain, off the table, on friendly units or on top of or within 1" of enemy units because any of these conditions causes a mishap so are not valid deep strike formations. The mishap section says that "If any of the models in a deep striking unit cannot be deployed..." then something has gone wrong which will cause a mishap. So in order to be a vailid deep strike formation, it must be one in which the unit is fully deployed.

And being misplaced is indeed deep striking. The misplaced rule says the "...opponent may place the unit anywhere on the table (excluding impassable terrain, but including difficult terrain, which of course counts as dangerous for deep striking units!)..." {emphasis mine}

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Do we really need to get back into opponent placing a misplaced unit into a warpquake area again?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: