Switch Theme:

I need some clarification on a psyker rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Happy Imperial Citizen



Antioch,CA

Im playing as CSM and had a simple question

I choose to take a Daemon Prince with the mark of Tzeentch (allowing 2 psyker abilities) I took Doombolt and Bolt of change (both count as having a shooting profile)

here's where the issue arises, in combat i elected to fire BOTH of the psyker abilities and this starts a huge argument

They said that in the codex it says that only one psyker weapon can be fired, except for models with Mark of Tzeentch (can attempt to fire 2) with the exception of weapons that have the shooting profile as models can fire only one weapon per shooting phase

I pointed out that it was classed as a Monstrous Creature and as long as both weapons are pointed at the same enemy troop should be fine

They started squabbling about how codex trumps rule book and kept pointing to the "One weapon per shooting phase" in the psychic abilities

Who is in the right and who is wrong?

javascript:emoticon('');javascript:emoticon(''); 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

ironblood wrote:Im playing as CSM and had a simple question

I choose to take a Daemon Prince with the mark of Tzeentch (allowing 2 psyker abilities) I took Doombolt and Bolt of change (both count as having a shooting profile)

here's where the issue arises, in combat i elected to fire BOTH of the psyker abilities and this starts a huge argument

They said that in the codex it says that only one psyker weapon can be fired, except for models with Mark of Tzeentch (can attempt to fire 2) with the exception of weapons that have the shooting profile as models can fire only one weapon per shooting phase

I pointed out that it was classed as a Monstrous Creature and as long as both weapons are pointed at the same enemy troop should be fine

They started squabbling about how codex trumps rule book and kept pointing to the "One weapon per shooting phase" in the psychic abilities

Who is in the right and who is wrong?


As long as the Monstrous Creature has the ability to use 2 psychic powers a turn, both of those may be psychic shooting attacks.

Edit: I should point out that I don't have my Chaos Codex in hand, so if there is a specific caveat in the Codex, this might change things.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/24 20:47:44


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Codex does not trump rulebook, it's specific trumps non specific.

they're quite wrong.

   
Made in us
Happy Imperial Citizen



Antioch,CA

Thanks for the clarification

javascript:emoticon('');javascript:emoticon(''); 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

FAQ is your friend.........

Q. Can a Daemon prince with the Mark of Tzeentch use two different psychic powers, that both count as firing a weapon, in the same shooting phase.

A. Yes, as Monstrous Creatures can use two weapons in the shooting phase.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Manhunter





HIDING IN METAL BAWKSES!

Yes, they are completely wrong on the BRB>Codex.
It is Specific>Non-specific.
Because that rule is specific, it trumps the BRB rule.

And if the BRB always trumps, what is the point of having special rules in Codecis if they do not matter?
Ask them that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/24 22:00:46


Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.

"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

forruner_mercy wrote:And if the BRB always trumps, what is the point of having special rules in Codecis if they do not matter?
Ask them that.

That is not what they were saying.
ironblood wrote:They started squabbling about how codex trumps rule book

they were saying codex trumps rule book, which is incorrect as has been pointed out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/24 22:06:20


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Glasgow, Scotland

just as an example to anyone who disagrees with what has been said, jsu in case, take the Swarmlord.

MC with 4 psychic powers, that can use 2 per turn. All 4 of its powers are PSA.

I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!

Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





Can't argue this specific point, and codex does not trump BGB, in fact if you look though the BGB you will find 1 section where it specifically says this and that is USR, other then that it has always been as noted specific trumps general. You were in the right

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Deadshot wrote:just as an example to anyone who disagrees with what has been said, jsu in case, take the Swarmlord.

MC with 4 psychic powers, that can use 2 per turn. All 4 of its powers are PSA.


Whereas Hive Tyrants do not. Hive Tyrants have the ability to fire 2 weapons, but they do not have the ability to use 2 powers, so cannot use 2 PSAs.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun



NE Ohio

Ok.. so a Dreadnought Librarian with 2 PSA's can it use both? as it can fire all weapons at all times?
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Landrain wrote:Ok.. so a Dreadnought Librarian with 2 PSA's can it use both? as it can fire all weapons at all times?


Only if it also has permission to cast multiple psychic powers.
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Can BA libby dreads take PSAs?

Unless it comes with them, it can't be upgraded with them as they can't take ANY upgrades.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

chromedog wrote:Can BA libby dreads take PSAs?

Unless it comes with them, it can't be upgraded with them as they can't take ANY upgrades.


Yes, they can take PSAs (they can choose 2 powers), but they only have permission to use 1, no matter how many weapons they're permitted to fire. So, they'd be able to use their underslung storm bolter and Blood Lance, if they so chose.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

puma713 wrote:
chromedog wrote:Can BA libby dreads take PSAs?

Unless it comes with them, it can't be upgraded with them as they can't take ANY upgrades.


Yes, they can take PSAs (they can choose 2 powers), but they only have permission to use 1, no matter how many weapons they're permitted to fire. So, they'd be able to use their underslung storm bolter and Blood Lance, if they so chose.


If they were able to upgrade to Epistolary for some reason then they could use 2 PSAs. Hypothetically of course.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in it
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





I think a BA libby can use 2 PSA if it's an epistolary... Walkers can use 2 weapons even when moving... or am I wrong? (I actually faced an opponent doing this and I allowed it)
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You mean the Furioso Librarian? He can't be made an epistolary. (not that I can recall anyway)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its not an upgrade option, although I don't know why.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in it
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





Oh yes... of course I mean the BA Furioso dreddy...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: