Switch Theme:

Newb Q about IG orders  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Ottawa, Ont

Hi. Okay so I have been playing IG and my question about orders goes like this.

Okay so I have been issuing orders to a squad and then after the orders are all done, I shot with the squad. Treating the order as a free shooting phase basically. But I just read in the IG codex in the orders page that once you issue a order that sqaud cant shoot anymore. Is this correct or did I read it wrong?

Like whats the point of issuing an order for a squad to shoot, when I can just shoot it in the shooting phase anyways. If it gets only one chance to shoot then whats the point of the order? I dont get it. I thought it was you issue an order, shoot with the squad, the3n during shooting phase you get to shoot again with that squad. If not than that sucks and I might just quit using IG because without the extra shooting chance there is no way I can win any battle.



Maybe our life is just a death simulator. - Simon Jones, leader of the Catachan anti-Imperium Traducers. The CATS!


IF YOUR READING THIS RIGHT NOW WHY NOT BE A CHAP AND SWING BY MY GALLERY TO CAST A FEW VOTES OR MAKE A COMMENT.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You issue the order to the squad, which must then immediately shoot / run / etc. You have no choice in this, as the codex clearly states.

"The point" is that the orders let you do something extra - so you can fire an extra shot with lasguns. Or you can twin link against vehicles or MCs.
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Ottawa, Ont

So after the squad shoots because they were issued the order (at the start of shooting phase) , can they shoot again in the regular shooting phase?



Maybe our life is just a death simulator. - Simon Jones, leader of the Catachan anti-Imperium Traducers. The CATS!


IF YOUR READING THIS RIGHT NOW WHY NOT BE A CHAP AND SWING BY MY GALLERY TO CAST A FEW VOTES OR MAKE A COMMENT.

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Grand ol US of A

No there is no such difference as it is all the same shooting phase. Like nos said they happen at the start of the phase and the squad that recieves the order (assuming Ld is passed) immediately acts and follows whatever the order says, and is then done for that shooting phase.

d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion






Brisbane

No. Its not meant to give you extra shooting, but make your current shooting much more effective, twin-linking it against that pesky vindicator, or making the enemy terminators re-roll cover saves against the plasma death heading their way. And don't drop IG just because the orders don't work the way you expected, they can be a good army, but most of all they are fun!!

I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Jonesyboy12 wrote:So after the squad shoots because they were issued the order (at the start of shooting phase) , can they shoot again in the regular shooting phase?


No, again as the codex clearly states - the unit may not do ANYTHING else that phase.
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Ottawa, Ont

Ok. Thanks for clearing that up guys. I guess its not as bad as I thought but still, I like the way I had interpreted it better lol.

One more question though. Walkers are classed as troops, fast attack. Can I order my Sentinel to attack. Cuz I know in the book it says you cant issue orders to vehicles.



Maybe our life is just a death simulator. - Simon Jones, leader of the Catachan anti-Imperium Traducers. The CATS!


IF YOUR READING THIS RIGHT NOW WHY NOT BE A CHAP AND SWING BY MY GALLERY TO CAST A FEW VOTES OR MAKE A COMMENT.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Walkers are vehicles. So no. The FOC slot is meaningless.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you cannot order vehicles, and walkers are vehicles.
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Ottawa, Ont

Yes you are right. My friend who I just talked to was like Walkers are troops so ask if they can shoot. But now I read the walker part in the main rulebook and it says walkers are vehicles with troop similiarities. Anyways thanks for all the answers guys. You cleared up something that I have been playing wrongly for like 10 games now. lol.

Ive only ever played like 10 games now against my 1 friend who plays Chaos and I've always shot twice with my guys who were issued orders. So now I guess it's just once. On the flip side tho I never noticed it said you can make things twin linked or re-roll cover saves which I just now read and havent been using that for any of the games either. I only read the orders page like once until now, so its nice to now truly know how to play properly. Funny tho cuz my friend hated the orders phase cuz it always took so long, hahaha and cuz i got to shoot sooo much at him. It'll be good to tone that down now. Also I won every game, probably cuz of my misinterpretated orders lolooooll. So im sure he'll be happy now.



Maybe our life is just a death simulator. - Simon Jones, leader of the Catachan anti-Imperium Traducers. The CATS!


IF YOUR READING THIS RIGHT NOW WHY NOT BE A CHAP AND SWING BY MY GALLERY TO CAST A FEW VOTES OR MAKE A COMMENT.

 
   
Made in ca
Hellacious Havoc





Belleville Ont.

Yes I am! maybe my 10 game losing streak is at an end

+++=
=  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Jonesyboy12 wrote:Yes you are right. My friend who I just talked to was like Walkers are troops so ask if they can shoot. But now I read the walker part in the main rulebook and it says walkers are vehicles with troop similiarities. Anyways thanks for all the answers guys. You cleared up something that I have been playing wrongly for like 10 games now. lol.

Ive only ever played like 10 games now against my 1 friend who plays Chaos and I've always shot twice with my guys who were issued orders. So now I guess it's just once. On the flip side tho I never noticed it said you can make things twin linked or re-roll cover saves which I just now read and havent been using that for any of the games either. I only read the orders page like once until now, so its nice to now truly know how to play properly. Funny tho cuz my friend hated the orders phase cuz it always took so long, hahaha and cuz i got to shoot sooo much at him. It'll be good to tone that down now. Also I won every game, probably cuz of my misinterpretated orders lolooooll. So im sure he'll be happy now.


Your interchanging of "troop" and "infantry" is driving me crazy.

"Troops" is a Force organization Slot

"Infantry" is the model type for basic walking squishies(The basic unit type in the game)


For the Orders, just remember that both "Bring it Down!" and "Fire on my Target!" require the target unit to be in the LOS of the Company Commander as well(I had missed that for awhile myself until it was pointed out to me in the tactics section). Also pay attention to the fact that "Bring it Down!", the Twin-linking order, only works against Vehicle and MCs(you cannot even issue the order and declare a non-vehicle/MC as the unit to be shot).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: