Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 17:07:05
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The description for Hurricane Bolters states they are three twin-linked bolters.
Should a Weapon Destroyed result really destroy all of them or just one of them?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 17:07:13
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 17:13:25
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Crazy Marauder Horseman
|
All of them. A description just tells you about it. Thats why you can put a Hurricane Bolter on a vehicle, as opposed to, say, up to 3 twin-linked bolters. If it had some specific special rule listed in it's profile, that'd be different.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 18:02:38
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
wales
|
weapon destroyed result takes the whole hurricane bolter off
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/31 19:59:42
currently playing dropzone commander, battlegroup and gorkamorka |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 18:32:11
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
DarknessEternal wrote:The description for Hurricane Bolters states they are three twin-linked bolters.
Should a Weapon Destroyed result really destroy all of them or just one of them?
As has been said, a Hurricane Bolter only fires as 3 twin-linked bolters. The "Hurricane Bolter" itself is a single weapon, and can thus be destroyed by a Weapon Destroyed result on the damage table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 19:59:52
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Xca|iber wrote:
As has been said, a Hurricane Bolter only fires as 3 twin-linked bolters.
Actually, it says that it is three twin-linked bolters.
I'm willing to accede to the collective, and it is how I thought it to be played. The wording in the Grey Knights codex made me questionable though.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 22:03:47
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Xca|iber wrote:
As has been said, a Hurricane Bolter only fires as 3 twin-linked bolters.
Actually, it says that it is three twin-linked bolters.
I'm willing to accede to the collective, and it is how I thought it to be played. The wording in the Grey Knights codex made me questionable though.
My mistake. Still, my point stands. The rules state that they are "fired as a single weapon." Furthermore, they are listed under the vehicle's wargear as "hurricane bolter." Both of these make it clear that the hurricane bolter is treated as a single weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/31 22:08:21
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
It would otherwise be annoying to track and ludicrously cheesy, as you could shrug a lot of weapon destroyed's before finally getting glanced down...
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 06:11:02
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Well think of it this way.
You have a weapon, Hurricane bolter.
In it, contains 3 twin linked bolters.
You can choose to destroy the whole thing by choosing the hurricane bolter, or you can technically choose to destroy one of the 3 twin linked bolters, but who would really do that?
Same reason when you destroy a dreadnaught close combat arm, you destroy the gun that's on the arm.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 13:53:23
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
DCCW rules specify that any gun in that arm are also destroyed, and that the Gun can be destroyed separately.
The situation is not the same(you do not fire the gun/Swing in close combat at the same time every time you attempt to do the other), so the same does not apply.
Coaxial Weapons are also not the same, since they specify that they can be destroyed separately or go with the main gun; and are also fired semi-separately(at least they do not have to fire at all, and can fire either before or after their main gun, affecting the main-guns "to-hit" only if they are fired before and hit).
The closest analog is a single weapon(because that is what a Hurricane bolter is): it fires with a given profile(in this case 3x Bolters, that are al twin-linked), and the whole thing is always destroyed at once(you cannot power of the machine spirit 1 of the Twin linked bolters at another target; and having 1 of the Twin-linked bolters destroyed would prevent the hurricane bolters from firing the 3 twin-linked bolters as 1 weapon).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 17:19:34
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
The Faye
|
Isn't there an FAQ saying weapons mounted on the same axil are destroyed on a weapon destroyed result. E,g a LasPlas razorback will lose both weapons?
|
We love what we love. Reason does not enter into it. In many ways, unwise love is the truest love. Anyone can love a thing because. That's as easy as putting a penny in your pocket. But to love something despite. To know the flaws and love them too. That is rare and pure and perfect.
Chaos Knights: 2000 PTS
Thousand Sons: 2000 PTS - In Progress
Tyranids: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Mechanicus: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Custodes: 2000 PTS - In Progress |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 17:45:44
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
obsidianaura wrote:Isn't there an FAQ saying weapons mounted on the same axil are destroyed on a weapon destroyed result. E,g a LasPlas razorback will lose both weapons?
No, in fact: Any marine FAQ wrote:Q: If a Razorback armed with a lascannon and twinlinked
plasma gun suffers a weapon destroyed result,
does it destroy both weapons or just one? (p35)
A: Only one weapon – either the lascannon or the twinlinked
plasma gun.
Quite the opposite is true of Las/ Plas razorbacks
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 17:51:17
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
obsidianaura wrote:Isn't there an FAQ saying weapons mounted on the same axil are destroyed on a weapon destroyed result. E,g a LasPlas razorback will lose both weapons? No. There are no rules for "weapons mounted on the same something." There are rules in Apocalypse for Coaxial weapons and there are rules in the BRB for DCCWs with "in-built" weapons. Neither of these directly affects the discussion of Hurricane Bolters besides providing a starting point for how to treat weapons that "consist of" multiple weapons. Furthermore, nothing in the rules for razorbacks states that the Lascannon and Plasmagun are linked in any way. That's just a common way to represent it. The Space Marine FAQ even specifically states that a Weapon Destroyed result will only destroy one of the two. EDIT: Ninja'd
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/01 17:51:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/01 17:55:17
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Xca|iber wrote:EDIT: Ninja'd
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/02 08:47:19
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
The Faye
|
I see, basically yes the complete opposite! Oops!
|
We love what we love. Reason does not enter into it. In many ways, unwise love is the truest love. Anyone can love a thing because. That's as easy as putting a penny in your pocket. But to love something despite. To know the flaws and love them too. That is rare and pure and perfect.
Chaos Knights: 2000 PTS
Thousand Sons: 2000 PTS - In Progress
Tyranids: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Mechanicus: 2000 PTS
Adeptus Custodes: 2000 PTS - In Progress |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/02 17:57:57
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
More like: Basically you have to read the entry; Built-in/coaxial means the 2 weapons go together on a weapon destroyed. A SM dread losing it's DCCW will lose the Built-in Storm bolter or Heavy flamer, an Ork Deff dread losing a DCCW will not lose any guns(as they are not "built-in"). A FW/IA-1 Leman Russ vanquisher with a Coaxial Storm bolter/Heavy Stubber will lose it when the Vanquisher cannon is destroyed, but a Vanquisher with a Pintle mounted SB/HS will not lose it to a Vanquisher cannon loss
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/02 18:00:24
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/02 18:44:16
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
|
It is the same as a combi weapon. A combi melta would lose the melta and the bolter. You cannot say destroy the melta on the combi melta.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/02 19:46:12
Subject: Hurricane Bolters and Weapon Destroyed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
rogueeyes wrote:It is the same as a combi weapon. A combi melta would lose the melta and the bolter. You cannot say destroy the melta on the combi melta.
That is significantly different.
A Chaos Rhino with a Combi melta can only fire the Melta or the bolter in any given turn, it is exactly 1 weapon.
A vanquisher with a Coaxial Heavy Stubber fires both the stubber and the Vanquisher cannon in the same turn because they are 2 different weapons mounted together.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|