Switch Theme:

Swarmlord VS Eternal Warrior  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Usually with weapons that cause ID, its an unsaved wound that fires off the ID. With the Swarmlords Bonesabres its a little different. The hits themselves cause ID. So what happens when he hits someone with Eternal Warrior, since they cant be ID does he just roll to wound as usual then? S vs T and if so does that target have to reroll his Inv Save.

The rule says "any successful invulnerable saves made against HITS must be rerolled"

I play nids and played it as his attacks are just like normal PW hits, that you have to reroll your save. My opponent was trying to argue his DP didnt have to reroll because it says hits, and hits inflict ID, and since he is immune to ID, he was rolling his saves vs wounds.

Help would be appreciated. I play against Daemons and CSM quite a bit. Thanks
   
Made in us
Commoragh-bound Peer




Salt Lake City UT

Your friend is trying to get away with not having to reroll. HITS are HITS. being immune to ID means he doesn't die if he fails the save nothing more.

In Heaven We Were Formed...
In Hell We Were Trained...
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

He has to re-roll simple as that. IIRC it gos to state that all successful invul saves must be re-rolled

   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Ok gotcha, but do the hits inflict instant wounds then, or do you roll S vs T?
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Whilst 'attacks inflict Instant Death' could be seen as a little vague and open to interpretation, without it specifically saying 'automatically and without having to roll to wound' you should assume you still have to roll to wound with your S.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

knightpredator wrote:Usually with weapons that cause ID, its an unsaved wound that fires off the ID. With the Swarmlords Bonesabres its a little different. The hits themselves cause ID. So what happens when he hits someone with Eternal Warrior, since they cant be ID does he just roll to wound as usual then? S vs T and if so does that target have to reroll his Inv Save.


You ALWAYS have to roll S vs T on any successful hit. being a potential ID wound has nothing to do with the to wound process.

The Swarmlord will roll to hit as normal, roll to wound as normal, and then all Invuln saves are taken and re-rolled, then all wounds that are not saved then cause ID to non models without EW. for models with EW they just take one wound for every wound that is not saved by the Invuln save process.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/01 20:04:26


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





You ALWAYS have to roll S vs T on any successful hit. being a potential ID wound has nothing to do with the to wound process.


No you don't. Look at a gargoyle, their attacks cause a wound on a 6 to hit no matter what toughness. They do not have to roll S vs T on those hits.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/01 20:30:59


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

More accurate would have been to say that you always roll to wound except where a special rule specifically says otherwise... but that shouldn't really have been necessary.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

insaniak wrote:More accurate would have been to say that you always roll to wound except where a special rule specifically says otherwise... but that shouldn't really have been necessary.

You must be new here.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

knightpredator wrote:
You ALWAYS have to roll S vs T on any successful hit. being a potential ID wound has nothing to do with the to wound process.


No you don't. Look at a gargoyle, their attacks cause a wound on a 6 to hit no matter what toughness. They do not have to roll S vs T on those hits.


Look at the context, Gargoyles were not mentioned at all.

I was detailing how the presence of ID has no bearing on the Swarmlords to hit and wound process.

Not a gargoyle's hit and wound process.

Notice how I underlined what I was referring to.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/01 22:24:56


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

DeathReaper wrote:
knightpredator wrote:Usually with weapons that cause ID, its an unsaved wound that fires off the ID. With the Swarmlords Bonesabres its a little different. The hits themselves cause ID. So what happens when he hits someone with Eternal Warrior, since they cant be ID does he just roll to wound as usual then? S vs T and if so does that target have to reroll his Inv Save.


You ALWAYS have to roll S vs T on any successful hit. being a potential ID wound has nothing to do with the to wound process.

The Swarmlord will roll to hit as normal, roll to wound as normal, and then all Invuln saves are taken and re-rolled, then all wounds that are not saved then cause ID to non models without EW. for models with EW they just take one wound for every wound that is not saved by the Invuln save process.


This. Your friend was playing it really, really wrong.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: