Switch Theme:

Necron questions. Easy perhaps?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I do not have the codex here so bere with me:

1: If you have the vail of darknes and the cryptec that lets you reroll 1d6 in the same unit: Can you reroll one of the deep strike dices, or one of the dices on the leadership test?

2: If you have the C'tan abilaty that makes all terain dangerush terain and you have the Cryptec weapon that lets you make an oposing unit count as moving through dificult terain if it hits: Does this make the dificult terain dangerush terain?

3: If you have 2 royal courts, can you put a model from each royal court into the same unit?

4: The character spesial reanimation protocol (or what it is called) does that make for many more killpoints?

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





No.
Yes.
Yes.
No.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Rhizome 9

What darkness said is all right, based off RAW, however expect some of them to be reversed or changed after a new FAQ comes out. Mainly 1 and 3.




 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I would bet 1 doesn't change - 3 might.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






On the point of number 2, I'm pretty sure that is not correct because the c'tan ability doesn't work on "counts as" terrain, only actual terrain that has been classified as difficult. As the unit that had the tremorstave used against them isn't actually in any terrain there is no "difficult terrain" to convert to "dangerous terrain". They are simply (as the wording of the rule) treating open terrain as difficult terrain but that is not the same as being IN difficult terrain.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The same way that a unit having Move through Cover rolls 3 dice instead of two if they also have Slow and Purposeful, #2 is correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in pl
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte





Warsaw

Kevin949 wrote:They are simply (as the wording of the rule) treating open terrain as difficult terrain but that is not the same as being IN difficult terrain.


And that's precisely why this goes along with C'than power.

Most skills use wording "Counts as moving through difficult terrian" - in that case C'tan's power is of no effect.

Only Tremorstave uses "treating open terrain as difficult terrain" and with all due respect, with C'tan in play - that puts them in dangerous terrain.



 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

#4 is a deeper rabbit hole than people think. Not like there's a ton of rules explaining exactly what conditions have to be met to score a kill point.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409141.page

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kitzz wrote:#4 is a deeper rabbit hole than people think. Not like there's a ton of rules explaining exactly what conditions have to be met to score a kill point.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409141.page

Similar to Thrawn, it's not a KP unless the game ends with the unit dead.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

rigeld2 wrote:
Kitzz wrote:#4 is a deeper rabbit hole than people think. Not like there's a ton of rules explaining exactly what conditions have to be met to score a kill point.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409141.page

Similar to Thrawn, it's not a KP unless the game ends with the unit dead.


You got a ruling on the codex to back that thur claim up thur?

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Logic. A kill point is rewarded only if the model is removed permanently from play as a casualty.

Ergo, a model that comes back from RP gives no KP, as he was not permanently removed from play as a casualty.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Books are at home, but the BRB says "At the end of the game, each player receives 1 'kill point' for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed."

That means you count at the end of the game because that's when KP are awarded. If Thrawn/EL character are standing at the end of the game, they are not completely destroyed. Typically it doesn't matter because unit's don't come back from the dead.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

rigeld is completely correct. Many people count KP as the game progresses, however, that isn't how it actually works. You only check for KP at the end of the game.

So, at the end, if you killed the character with Reanimation, you get a KP. If he's still up, you don't get a KP, even if he died a dozen times.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Herr Dexter wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:They are simply (as the wording of the rule) treating open terrain as difficult terrain but that is not the same as being IN difficult terrain.


And that's precisely why this goes along with C'than power.

Most skills use wording "Counts as moving through difficult terrian" - in that case C'tan's power is of no effect.

Only Tremorstave uses "treating open terrain as difficult terrain" and with all due respect, with C'tan in play - that puts them in dangerous terrain.


Yes, most skills and things of that sort do say "count as moving through difficult terrain", specifically for noting that they are not ACTUALLY in terrain. They are IN open terrain, they are only moving as if they were in difficult terrain. If they actually were in difficult terrain they would probably be getting a cover save and causing assaults to be slowed. But they are not, just because they are rolling for difficult terrain does not mean they are IN difficult terrain.

Walk around your house and pretend you're in swimming...are you actually swimming and thus have a chance of drowning?
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Kevin949 wrote:

Walk around your house and pretend you're in swimming...are you actually swimming and thus have a chance of drowning?


I have a very vivid imagination. I might drown. That's why I also pretend I'm Aquaman.

Anyway, I'm going to have to go with the side that says it is NOT dangerous. As it's been said before, it's not actually terrain. If it said "treating open terrain as difficult terrain for all purposes" or something like that then maybe. Although in the end, this is a Matt Ward codex, so who knows, you might be able to stack it to impassable with enough modifiers. /sarcasm off

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Treating open terrain as difficult means it is difficult when you look at the Ctans powers.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





What nos said.

SnP means you treat all terrain as difficult.
MTC allows you to roll 3d6 instead of 2 to navigate difficult terrain.

Units that are SnP and have MTC roll 3d6.

edit: I'm bringing it up because fwiu the rules are worded almost the same.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/09 22:51:44


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Yes but move through cover specifies it is active when you roll for difficult terrain. The c'tan shard simply says that difficult terrain is dangerous and dangerous terrain is even more so. If it specified to add a dangerous terrain check to all difficult terrain rolls then that is a different story, but since it doesn't specify that anytime a difficult terrain test is rolled it is a dangerous terrain test as well, one is to presume that ONLY difficult terrain as classified by the rulebook and your pre-game discussions is now classed as dangerous terrain.

The tremorstave simply says the enemy unit treats open terrain as difficult terrain but it still not difficult terrain as classified above.

I can see this working both ways personally, so hopefully it will get cleared up by an FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Knowing the studio it will be difficult -> dangerous, as expected.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Are we sure you can't use the chronocryptec to reroll a scatter die? It says reroll one die for hte tec or his unit. It doesnt seem to specify what die or when. Cause I'd love a to put a viel of darknes and a chrono together. That'd be boss!
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

ZombieJoe wrote:Are we sure you can't use the chronocryptec to reroll a scatter die? It says reroll one die for hte tec or his unit. It doesnt seem to specify what die or when. Cause I'd love a to put a viel of darknes and a chrono together. That'd be boss!

BRB pg 5: "If you re-roll a 2D6 or 3D6 roll, you must re-roll all of the dice and not just some of them, unless the rule granting you the re-roll explicitly specifies otherwise."

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




There again, I thought it said something about that. I must reread the rule of the chrono item.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

ZombieJoe wrote:There again, I thought it said something about that. I must reread the rule of the chrono item.


It says that you may roll "a" D6.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Curses! I really wanted that to work. :(
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: