Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 07:19:22
Subject: Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If a Character has a large pair of wings to decorate him, enable flight, etc, would you exempt them as being partof the model?
Example: I am planning to make a HQ with large bat wings that will surely stick out. If you could just see the wing, would you still interpret it as part of the character? Or give a cover save?
|
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 07:50:03
Subject: Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You cant modify a model in a way to give you an advantage
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 07:53:05
Subject: Re:Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
|
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 08:18:29
Subject: Re:Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
As far as I remember, the main rules cover this situation, and state that wings are not considered for LOS purposes.
Also, this is a rules question, not proposed rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 10:29:44
Subject: Wings in line of sight
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ird's got it. Wings/tip of a lance help way up/etc aren't counted in terms of LOS. Just think that they fold the wings when not using them
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 10:46:40
Subject: Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity
|
Pg16 of mini-rulebook wrote:Line of Sight must be traced from from the eyes of the firing model to any part of the body of at least one of the models in the target unit (for 'body' we mean its head, torso leggs and arms). Sometimes all that may be visible of a model is a weapon, an antenna, a banner or some other ornament he is wearing or carrying (including its wings and tail, even though they are technicallly part of their body). In these cases the model is not visible. These rules are intended to ensure that models don't get penalisedfor having impressive standards, blades, guns, majestic wings, etc.
Talamare wrote:You cant modify a model in a way to give you an advantage
There is no rule anywhere that states this.
In a tournament if you specifcially model for advantage they will likely penalise you but otherwise it's same as everything: modelling skill, rule of cool and will your opponent play with you.
It's funny cos according to the rules you ignore the wings, tail and talons on this xD
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/12 10:48:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/12 11:08:34
Subject: Re:Wings in line of sight
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Found it! Automatically Appended Next Post: This rule must be wonderful for Chaos and 'nids. Look at all them spikey pointy bitz!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/12 13:01:39
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
|