Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 18:46:32
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Squishy Squig
Peru
|
Firing an ordnance weapon from a transport vehicle:
"Firing an ordnance weapon requires the attention of all the gunners of the vehicle, so no other weapons may be fired that turn..." page 58.
To my understanding here the rulebook refers to the other guns that the vehicle might have, like a batlewagon with a killkannon (ordnance) and 4 pintle big shootas, then the big shootas wont fire.
Open-Topped Transport Vehicles:
"Open-topped transport vehicles do not have specific fire points, all passengers in an open-topped vehicle may fire, measuring range and LOS from the hull of the vehicle..." page 70.
Which makes me believe that even when firing an ordnance weapon, if the vehicle is open-topped, the passengers can still fire their weapons normally since they are not gunners or crew and are not operating any of the vehicles pintle mounted weapons, the restriction is only for the other weapons THAT ARE PART OF the vehicle.
comments?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/11/17 18:51:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 18:51:29
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, as ever passengers /= the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 19:15:21
Subject: Re:Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Squishy Squig
Peru
|
BUT!!!
Does the vehicle and passengers have to shot at the same target? because it doesnt say anywhere that the vehicle is considered part of the unit, a dedicated transport might be, but a vehicle that has its own army solt? mmmm...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/17 19:27:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 19:36:09
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Check out the BGB FAQ (I don't have the link).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 20:35:09
Subject: Re:Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Orkboy wrote:BUT!!!
Does the vehicle and passengers have to shot at the same target? because it doesnt say anywhere that the vehicle is considered part of the unit, a dedicated transport might be, but a vehicle that has its own army solt? mmmm...
They are absolutely not the same unit.
If they were then the infantry couldn't embark as the whole unit has to embark....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 20:45:24
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
BRB faq wrote:Q: Must passengers fire at the same target that their
vehicle is firing at? (p66)
A: No, they are a separate unit (albeit they are
temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so can fire
at a different target.
Q: Can an embarked unit ever be the target of enemy
shooting? (p67)
A: No. Only the transport vehicle can be hit.
All GW FAQs can be found Here
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/17 22:35:22
Subject: Re:Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Also, just to clarify for you, being Open-Topped has nothing to do with how passengers fire from a tank that is using an Ordinance weapon.
If you buy the 'Ard Case upgrade for your Looted Wagon or Battlewagon and take away Open-Topped, you can still fire an Ordinance Weapon such as the Boom Gun or the Kill Kannon and the occupants can still fire, and they can still fire at a different target than the tank. You simply become limited to firing from fire-points at that point, so only a few Orks could fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 05:43:51
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
So, is the Ork Kannon considered an Ordinance Weapon, or just when it is shooting it's S4 blast, or not at all? I was asking because I have thought about putting one on my Battlewagon with a Big Shoota just to be able to shoot two weapons after moving 7 inches.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/18 05:45:51
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 06:10:59
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Kannon is not an Ordnance weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 06:34:00
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
The OP is referring to the Killkannon, which is a battlewagon specific upgrade. The kannon is not ordnance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/18 06:34:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 08:05:17
Subject: Re:Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Scott-S6 wrote:They are absolutely not the same unit.
If they were then the infantry couldn't embark as the whole unit has to embark....
And even if the infantry embarked the vehicle could only move 6" since that's the speed of the slowest model... kind of would make transports pointless.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 08:10:34
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Well, a vehicle is still more durable than the infantry it is carrying.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/18 19:19:17
Subject: Another Rulebook question... this one is good..
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Not if they're a single unit - you'd (presumably, since it's impossible) use the majority - in this case, the infantry's toughness.
|
|
 |
 |
|