Switch Theme:

To me this sounds legal... Razor Back 6 models... Land Raider.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit




AZ

Now I have 3 heavy support slots full already but want to take a land raider.

So...

Can I have the Land Raider be a dedicated transport for a squad of terminators but have the termies teleport in and put a 6 man command squad in that Land Raider and say it is a dedicated transport. I say yes...

Also...

I want a razorback for some added fire power... So I bought a razor back with the command squad even though the command squad is 10 man strong and will be in the land raider... It does not say in the codex that the command squad has to be 6 models, nor does it say that the termies have to be in the Land Raider for it to be considered the dedicated transport.

I have had this debate with a friend of mine for several days now and I say I am right. What say you?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/23 04:28:47




 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You can't start anything but the unit who bought the dedicated transport in the vehicle, but you can put anything in it on turn one.

You can buy vehicles even if the unit cannot fit inside.

Also... were in the hell are you getting a 10 man command squad?

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit




AZ

I meant 6 typo

So I cant do that?

What about having a DP w.o anyone in it come into play and that unit that bought the DP was not in it at the start of the game?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/23 04:30:49




 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You can buy a Land Raider and have it be a dedicated transport for a squad of terminators and have the terminators Teleport in. you can not have the command squad start in the land raider, but they can enter on your first movement phase.

You may indeed buy a transport for a unit that can not fit in in. so you can buy a razorback for your command squad and have the command squad deployed near the Land Raider ready to jump into the LR on your first movement phase.

Remember only the unit you bought the dedicated transport can be deployed inside of the transport at the beginning of the game, or you can deploy the dedicated transport empty and have someone else jump in on your turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/23 04:30:56


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Assuming your codex allows terminators to take Land Raiders as dedicated transports (e.g. not Grey Knights, etc), then you may do the following:

YES, the terminators may have a land raider dedicated transport and YES, they do not have to start the game in it.

NO, another unit may NOT start the game embarked upon the terminators' dedicated transport. This violates the rules of dedicated transports. However, your command squad may start the game next to the land raider and embark during their movement phase.

YES, you can buy the razorback for the command squad even though they are too large to begin the game embarked upon it. (This varies by codex, but is generally true in marine codices). Note that the command squad cannot start in the razorback, and the razorback will follow the same restrictions as the land raider (detailed above).

EDIT: Triple-Ninja-Draigo'd

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/23 04:32:20


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

Command Squad = Apothecary + 4 Marines

The idea you're presenting is correct, even if the verbage is not. You can do exactly what you're proposing except calling the Landraider a dedicated transport for your Command Squad. It will have to start turn 1 outside the 'raider and use their movement to embark.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit




AZ

Ok that is what I thought. The 10 man command squad was a typo.

So let me get this straight...

I can do it but I need to have the command squad on foot, and on the start of my turn they just hop inside the Land Raider? And I still can have the termies DS.



 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit




AZ

Sweet thanks Guys!



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: