Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:04:56
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Overlord is a Barge wants to lay the smackdown on a Rhino, but cannot land close by because several Rhinos have castled up. Could the Overlord say fly 6" towards a Rhino so is 'over it' and move another 6" away from it, so like moving in a upside down V shape if that makes sense. Nothing says you have to move in a straight line at the Overlord is flying over the Rhino.
Example
R R R
-
O O (new position)
So the Overlord flies from the left and towards and over the centre Rhino, and carries on moving away and lands on the right. Lets say this total move is 12".
You don't have to go in a straight line do you? Just fly over. Is it legal?
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:11:35
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
There is no rule that you have to move in a straight line during the Movement Phase with the exception of if you were Tank Shocking/Ramming. As that is not the case sure, you can move 12" up to the Rhino then 12" back and still get those 3 Sweep Attack hits against it's rear armour.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:16:44
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
If you move flat out or turbo boost you have to move in a straight line as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:21:09
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
CrashCanuck wrote:There is no rule that you have to move in a straight line during the Movement Phase with the exception of if you were Tank Shocking/Ramming. As that is not the case sure, you can move 12" up to the Rhino then 12" back and still get those 3 Sweep Attack hits against it's rear armour.
It would be 12" in total in this case, 6" towards the centre Rhino and 6" away from the centre Rhino. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote:If you move flat out or turbo boost you have to move in a straight line as well.
A vehicle moving flat out just moves exactly as it was moving at crusing speed, it just moves 6" extra, so a vehicle moving at flat out speed can move in any direction pattern. Doesn't say you've got to move in a straight line for turbo boost either.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/29 17:23:52
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:23:52
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:If you move flat out or turbo boost you have to move in a straight line as well.
No such rule exists.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 17:24:28
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Ninja'd at the same time!
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 18:16:16
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
No, you can't. You actually have to go over the rhino. If you can do that (remember, you have to be 1" away from it, which means 2"...1" away from the beginning move and 1" away from the ending move), then you can sweep attack it. If there are vehicles behind it (or at the location where you are supposed to end up before going over it again) then you can't even do that.
With the exception of vendettas/stormravens, normal skimmers cannot have their hull overlap with another unit. They cannot "share" space much as you can overlap one infantry model over another. Thus, you cannot "go over" a rhino by merely having part of your vehicle over it. You have to be able to completely clear the rhino to go over it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 18:29:03
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
JY2 - it is perfectly legal to describe a curved path which goes over the vehicle and then back again. ENTRELY legal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/29 22:24:26
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Kevin949 wrote:If you move flat out or turbo boost you have to move in a straight line as well.
No such rule exists.
Ya, I see where I got hitched up on this. I was thinking of the bit (for bikes, anyway) where it says you have to end your move 18"+ away from your starting point to gain the cover save. For some reason I construed that as "straight line". Oddly enough though, there's no such limitation on vehicles moving flat out to get the cover save.
So, I stand corrected. Good to know. Though never having to deal with vehicles that moved over 6" prior to this codex update is lending to my...lack of understanding of vehicle rules so far.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 08:06:27
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So you can basically just camp a skimmer contesting an objective and whenever someone shoots it be like 'Oh yeah, I moved it 12" over there and 12" back to the same spot for my 4+ cover save'.
Great...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 08:13:14
Subject: Re:Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
It says skimmers can move over all enemy models if you don't land on them. So I suppose it's legal, but I doubt you'll get a cover save.
|
BlapBlapBlap: bringing idiocy and mischief where it should never set foot since 2011.
BlapBlapBlap wrote:What sort of idiot quotes themselves in their sigs? Who could possibly be that arrogant? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 08:30:30
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
IIRC it was 3rd edition where they had to move in a straight line and then there was a FAQ about 'circling' so you actually had to move your stuff.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 09:11:11
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
In a hole in New Zealand with internet access
|
All units count as inpassable terrain, and skimmers can move over impassable terrain and can land on it, so it could move 'over' the rino and back to its pervious point, get its save if it went fast enough. No problems.
@Arson fire. That move you describe would be such a douche thing to do. It someone does that to you. call them out! They have to do the move, state they did it in the movement phase or its pritty much cheating.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/30 09:11:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 09:38:13
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) YES you can make a move around in a circle and back to the start, getting a 4+ cover save if youre a fast skimmer moving over 12". This is because Move /= Displacement
2) That skimmer would be autohit in close combat, because close combat counts displacement from starting point
Kevin - you do have to be at least 18" in a straight line (displacement) from your starting point in order to get the turboboost cover save, however you can get there on a curved path - just not too curved a path, with 24" maximum movement allowed
So yes, a CCB could go flat out, 12" over a tank, 12" back to the starting point, and complete sweep attacks on it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 17:34:56
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Phototoxin wrote:IIRC it was 3rd edition where they had to move in a straight line and then there was a FAQ about 'circling' so you actually had to move your stuff.
There's still a mention of "circling" your vehicles like that, but if I remember correctly it only affects what assaulting units need to roll to hit the vehicle. So if you moved in a circle and stopped in the exact same spot, regardless of how "fast", I *think* that assaulting units still hit automatically.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 17:48:35
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
4th edition turbo-boost was required in a Straight line(not turning at all, no passing through difficult terrain).
Skimers in 4th could not claim the "glancing reduction" if they circled(of course they received their reduction for moving any more than 6" from their starting point).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 17:52:51
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I've never not played 5th.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 20:05:11
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I was just specifying that these were actual portions of the 4th edition rules; I don't remember the 3rd and no longer have that book.
At any rate it does not matter excepting for determining how fast a vehicle moved when assaulting it, and claming the Cover save for turbo-boosting(which requires an end point at least 18" from the start point).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 21:10:54
Subject: Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Arson Fire wrote:So you can basically just camp a skimmer contesting an objective and whenever someone shoots it be like 'Oh yeah, I moved it 12" over there and 12" back to the same spot for my 4+ cover save'.
Great...
Yup....but it would still get auto-hit in close-combat as CC depends on displacement not distance moved.
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) YES you can make a move around in a circle and back to the start, getting a 4+ cover save if youre a fast skimmer moving over 12". This is because Move /= Displacement
2) That skimmer would be autohit in close combat, because close combat counts displacement from starting point
This, this right here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/11/30 21:38:32
Subject: Re:Is this a legal move?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Although, if your plan is to move around in a circle to get the cover save, nudge the vehicle a very little bit and CC goes from auto-hits to needing a 4+.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|