Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 16:57:14
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Alrigh, Big Bomm seems to be used in movement phase. The codex reads, "Place the large blast template over a unit it has passed over during the movement phase." It can also be used during when turbo boosted.
So, am I wrong in misinterpreting this as a movement phase weapon? Typically turbo boost sacrifices any turn that unit would take during shooting or assault phase.
If it is a movement phase weapon, is it ethical to fly over some infantry (without boost) to drop a Big Bomm on your way to suicide a tank, fire Rokkits at the tank, then assault the tank? I know it seems a little extreme... but, assault rules state that a model must assault a unit it engaged in the Shooting Phase.
Well, what do you think? I want your opinion before I try this in a game...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 17:02:30
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Sounds fine to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 17:06:42
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
And if you destroy the tank with the Big Bomb or the Rokkits, and it's a transport, you can then assault the unit that comes out of the tank instead. It's not excessive, it's using the unit to the full extent of its abilities. Just don't expect it to survive very long.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 17:07:53
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Perfectly legal. Since it is dropped in the movement phase, there is no restriction on dropping a Big Bomb on one unit and shooting/assaulting a different one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 17:48:01
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Yep your fine!
|
Waaagh! Skarshak - Back after being lost in the Warp, an' ready to Krump sum 'eads! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 19:02:02
Subject: Re:Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I never expect Deffkoptas to survive very long... I mean, look at the dam' thing! Even if it doesn't get hit, its gonna rattle itself apart.
All fluff aside, I see potential in big bomms.
Ok, I'm kinda new, does a unit need to go in a straght line. For example, the scenario outlined in my first post... but say, the infantry unit is withing 9 inches or so of the vehicle, and the kopta is within 6 inches of the infantry.
Could the kopta fly over the infantry, drop the bomm, change direction to move towads the vehicle (to get into assault range), then fire rokkit, then assault the vehicle (if needed), all in one turn?
This is all assuming, of course, the Kopta moves only 12 inches or less for movement, even while changing direction.
Just, I'm starting to like Koptas and Bomm combo. I might only haveone of them, and the bomb may only get a kill or two, but, heck, if it kills 2 marines, its worth its points. The Kopta is definatly worth it if it can kill a tank already, getting more is just a bonus. On the otherhand, I might be misinterpretng the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/09 19:15:42
Subject: Re:Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You do not need to travel in a straight line to drop the bomm over a target. The second option in your above post would be fine as I see it. The only thing that I would still see as up in the air would be whether that infantry unit you bommed counts as your shooting target (which would then not allow you to target the vehicle). I don't believe it would since it occurs at the end of the koptas movement (per FAQ 1.1).
Keep in mind that this is a large blast (5") which automatically scatters d6", if you've only moved 12" with your kopta you may very well hit yourself with your bomm.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 03:03:54
Subject: Re:Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
But Big Bomm isn't a shooting phase weapon, its a movement phase weapon. How exactly does the FAQ read? Automatically Appended Next Post: Q: Do you resolve a bigbomm attack at the end of the
Deffkoptas move? (p48)
A: Yes.
Q: Does the Ork’s Ballistic Skill reduce the distance a
bigbomm scatters? (p48)
A: No.
Q: Does a bigbomm count as a barrage weapon for
working out the targets cover save? (p48)
A: Yes.
Never mind... I found it...
Its at the end of the move of the Deffkopta, not the Ork players movement phase. Therefore, still not within the shooting phase.
So... it can do all three...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/11 06:49:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 18:43:59
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
That's the least for a 85 point model which dies if looked at in a funny way, isn't it?
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 20:20:05
Subject: Deffkoptas can use three attacks in one turn?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Jidmah wrote:That's the least for a 85 point model which dies if looked at in a funny way, isn't it? 
as long as it eats more than 85 points before the said look is given to him... its a good unit.
|
|
 |
 |
|