Switch Theme:

Necron Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





KC, MO

So, If I have Four Squads of ten Necron Warriors in reserve, and three monoliths. Do I roll For Reserves to see if they are available to come in through the monoliths, or do i just bring them in and roll for the squads left in reserve? Do I have to decide which monolith they come in through before i roll? I am really confused.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Monolith has to already be on the board before squads can deploy from it.

In other words, you can roll in whatever order you want, but if you get a warrior squad in at the same time as your monoliths, it's walking.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Foxy_Grandpa wrote:So, If I have Four Squads of ten Necron Warriors in reserve, and three monoliths. Do I roll For Reserves to see if they are available to come in through the monoliths, or do i just bring them in and roll for the squads left in reserve? Do I have to decide which monolith they come in through before i roll? I am really confused.


You first roll for reserves as normal.
Any warrior units that arrive from reserve can be deployed by wlaking onto the board from the board edge as normal.
If you have any monoliths on the table you can decide if the warriors arriving from reserve are going to come in through the monolith.
In that case you would specify which monolith they will come i through and as long as it hasn't used the eternity gate the unit of warriors can now 'disembark' from the portal of the monolith.
You do not have to decide which monolith they will arrive through before you roll for reserves, since in fact you have to roll for reserves at the start of the Movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/09 20:45:46


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





If the Monolith is already on the field, you do not have to roll for reserves, you can simply just bring it onto the table through the Eternity Gate.

"At the start of the Movement phase, choose one friendly unengaged non-vehicle Necron unit on the battlefield or in reserve. That unit immediately phases out from its current position and 'disembarks' from the Monolith's portal."

I'm sure some people will intentionally misread this rule, but please note that there is absolutely no mention of rolling for reserves if you use this method. This is one of the reasons why the Monolith is still 200 points.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





KC, MO

see, that's how I read it. I didn't think i had to roll at all for the monolith portal, so i was confused about the remainder of the units.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, if the monolith is already on the table, you can come in without rolling.

If the monolith and warriors are both in reserve, you must roll for both units, and if you get both, the warriors must walk on (ie not use that monolith's gate)

I'm 99% sure you can't opt to not roll for the warriors that are in reserve.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

rigeld2 wrote:I'm 99% sure you can't opt to not roll for the warriors that are in reserve.

Agreed. The Monolith's rules allow you to come in without rolling but they don't allow you to put off rolling so you can come in later through a Monolith.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Ghaz wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:I'm 99% sure you can't opt to not roll for the warriors that are in reserve.

Agreed. The Monolith's rules allow you to come in without rolling but they don't allow you to put off rolling so you can come in later through a Monolith.


The problem is that you must roll for reserves at the start of the Movement phase before moving any unit.

But the Monolith rule says at the start of the Movement phase choose a friendly unit. It immediately phases out and 'dismbarks' from the portal.

But units can only embark and disembark in the movement phase and units that disembark count as moving.

So a reserve unit leaving reserves and 'disembarking' from the monolith would do so in the movement phase but before that, at the start of the movement phase you must roll for any reserve units to see if they arrive except that at the start of the movementn phase (the second start of the phase?) you can phase a unit in from reserves and 'disembark' it from the portal but disembarking is done in the movement phase which is of course after the start of the phase which is when you must roll for reserves.....

And so on. And at this point both your head and the game explode.

Clearly a FAQ is needed here.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





I think a good rule of thumb is that whenever two situations are supposed to occur simultaneously (eg, at the start of the movement phase), then the controller of those actions decides which one takes precedence.

Problem solved.
   
Made in ie
Freaky Flayed One




time wizard wrote:
Ghaz wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:I'm 99% sure you can't opt to not roll for the warriors that are in reserve.

Agreed. The Monolith's rules allow you to come in without rolling but they don't allow you to put off rolling so you can come in later through a Monolith.


The problem is that you must roll for reserves at the start of the Movement phase before moving any unit.

But the Monolith rule says at the start of the Movement phase choose a friendly unit. It immediately phases out and 'dismbarks' from the portal.

But units can only embark and disembark in the movement phase and units that disembark count as moving.

So a reserve unit leaving reserves and 'disembarking' from the monolith would do so in the movement phase but before that, at the start of the movement phase you must roll for any reserve units to see if they arrive except that at the start of the movementn phase (the second start of the phase?) you can phase a unit in from reserves and 'disembark' it from the portal but disembarking is done in the movement phase which is of course after the start of the phase which is when you must roll for reserves.....

And so on. And at this point both your head and the game explode.

Clearly a FAQ is needed here.


I think that's taking the rules far too literally. The Monolith is clearly intended to allow you to pull units from reserve (almost) whenever you want. Since it occurs at the start of the movement phase, you can choose to do so instead of rolling for reserves. The inverted commas around the word 'disembarks' imply it's not actual disembarkation. Rather, you simply treat it as disembarking for where the models are placed in relation to the portal (ie, within 2").

Honestly, I don't think this needs a FAQ. The rule is fairly clear cut.

Necrons (W/D/L): 4/1/0
Reset with the new Codex. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

I'm not going to say it was intended, but it is what is written.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Dytalus wrote:Honestly, I don't think this needs a FAQ. The rule is fairly clear cut.


See, it's the "fairly clear cut" that I have the problem with.

I would just like to see 2 points being addressed.

1. Can you bring reserve units throught the portal without rolling for them? Remember it's any non-vehicle Necron unit.

2. Since you're not rolling for reserves, are the units 'phasing out' and 'disembarking' from the monolith not arriving from reserve? And if so can you bring them into play on turn 1 when no other reserves from any other army in the game can arrive? Is this really what the rule allows?

That's why I think a FAQ would be in order.


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





time wizard wrote:And if so can you bring them into play on turn 1 when no other reserves from any other army in the game can arrive? Is this really what the rule allows?

I see no reason why this would not be allowed. It is the start of a movement phase. That's when it works.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

somerandomdude wrote:
time wizard wrote:And if so can you bring them into play on turn 1 when no other reserves from any other army in the game can arrive? Is this really what the rule allows?

I see no reason why this would not be allowed. It is the start of a movement phase. That's when it works.


It's not a bad method to leave a unit off the table during deployment to protect from alpha strikes. It's a shame that while disembarking from the monolith's portal counts as jumping out of a moving vehicle, you can't do it after the monolith moves. That would really aid in using the monolith as a mobility mechanism.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





tetrisphreak wrote:It's a shame that while disembarking from the monolith's portal counts as jumping out of a moving vehicle, you can't do it after the monolith moves. That would really aid in using the monolith as a mobility mechanism.


Don't have my book with me... does it actually say this? Considering you "disembark" at the start of the phase (which must occur before the Monolith moves), what makes you count as leaving a moving vehicle?
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

somerandomdude wrote:Don't have my book with me... does it actually say this? Considering you "disembark" at the start of the phase (which must occur before the Monolith moves), what makes you count as leaving a moving vehicle?


The rule in the Necron codex says that the move through the portal is treated as disembarking from a vehicle that moved at cruising speed.

tetrisphreak wrote: It's a shame that while disembarking from the monolith's portal counts as jumping out of a moving vehicle, you can't do it after the monolith moves. That would really aid in using the monolith as a mobility mechanism.


It's not because it counts as jumpoing out of a moving vehicle that prohipits you from doing it after the Monolith moves.
It is the fact that the rule says to chose the unengaged non-vehicle unit at the start of the Movement phase.
Once you move the Monolith (or any other unit for that matter) the start of the turn is over so you could no longer use the dimensional corridor.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

There's no need for a FAQ when you remember that specific > general. The rules for the Monolith's 'Dimensional Corridor' says that you can choose a unit in reserve and have it immediately disembark from the Monolith's portal. If you have to make a reserves roll, then its not immediate, is it? The rules for the Monolith make no reference to making a roll and as the more specific rules they take precedence.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Somewhere.....I hope.

TWizard: it says treat it as disembarking a vehicle that has moved at combat speedT

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 05:00:08


Death is for quitters
and Jaws of the World Wolf is for pansies



 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

time wizard wrote:
It's not because it counts as jumpoing out of a moving vehicle that prohipits you from doing it after the Monolith moves.
It is the fact that the rule says to chose the unengaged non-vehicle unit at the start of the Movement phase.
Once you move the Monolith (or any other unit for that matter) the start of the turn is over so you could no longer use the dimensional corridor.


I know that. it just would be a stronger mechanic if the monolith 'porting' was done during the movement phase, rather than 'at the start of'.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

time wizard wrote:1. Can you bring reserve units throught the portal without rolling for them?
2. Since you're not rolling for reserves, are the units 'phasing out' and 'disembarking' from the monolith not arriving from reserve? And if so can you bring them into play on turn 1 when no other reserves from any other army in the game can arrive? Is this really what the rule allows?
I have run across similar order of operations issues with rolling for a Weirdboy's psychic power and declaring a Waaagh! at the beginning of the Shooting Phase. As rolling for reserves and using the Dimensional Corridor are independent of each other and occur at the same time, then YOU choose the order in which you wish to do them. You can even use the Corridor on Turn 1. If you want as many of your Reserve units in as soon as possible, I would recommend pulling as many through your Monoliths as possible and then rolling for the remainder. As few, roll first, and then decide if those who come in do so from the board edge or the Corridor.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 05:58:22


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

The waaagh is declared during the shooting phase, not at the start of. There shouldn't be any conflict with weirdboy powers there at all.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Ghenghis Jon wrote: As rolling for reserves and using the Dimensional Corridor are independent of each other and occur at the same time, then YOU choose the order in which you wish to do them.


I agree with the specific>general.
I can agree that you can port necrons from reserve through the portal without rolling for them.
I'll even agree that the necron has an option to do so on turn 1.
All of these make this ability very useful for necron players and something for other arrmies to be wary of.

The problem I have with the player choosing the order of operations is that it could lead to the following:

Necron player has 5 necron unit and 2 monoliths in reserve.
He also has 1 monolith on the table.
on turn 2 the player rolls for reserves with both monoliths and 1 necron unit arriving.
The monoliths are placed via deep strike and the necron unit walks on from the table edge.

The necron player can now use the dimensional corridor to bring in 3 additional necron units that are still in reserve, 1 in through each of the monoliths.

This is because the Necron player can choose the order of operations and as such rolls for reserves first and then uses the dimensional corridor.

This just doesn't sound right, but follows the rules. Correct?


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Not quite, per bgb faq:

Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that
occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on
the turn they arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Being able to use the monolith as a drop-pod delivery system for any unit in your army (even ones already on the table, if that order of operations is correct) makes it amazing. Lychguard or c'tan suffer from mobility issues when they're on foot, being able to deep strike a monolith in enemy lines followed by a star god coming out of the door would be an epic combo...as long as you got your 4+ reserve roll on turn 2. Orikan the diviner or zandrekh would come in handy for this tactic.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Happyjew wrote:Not quite, per bgb faq:

Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that
occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on
the turn they arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise.


The dimensional corridor is not used at the start of the turn, it is used at the start of the movement phase.
The FAQ only addresses abilities that occur at the start of the turn.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

Yes. I would even say that the 1 Necron unit that had to enter from Reserves could even be brought on through the Corridor of the Monollth that was already on the table, not just the table edge.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

tetrisphreak wrote:Being able to use the monolith as a drop-pod delivery system for any unit in your army (even ones already on the table, if that order of operations is correct) makes it amazing. Lychguard or c'tan suffer from mobility issues when they're on foot, being able to deep strike a monolith in enemy lines followed by a star god coming out of the door would be an epic combo...as long as you got your 4+ reserve roll on turn 2.


Are you talking about the 4+ reserve roll for the monolith? Because according to rule, if you bring a unit in reserve into play through the dimensional corridor you are not rolling for it, you simply portal it through.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ghenghis Jon wrote:Yes. I would even say that the 1 Necron unit that had to enter from Reserves could even be brought on through the Corridor of the Monollth that was already on the table, not just the table edge.


Good point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 16:16:21


I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

time wizard wrote:
tetrisphreak wrote:Being able to use the monolith as a drop-pod delivery system for any unit in your army (even ones already on the table, if that order of operations is correct) makes it amazing. Lychguard or c'tan suffer from mobility issues when they're on foot, being able to deep strike a monolith in enemy lines followed by a star god coming out of the door would be an epic combo...as long as you got your 4+ reserve roll on turn 2.


Are you talking about the 4+ reserve roll for the monolith? Because according to rule, if you bring a unit in reserve into play through the dimensional corridor you are not rolling for it, you simply portal it through.





No sir, i was just referring to the 4+ roll for a monolith to come in from reserves, deep strike, then the other units whether their reserve rolls passed or not could port through the door (now clearly on the opponent's side of the table).

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

tetrisphreak wrote:
time wizard wrote:
tetrisphreak wrote:Being able to use the monolith as a drop-pod delivery system for any unit in your army (even ones already on the table, if that order of operations is correct) makes it amazing. Lychguard or c'tan suffer from mobility issues when they're on foot, being able to deep strike a monolith in enemy lines followed by a star god coming out of the door would be an epic combo...as long as you got your 4+ reserve roll on turn 2.


Are you talking about the 4+ reserve roll for the monolith? Because according to rule, if you bring a unit in reserve into play through the dimensional corridor you are not rolling for it, you simply portal it through.



No sir, i was just referring to the 4+ roll for a monolith to come in from reserves, deep strike, then the other units whether their reserve rolls passed or not could port through the door (now clearly on the opponent's side of the table).


Okay! Very cool! I thought that was what you meant, I was just asking to be sure.

All in all, makes the Monolith a very underpriced unit for the laundry list of abilities and options it can give to the necron force.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Time Wizard, you do realize that the start of the turn IS the start of the movement phase, right? There's actually an argument going on in another thread about this.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/414542.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 16:45:43


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: