Last night I played in a game with a friend, using Tyranids vs. Necrons. At one point, a unit of Destroyers and a Necron Monolith open fire at a unit of Shrikes out in the open. Here's the sequence of events:
1) The Necron Destroyers, at the edge of their firing range, are afraid they will lose their target if the Monolith fires first. Therefore, the Destroyers open fire. Through a series of poor rolls, they only manage to inflict two wounds total on six Shrikes.
2) After the Destroyers have finished firing, the Necron Monolith declares it will fire its Particle Whip at the Shrikes. Through a very poor scatter roll, it only manages to hit a single model, which it duly wounds.
Here's the question: Can I allocate the wound from the Monolith to the already wounded Shrike, thereby losing only a single wound instead of losing an unwounded Shrike to Instant Death? I say I can, my opponent says I can't. Here's his reasoning:
BRB, Page 26 under the heading "Units of Multiple-Wound Models"
"If amongst the unsaved wounds there are some that inflict instant death, the player must first, if possible, remove one unwounded model for each unsaved wound that causes instant death, and then proceed as normal (this is done for each group of identical multiple-wound models). This rule is designed to stop players avoiding single wounds by putting them on a model that has suffered instant death anyway."
My opponent believes the end result of the shooting would be five models left standing from the unit, with one model vaporized and the other with only one wound remaining, because of the paragraph I just quoted. My argument is that that quote refers to units that have mixed firing, such as a Space Marine Tactical Squad with nine bolters and a Missile Launcher, and does NOT apply when you're switching fire between units. In the case of the Tactical Squad, you would apply the Missile Launcher's wound first, instantly killing a Shrike. After that, the bolters would have their chance to wound as well, applying a wound per hit. Because the Destroyers and the Monolith are NOT in the same squad, the Monolith's shot can be applied to the wounded Shrike as normal.
What do you guys think? Thanks in advance!
Zarry