Switch Theme:

Teleport Homer Questions?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





New York

So recently i have been re-reading every piece of wargear, unit entry, well everything in my Templar Codex, and i have a question. With the teleport homer, how do you "put it on the table."?

Also when it says it doesnt scatter. "If Terminators wish to teleport onto the battlefield via Deep Strike and choose to do so within 6" of the model carrying the homer, then they won't scatter." (Pg. 28)

Does this mean if the unit is within 6" of my unit carrying the homer they are just there?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 23:55:14


I used to be a loyalist like you, but then I BLOOD! BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!

Win/Loss/Draw
4/13/1
Overall 3/10/1
1850 League 1/7/1
Overall: 1/3/0
1500 Tournament: 1/2/0  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

If theres works like other ones it an upgrade a model can take, if its taken you measure from the model carrying the teleport homer.

If you choose to deep strike the terminators via teleport and you place them within 6" that where they are.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 19:21:12


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





New York

Alright cool thanks.

I used to be a loyalist like you, but then I BLOOD! BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!

Win/Loss/Draw
4/13/1
Overall 3/10/1
1850 League 1/7/1
Overall: 1/3/0
1500 Tournament: 1/2/0  
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Basically:

You place the deepstriking models as normal, then measure if they are 6 inches from the model with the teleport homer. If they are, you treat the deep strike as a "hit" and because of that, no scatter.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Just out of curiosity, does the initial model need to be within 6", or does the entire unit?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot






UK

I don't know about the templar codex, but I'd assume that its an upgrade for the squad srg. So the squad deepstrikes (in deepstrike formation) within 6" of the srg carrying the tele homer.

Stick to the shadows - Strike from the darkness - Victorus aut Mortis - Ravenguard 1st Company 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Initial model, because you dont place the rest of the unit until *after* they scatter.

Remember you CANNOT measure this 6" before placing the model down - if you are outside of 6", then tough...
   
Made in gb
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot






UK

I think the point of a teleport homer is that the models don't scatter when they land within 6" of the model carrying the homer.
Are you sure you can't measure the 6" before? it's not a shooting attack or an assault move, it happens within your own movement phase, whats to stop you measuring before you place?

Stick to the shadows - Strike from the darkness - Victorus aut Mortis - Ravenguard 1st Company 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





s.j.mccartney wrote:I think the point of a teleport homer is that the models don't scatter when they land within 6" of the model carrying the homer.
Are you sure you can't measure the 6" before? it's not a shooting attack or an assault move, it happens within your own movement phase, whats to stop you measuring before you place?

Because pre-measuring isn't allowed, and you place the initial marker then measure 6" if I remember the wording correctly.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




s.j.mccartney wrote:I think the point of a teleport homer is that the models don't scatter when they land within 6" of the model carrying the homer.
Are you sure you can't measure the 6" before? it's not a shooting attack or an assault move, it happens within your own movement phase, whats to stop you measuring before you place?


The rules, mainly

You can only measure when required to, or when explicitly allowed to. Teleport homers do neither.

You CANNOT premeasure this 6"
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

However in a previous turn, you can measure your movement for the unit with the homer, and then decide not to move them.

You could get a good idea of where 6 inches is then.

P.S. what is a "Telepoer" :-P

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/08 21:58:02


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

A "telepoer" is uh let's see... "Tele" means distant, and "Poer" is a last name so it means "distant last name"


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Or a typo.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/08 22:29:22


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





New York

Yea yea a typo, thanks to a massive glare on my screen and a general lack of sleep. and awesome this gives me a devilish new battle plan to cause chaos,,,,,WAIT NO THATS HERE-

I used to be a loyalist like you, but then I BLOOD! BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!

Win/Loss/Draw
4/13/1
Overall 3/10/1
1850 League 1/7/1
Overall: 1/3/0
1500 Tournament: 1/2/0  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: