Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:19:02
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Toronto, Ontario
|
Had this happen yesterday, felt like maybe it wasn't correct?
I'll clarify that I'm very new to the game and don't have a good grasp on all of the rules yet.
DC with Lemartes and JP assault squad of Ork Boyz attached to a Warboss.
DC rips apart the boyz, but none are in base contact with the Warboss, 2 boyz and the WB are left over.
WB rolls... 1's literally, all of them 1's. It was brutal.
So after the assault, I'm the clear victor, the orks retreat, and the WB is caught up in a sweeping advance, which I win the roll for.
Is the WB immediately destroyed? It seemed... Too easy.
Also the Ork player is just as new as I am, perhaps we missed something?
|
 The Baal Punchers, Powerfisting Nobz since 2011
Hell hath no fury like Lemartes scorne. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:26:39
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
yep. That seems right.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:30:17
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Renegade Inquisitor de Marche
|
This kind of question should go into YMDC...
For future reference.
On Topic-It seems right AFAIK...
|
Dakka Bingo! By Ouze
"You are the best at flying things"-Kanluwen
"Further proof that Purple is a fething brilliant super villain " -KingCracker
"Purp.. Im pretty sure I have a gun than can reach you...."-Nicorex
"That's not really an apocalypse. That's just Europe."-Grakmar
"almost as good as winning free cake at the tea drinking contest for an Englishman." -Reds8n
Seal up your lips and give no words but mum.
Equip, Reload. Do violence.
Watch for Gerry. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:37:30
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Correct, the Warboss is destroyed as are any Boyz that were with him.
This represents the Warboss turning tail and getting run down. The Marines catch him and rip his head off.
its just one of those things that happens when orks are brought down to no longer being fearless and they lose combat by alot.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:56:28
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Toronto, Ontario
|
Ah okay. I'm not used to having effective units. I was very concerned I had wronged him. Well damn. Thanks for the heads up.
|
 The Baal Punchers, Powerfisting Nobz since 2011
Hell hath no fury like Lemartes scorne. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/17 05:23:17
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
This is what boss poles are for
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 04:19:35
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Jasonobi wrote:Ah okay. I'm not used to having effective units. I was very concerned I had wronged him. Well damn. Thanks for the heads up.
After a couple years I've finally started winning a LOT more often than losing. So I completely understand the sentiment. When the turnaround occurred I had to stop and make sure I wasn't cheating somehow.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 04:56:57
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jasonobi wrote:DC rips apart the boyz, but none are in base contact with the Warboss, 2 boyz and the WB are left over. WB rolls... 1's literally, all of them 1's. It was brutal. The underlined part above is not correct, To clarify: The Warboss is an IC, and he can not attack unless he is in base contact with the enemy at the beginning of the round of combat. Also you can not attack an IC unless you are in base contact with him, or not in base contact with anyone, but within 2 inches of someone in base contact with the IC. If the IC was not in base contact he should not be attacking.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 06:51:03
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 04:57:49
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Not like it mattered
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 05:09:32
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I know it did not matter, but he said he was "new to the game and don't have a good grasp on all of the rules yet."
I was trying to clarify a mistake that was made, for learning purposes.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 06:25:50
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Toronto, Ontario
|
Actually I had no Idea that was the rule. SO an IC, even if part of a unit, cannot attack unless is it in base contact with the enemy itself?
I take it this is to prevent hiding him in the back of say... a mob of boyz so he cannot be personally injured?
ANd yes! very much matters! do explain, this is exactly the stuff we have no idea about how to properly sort it out.
|
 The Baal Punchers, Powerfisting Nobz since 2011
Hell hath no fury like Lemartes scorne. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 06:34:43
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Correct, ICs can only attack, and be attacked, against/by models in base to base(they can be attacked by RnF within 2" of models in base to base)
It means that ICs can avoid other ICs and things that might cause instant death just by not being in base contact with models with, or within 2" of models with, weapons that might cause them grevious harm.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 06:44:08
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jasonobi wrote:Actually I had no Idea that was the rule. SO an IC, even if part of a unit, cannot attack unless is it in base contact with the enemy itself?
I take it this is to prevent hiding him in the back of say... a mob of boyz so he cannot be personally injured?
ANd yes! very much matters! do explain, this is exactly the stuff we have no idea about how to properly sort it out.
Correct. When it comes time to strike blows, ICs are treated as a separate unit. Any excess wounds cause to the unit will not go to the IC. In order to hurt the IC, you must direct attacks at the IC with models that were engaged at the start of combat (after all moves/pile-in/etc) have been done.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 07:29:03
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
If the death company charged, the Warboss would be forced to move into base contact, and he would even push boyz out of the way to do so. So unless there is some serious terrain blocking going on, or the warboss is further than 6" away from the closest DC model, he would have been in base to base with something,
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 07:32:11
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Kelne
Lost
|
I feel your pain mate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 09:06:35
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
P49 for ICs in combat, FAQ which confirms that defenders react and pile in forces ICs to move first, elbowing other models out of the way as needed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 09:49:24
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Jaysus news to me too, thanks.
So in this pic, the Warboss could not have attacked the WL since he wasnt in btb with him?
How can he attack him then and avoid getting instagibbed by the WL str 10? No way?
During the earlier rounds there was a ring of Boyz around the WLs with the Warboss hanging back putting in blows himself. Played wrong?
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:15:56
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Absolutely no way. P49, ICs are a separate unit when resolving attacks. You can only attack and be attacked if you are in btb with a member of the unit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 11:16:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:19:24
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Agreed with Nos, if you wanna get up close and personal, than ya gotta risk bein squished.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:21:24
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The only exception i could think of, off hand, is Lucius the Eternal in the 3.5 codex. He had a special rule that let him make attacks as if he were a non-IC (in essence)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:36:16
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Thanks.
And just to be sure, if the Nob was in the same position, he could attack because hes within 2 inches of another member of his squad in btb with the WL? Automatically Appended Next Post: But couldnt be hit himself by the WL?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 11:36:44
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 12:23:04
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The nob is a member of the unit, so can strike in CC as long as he is in btb with, or within 2" of a model in btb with, an enemy model.
The Wraithlord is unable to single out members of the unit, so you are able to allocate wounds (and remove casualties) as per the usual rules - so only if you want to would you normally allocate wounds to the nob
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 14:20:32
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jidmah wrote:If the death company charged, the Warboss would be forced to move into base contact, and he would even push boyz out of the way to do so, No permission is given to move through a space occupied by friendly bases. The Warboss can not "push boyz out of the way to do so" he does however have to try and Pile In first, if possible. If that is not possible you must move Boyz out of the way. following the Pile In rules, as to make a path for the Warboss to Pile In as soon as possible.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 14:20:56
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 15:44:12
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
If you're nitpicking, care to explain how you move boyz out of base contact while still abiding to the pile in rules?
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 15:51:41
Subject: Re:NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ratius wrote:Jaysus news to me too, thanks.
So in this pic, the Warboss could not have attacked the WL since he wasnt in btb with him?
How can he attack him then and avoid getting instagibbed by the WL str 10? No way?
Well the WL can't attack him either since they aren't engaged with him.
During the earlier rounds there was a ring of Boyz around the WLs with the Warboss hanging back putting in blows himself. Played wrong?
Yup. You can't do that.
Jidmah wrote:If you're nitpicking, care to explain how you move boyz out of base contact while still abiding to the pile in rules?
Check the FAQ in the main rulebook.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 15:53:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 15:59:01
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Pile in rules force you to move into base contact if possible. The FAQ forces you to move out of base contact if possible, to make room for the warboss.
Game breaks.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:05:07
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Jidmah wrote:Pile in rules force you to move into base contact if possible. The FAQ forces you to move out of base contact if possible, to make room for the warboss.
Game breaks.
Nah, you just resolve them one after the other. You have to move out of the way of the Warboss, THEN you have to pile in; but of course it's not possible to move into base contact if the Warboss has stolen your spot. Game doesn't break at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 20:01:53
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jidmah wrote:Pile in rules force you to move into base contact if possible. The FAQ forces you to move out of base contact if possible, to make room for the warboss. Game breaks.
Game does not break. I will illustrate: In the Illustration 1-3 are in B2B with the enemy. As per the Pile in rules you need to move the unengaged models in to B2B if possible, and the IC "Must move before other friendly models in order to get into Base Contact with an enemy if at all possible" P.49 BRB So we try to move the IC (#7), not possible yet. So we move Ork #6 into Enemy #2, then we move the Warboss (#7) into B2B with Enemy 3. Then we move Ork #4 into B@B with Enemy #1, and Ork 5 into B2B if possible, if not, to within 2 inches of someone who is in B2B.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/18 20:04:19
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 21:21:31
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - remember that is not the only rule in play"
"A: If it is possible to move friendly models out of the way to make space for the Independent Character then they must move first. Followed by the Independent Character and finally the rest of the unit can move. If the Independent Character is still unable to make it into base contact he must move as close to the enemy as possible."
Gives you explicit licence to move contrary to the assault rules when Pile In / Defenders React
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 21:28:17
Subject: NEWBIE QUESTION - Warboss caught in sweeping advance? Destroyed?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Right, you have to move #6 out of the way to make space for the Independent Character
In this case #6 must move first.
It does not contradict the Pile In / Defenders React at all.
"they must move first" is referring to "If it is possible to move friendly models out of the way"
So the Friendly models must move first and move out of the way and into B2B as to not break any rules. Then you can move the IC once they have enough space to move.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|