Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 10:42:34
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
For Shrike Bomb Silliness can you now take a unit of 10 TH/SS termies + Shrike and Infiltrate them into 2 diferent spots opposed to keeping the unit as 1?
Q: When Infiltrating a unit of 10 Space Marines with
the Infiltrate special rule, can both Combat Squads be
deployed in different locations? In addition, does this
still only count as a single deployment? (p51)
A: Yes to both questions.
I don't see any reason they can't, as it's considered a single deployment. However I'd like a definitive answer as some of the new FAQ's are a bit abase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:24:08
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Looks like it - as the other BRB FAQ assigns Shrike to the unit before deployment, meaning the 10 TH/SS are part of "his" unit, so you then "on deployment" split them into 2
Still fairly terrible, as i quite like TH/SS out of transports - i can kill them very easily with weight of fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 11:27:56
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Never said it was good, however it is fun and gimmicky. Thanks for the reply Nos, I feel the same way about it.
Both in it can be dropped easily with weight of fire, and that it seems legit from a rules standpoint.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 13:36:23
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't believe you can. Once you Combat Squad, the other half is no longer 'part of his squad' and thus will no longer 'benefit from the infiltrate USR'.
He never gives the models the USR, he just lets his squad benefit from the ability.
Otherwise when does it stop?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 13:53:06
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It does count as a single deployment however, even though you're combat squadding and placing them in two different locations.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:37:27
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
COredump - they are joined to him before they split, and gain the ability to infiltrate at this point. Nothing says they then lose it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:42:04
Subject: Re:C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Actually, that's. . . pretty good.
Those TH/SS Termies have Fleet from Shrike's Chapter Tactics, remember? Deploy them 12.00001 inches away in area terrain, move, Run, and you'll have a very good shot at being close enough to assault. First-turn Assault Termie charge? OUCH.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:52:33
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Only if they are entirely out of LOS of my entire army. As soon as I see you have 1 unit of 10 TH/SS termis, which can ONLY be going on foot (realistically - you're unlikely to have also bought 2 LR for them), you are not getting that close to my army.
AS such you are then 18" away and cannot first turn assault.
You're actually better off in a LR - 12"+3.5" deploy + D6" run +6" assault means you have a very good chance of a first turn assault, especially in Spearhead (minimum distance apart 18")
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:58:01
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Only if they are entirely out of LOS of my entire army. As soon as I see you have 1 unit of 10 TH/SS termis, which can ONLY be going on foot (realistically - you're unlikely to have also bought 2 LR for them), you are not getting that close to my army.
AS such you are then 18" away and cannot first turn assault.
You're actually better off in a LR - 12"+3.5" deploy + D6" run +6" assault means you have a very good chance of a first turn assault, especially in Spearhead (minimum distance apart 18")
If they're 2" deep in Area Terrain in all directions, they're out of LOS of everything, aren't they? Or am I remembering 4th Edition terrain rules again?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 16:58:03
Subject: Re:C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It depends if there's a break (in terms of game timing) between the moment you split them, and when they are placed on the table. If they aren't actually 2 separate units until they're fully on the table, would this then also work for Dante's no scatter ability?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 17:02:18
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Infiltrating landraiders, Oh noes! FAQ just makes more questions, normal GW policy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 17:08:35
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bezerker - actually youre misremembering fantasy 7th ed, where if you were 2" deep in forests you were out of LOS
In 4th edition you needed to eitehr be more than 6" inside, OR simply behind it.
Hence the absurdity of 4th ed area terrain. 1" thick "area terrain" wall? you cannot be seen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 22:06:27
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Bezerker - actually youre misremembering fantasy 7th ed, where if you were 2" deep in forests you were out of LOS
In 4th edition you needed to eitehr be more than 6" inside, OR simply behind it.
Hence the absurdity of 4th ed area terrain. 1" thick "area terrain" wall? you cannot be seen.
Thanks for the correction!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 22:06:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 23:33:22
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
juraigamer wrote:Infiltrating landraiders, Oh noes! FAQ just makes more questions, normal GW policy.
Wait... what?? Landraiders can now infiltrate/outflank from shrike? ummm... really?
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/18 23:41:35
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The idea being:
Join a full 10 man squad of Terminators with Shrike - they not get infiltrate
This isnt lost when you CS, so you CS one half (without Shrike) and place it in a dedicated LR
You then note that Infiltrating allows a LR to OUTFLANK (not infiltrate, thankfully) as it is their dedicated transport
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 00:24:51
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:COredump - they are joined to him before they split, and gain the ability to infiltrate at this point. Nothing says they then lose it.
But they never gain an ability. Shrike has a rule that lets his unit infiltrate with him. Once they leave, they are no longer part of his unit.
If his power was "give one unit the Infiltrate USR" then it might be possible.
For the same reason, the LR trick does not work.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/19 00:26:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 21:03:50
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The idea being:
Join a full 10 man squad of Terminators with Shrike - they not get infiltrate
This isnt lost when you CS, so you CS one half (without Shrike) and place it in a dedicated LR
You then note that Infiltrating allows a LR to OUTFLANK (not infiltrate, thankfully) as it is their dedicated transport
If this were the case, then you'd have to Outflank with the entire squad, since you can't start with one CS on the board, and leave one in Reserve. Still could be a sound tactic though...
|
"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 21:45:49
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The idea being:
Join a full 10 man squad of Terminators with Shrike - they not get infiltrate
This isnt lost when you CS, so you CS one half (without Shrike) and place it in a dedicated LR
You then note that Infiltrating allows a LR to OUTFLANK (not infiltrate, thankfully) as it is their dedicated transport
Wow, that's a biiig land raider.................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 21:47:23
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
don_mondo wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:The idea being:
Join a full 10 man squad of Terminators with Shrike - they not get infiltrate
This isnt lost when you CS, so you CS one half (without Shrike) and place it in a dedicated LR
You then note that Infiltrating allows a LR to OUTFLANK (not infiltrate, thankfully) as it is their dedicated transport
Wow, that's a biiig land raider.................
.... that can hold 5 Termies? (he said to CS the unit)
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 21:59:59
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Oooops, missed that. Course, then you run into the problem of not being able to combat squad whilst in reserves...................
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/19 22:00:54
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 22:04:06
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
don_mondo wrote:Oooops, missed that. Course, then you run into the problem of not being able to combat squad whilst in reserves...................
No, you CS on deployment. Deploy half in the dedicated transport, deploy half walking. It works.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/19 23:48:57
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
...which stops you from infiltrating, as you cannot confer infiltrate to the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 00:12:41
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
rigeld2 wrote:don_mondo wrote:Oooops, missed that. Course, then you run into the problem of not being able to combat squad whilst in reserves...................
No, you CS on deployment. Deploy half in the dedicated transport, deploy half walking. It works.
No, it doesn't since to put half in the Land Raider (while it is still in Reserves, awaiting a chance to outflank) you have to combat squad while in reserves. And that is a no-no.
Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and
then put a combat squad in it, deploying the other
combat squad on the table, or leave it in reserve but
not in the Drop Pod? (p69)
A: No, because squads that are placed in reserve may
not break down into combat squads.
Drop Pod, Land Raider, doesn't make a difference, the answer is still the same. You cannot combat squad in reserves. You cannot start one combat squad in a vehicle whilst in reserves and the other combat squad anywhere.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/20 00:16:03
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 10:09:49
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because you cant combat squad in reserve, and land raiders cant infiltrate, the Land Raider was never a part of the shrike equasion.
Now, because we assume shrike's infiltrate works in the first place, then when you are deploying the squad of termies + shrike from infiltrate, and the squad has the combat squad option when deploying, then they would be able to combat squad when deploying from infiltrate.
Yes, this raises the 'chicken and the egg' argument of the now infiltrated combat squad not being part of shrikes squad. However, as has been mentioned in the past, the wording of shrike's infiltrate has always been poor--combat squadding does not raise any new problems.
Shrike infiltrates with a squad he is with. Shrike joins a squad in deployment, a squad deploys when infiltrating, hence shrike cant join before this, hence the squad never gets infiltrate in the first place. But Shrike can infiltrate with a squad he joins. Its a RAW versus RAI problem that circles around and around.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/20 10:25:15
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually Shrike joins before deployment now - they changed this in the last but one FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/07 17:46:36
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Wait, according to the Shrike rules, "if you include Kayvaan Shrike then all units in your army exchange the Combat Tactics special rule for the Fleet universial special rule." So you can't combat any squads in a Shrike army, right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/07 17:53:49
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
all units in your army exchange the Combat Tactics with Shrike there.
To sum up:
The Lose the Combat Tactics rule for the Fleet rule.
They still retain the Combat Squad rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/07 17:56:56
Subject: C:SM FAQ question
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Whoops, brainfart.
*embarrassed
|
|
|
 |
 |
|