Switch Theme:

Storm Ravens: The Questions They Raise or Are Vaguely Related to.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Cog in the Machine





NYC

Hey, how's it going? Over the last few months my mates and I have tried to solve many rule conundrums, effectively increasing our game time exponentially. Mostly we come to conclusions, but some times we can't. I write all of these down so that someday we can have them answered, and until they are we have the house conclusion! I recently realized ALL of the question that had not been solved had involved a storm raven, at least it had inspired the question. Search fu has not really returned what I need.

I figured I'd throw them out to my favorite Greek chorus, you! These are our questions for 40K

What part of a vehicle on a large oval flying base has to remain within a deployment zone when it is deployed? 

After a psychic power is successfully activated while inside a transport, one that is measured from the hull of said transport, such as The Shrouding or Null Zone or Sanctuary, and then the vehicle is destroyed before the powers effects had stopped, are units that were within range of the hull but not within range of the now vehicle-less  librarian still under the effects if the successful power?

If a friendly model's base fits underneath a skimmer's hull, can it move through this space or end its movement there? (I guess this was actually brought up by an Eldar tank)

Can enemy models hide from the top turret of a storm raven by using its own hull to block line of sight?

Do multiple one-shot-only weapons count as multiple weapons for the purposes of firing from a vehicle after its moved, or for Weapon Destroyed results?

Is the distance a vehicle has traveled measured in a straight line from were it started to where it finished as stated on page 63 for all purposes or just assaults? For example, can a storm raven fly 12 inches forward, then 12 back to its original spot, using its Skies of Blood rule to drop off the unit it's transporting, but then not gain the 4+ save for going all out? Perhaps all being able to fire it's weapons too?


Thank you for your input!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/26 05:59:53


W40K (The Dawn Bearers)
Prime Battalion - 3500
Knights of the Dawn - 2500
Planetary Defense Force - 1850
Occultum Arcanicus - 1750

WHFB
Clan Blood Paw ~1000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

1. The whole vehicle must be within the deployment zone.
2. Psychic Powers are measured from a fire point if requires LoS, or from the hull if a bubble effect.
3. Yes, but it cannot move/end its movement on the base of the vehicle.
4. Vehicles check LoS from the barrel of the weapon, so it is possible for the hull to block certain angles.
5. Yes.
6. Not sure. I'm fairly certain, that displacement only matters for assault, but I could be wrong.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

To clarify some things Happy touched on:

2. "are units that were within range of the hull but not within range of the now vehicle-less librarian still under the effects if the successful power?" No, you measure the effects to the librarian once he is outside of a transport, so if some things were in range and they are now out of range, that power no longer affects your units that are now out of range of the librarian.

6. When shooting at said storm raven, that went 12 forward, and 12 backwards, it would still get its 4+ cover save for moving flat out. It would be hit automatically in assault (Unless you moved it 12 forward and 11.99999 backwards then you need a 4+

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





legomojo wrote:IWhat part of a vehicle on a large oval flying base has to remain within a deployment zone when it is deployed?

The whole vehicle. Base, Hull (including wings), weapons....everything. Same applies to the table edges.

After a psychic power is successfully activated while inside a transport, one that is measured from the hull of said transport, such as The Shrouding or Null Zone or Sanctuary, and then the vehicle is destroyed before the powers effects had stopped, are units that were within range of the hull but not within range of the now vehicle-less  librarian still under the effects if the successful power?

No as they are no longer within the radius of the power's range.

If a friendly model's base fits underneath a skimmer's hull, can it move through this space or end its movement there? (I guess this was actually brought up by an Eldar tank)

Yes

Can enemy models hide from the top turret of a storm raven by using its own hull to block line of sight?

Yes. TLOS still applies.

Do multiple one-shot-only weapons count as multiple weapons for the purposes of firing from a vehicle after its moved, or for Weapon Destroyed results?

Yes.

Is the distance a vehicle has traveled measured in a straight line from were it started to where it finished as stated on page 63 for all purposes or just assaults? For example, can a storm raven fly 12 inches forward, then 12 back to its original spot, using its Skies of Blood rule to drop off the unit it's transporting, but then not gain the 4+ save for going all out? Perhaps all being able to fire it's weapons too?


For the purposes of going flat-out it has moved 24" so Skies of Blood for going flat-out, the 4+ save, and weapon restrictions all apply. However for the purposes of close-combat (which uses vehicle displacement) it will have counted as being stationary so is automatically hit in cc.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

My bad on question 2, I misread it. I thought you were asking how you measure from a vehicle.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

No RB on me right now, but I thought you measured the actual distance the vehicle is displaced for purposes of the flat out cover save, I.E. "No flying in circles".

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Lordhat wrote:No RB on me right now, but I thought you measured the actual distance the vehicle is displaced for purposes of the flat out cover save, I.E. "No flying in circles".


Your're probably thinking of turbo-boost where the distance the bike travels must be at least 18" between start and end point.

There is no such requirement for flat out.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

That's it. Now that I remember, I always thought it silly that bikes have this restriction, and vehicles don't, just seemed like an oversight to me; I've always played both in the same fashion. <shrug>

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lordhat wrote:That's it. Now that I remember, I always thought it silly that bikes have this restriction, and vehicles don't, just seemed like an oversight to me; I've always played both in the same fashion. <shrug>


However the bikes are not required to move in a straight line, just that the displacement is 18 inches. They still have 6 inches of wiggle room to mess around with.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: