Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/18 17:27:28
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
An interesting argument started, if a liby joined a squad, and the mind strike missle hits:
1) direct hit on the liby - but you don't assign wounds to him, does it still do the perils since his "squad" was assigned the wounds?
2) scatters off the liby but hits his squad which was not psykers was hit, does it count against him for perils?
the book wording just says "psykers hit" it does not specify unit or model.
What is the correct interpertation of this?
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/18 17:35:32
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
With #1; the Libby was hit, he perils. #2 the Libby was not hit; no perils. Grey Knigt FAQ on PSy-shock says: Q: How do you work out whether a psyker is affected by the Psi-shock special rule on a mindstrike missile or a psyk-out bomb? (57, 58) A: Any psyker under the template will be effected by Psi-shock.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/18 17:36:46
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 18:28:21
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
will it cause multiple perils for a squad of psykers? For instance if you hit a GK squad that is clumped up after their razorback was destroyed. you hit dead on and get 4 hits. Do they test for perils 4 times or 1 time?
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 18:31:59
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Shepherd
|
4 since in the brotherhood ruling it says treat the entire squad as psykers.
|
The enemy of my enemy is a bastard so lets kill him too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 18:38:24
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Brotherhood of Psykers states that the unit counts as a single Psyker.
So only 1 perils test, not 4
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/19 21:57:35
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Draigo wrote:4 since in the brotherhood ruling it says treat the entire squad as psykers.
No, BoP does not say that - reread it.
They are all psykers, except for when resolving psychic attacks when there is just one guy - usually the justcar / KotF who gets it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 01:31:50
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If you hit 4 times, you still have the BoP bit about attacks against psykers being resolved against the justicar. So 4 hits with the 1 missile will hurt only the justicar.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 07:50:28
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, 4 hits will result in one perils, because for psychic attacks there is only one psyker
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 14:12:18
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
DevianID wrote:If you hit 4 times, you still have the BoP bit about attacks against psykers being resolved against the justicar. So 4 hits with the 1 missile will hurt only the justicar.
As Nos and Deathreaper have already both said, this is wrong.
pg 21 C: GK, BoP
"The unit counts as a single psyker..."
This means that the missile has only hit a single psyker -> 1 perils. Going to Justicar/ KotF if he is alive, random squad member else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 14:43:56
Subject: Re:Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
what about if I hit the squad 4 times?
Does the justicar just take 4 wounds then and reall really dies? or does the remainder perils go on other people in sequence?
|
+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 14:46:59
Subject: Re:Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
sudojoe wrote:what about if I hit the squad 4 times?
Does the justicar just take 4 wounds then and reall really dies? or does the remainder perils go on other people in sequence?
You mean 4 different missiles fired at the same time? If so, yep, you just really really nailed that one model.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 17:54:45
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Luide wrote:DevianID wrote:If you hit 4 times, you still have the BoP bit about attacks against psykers being resolved against the justicar. So 4 hits with the 1 missile will hurt only the justicar.
As Nos and Deathreaper have already both said, this is wrong.
pg 21 C: GK, BoP
"The unit counts as a single psyker..."
This means that the missile has only hit a single psyker -> 1 perils. Going to Justicar/ KotF if he is alive, random squad member else.
you and Nos both misread this quote; Devian is saying that the 1 GK unit with 4 models under the Marker will result in 1 wound, on the justicar(which is only entirely accurate when there is a Justicar/Knight of the Flame; when there is no "squad leader" it is a single random trooper).
End result you both admonished a poster as incorrect for stating a correct answer.
Sudojo: yes and no. If all 4 mindstrike missiles are from the same storm raven you get into a strange situation; the attacks are all simultaneous and therefore resolve as such, so the justicar/Knight of the flame takes 4 perils. If the unit is hit with a mindstrike from 4 different Storm ravens( Apoc game or some-such), then each missile would be resolved separately with 4 separate perils(first one to the Justicar, second through 4th to random troopers, one at a time). For this reason it is not a good idea to fire all 4 missiles at any brotherhood of psykers(or similar) unit from a single storm raven all at the same time.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/20 23:48:31
Subject: Mindstrike missle "hit"
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Erm -not really. Devian stated 4 hits, all hurting only the justicar. Nothing there saying only one perils - which is what BoP g'tees in this instance (1 missile, X hits (x>0) = 1 perils)
Edit" also dont forget paladins - 2 wounds.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/20 23:50:25
|
|
 |
 |
|