Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 15:08:53
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Screaming Banshee
|
I'm still iffy on the rules and I'm not sure what comes first; the casting of psychic powers or reserve rolls?
My GK Army list relies on the libby arriving with some Paladins and summoning Kaldor Draigo from the other side of the board (he's the only unit on the table turn 1, hiding and using Psychic Communion to bring on my stuff)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 15:10:27
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Any psychic power that has to be done at the start of the turn, is done before anything comes in from reserves. If your Libby is in reserves than he cannot use a psychic power at the start of the turn. It's also in the BRB FAQ (I think). Definitely one of hte faqs.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/29 15:10:57
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 16:34:11
Subject: Re:Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Since the librarian was not on the board at the beginning of the turn, he can't use "The Summoning".
You're strategy doesn't work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 16:41:23
Subject: Re:Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
PanOceaniac Hacking Specialist Sergeant
|
While the other posters are correct, in that you may not cast summoning in the turn the libby arrives from reserves, dont lose hope. Because your strategy is still useful
Instead of using Draigo, I prefer to use mordrak and a squad of ghost terminators with a libby in it. Deepstrike out of LOS of as much of the enemy as you can OR go bawlsy and deepstrike next to his biggest heavy hitter vehicles or non vehicle models and open up with your libbies template of auto penning goodness and try to rip off their biggest weapons, wreck or stun what you can. Then next turn you just cast summoning to bring up some nasty. While the latter of the two options here is SOOO much fun, its the less advised for sure.
|
When your wife suggests roleplay as a result of your table top gaming... life just seems right
I took my wife thru the BRB for fantasy and 40k, the first thing she said was "AWESOME"... codex: Chaos Daemons Nurgle..... to all those who says God aint real.... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 17:12:11
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
If he libby was on the field at the start of the turn, before reserves arrive, then he could.
Didn't we just have a thread about this 2 days ago?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 17:30:17
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It's still in progress actually. Only it's about a Runepriest casting stormcaller (or something)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/29 17:30:44
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 18:07:07
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Screaming Banshee
|
Well this is constructive for me in that my strategy also got a little bit of scrutiny.. which is useful. I'll likely do what thakabul' says
And I didn't use the search thread function because there was no need with a legion of loyal neckbeards to call upon <3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 18:09:07
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
From the FaQ:
Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that
occurs at the start of a turn can they use that ability on
the turn they arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/29 20:15:51
Subject: Can a GK Librarian cast The Summoning on the turn he deep strikes?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Same discussion already going on here. Locking duplicate thread.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|