Switch Theme:

IC can only be attached to one unit right?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

I'm looking and looking but not finding where it says an IC can only be joined to one unit...

Example:
At the start of your turn, you have a unit with an IC in it. You move them keeping them together and at the end of the movement the IC is within 2" of yet another friendly unit.

What rule keeps him from joining that unit as well?

-feel like I'm kooing for my car keys and someone is going to point out they are in my hand.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Sergeant Major






In the dark recesses of your mind...

Pg. 48 of the rulebook states: In order to join a unit, an independent character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining.

A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...


azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

helium42 wrote:Pg. 48 of the rulebook states: In order to join a unit, an independent character simply has to move so that he is within the 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining.


Thats the first thing I thought of also but reading it again I realized that does not prohibit you, in the exaple given, from joining the other unit or state you must not be in one at the time....

Edit: I really feel like I'm missing something here

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/13 04:07:59


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You have to declare which unit you are joining. There is no permission there to join more than one.

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Abandon wrote:I realized that does not prohibit you, in the exaple given, from joining the other unit or state you must not be in one at the time..

The rules tell you what you are permitted to do. If you are within 2" of more than one unit, you declare which unit (singular) you are joining. There is no permission to join multiple units.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

In the example the IC is joining one unit. I'm looking for the rule that would make it necessary for the IC to leave the unit it is already in before doing so. Being in a unit and joining a unit at the same time does not sound right to me but I can't find a rule that forbids it. Perhaps an FAQ or Errata I overlooked?

My second thought was perhaps the IC looses the IC special ability while it's with a unit but then it would never be able to leave the unit by the IC rules... feeling lost

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/13 04:47:16


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Find the rule allowing you to join two different units at once, if you find it then you are allowed to join two units at once.

If you can not find it, then you may join "a" unit, like the book says. ("a" means one)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/13 04:54:19


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Abandon wrote: I'm looking for the rule that would make it necessary for the IC to leave the unit it is already in before doing so.


If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining.



That rule doesn't care if he is already in one of the units. If he is within 2" of more than one unit, he has to declare which he is joining.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

insaniak wrote:
That rule doesn't care if he is already in one of the units. If he is within 2" of more than one unit, he has to declare which he is joining.


I know it does not care that's why I'm asking as it does not permit or compel him to leave the unit he's already a member of either, which seems really messed up.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

But it still only allows you to join "a" unit ("a" means one).

So you can not join two units as you are not allowed to join two units, since you may only join a unit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you are joined to two units, you are not joined to A unit, meaning you have broken a rule.
   
Made in us
Sergeant Major






In the dark recesses of your mind...

Abandon wrote:
insaniak wrote:
That rule doesn't care if he is already in one of the units. If he is within 2" of more than one unit, he has to declare which he is joining.


I know it does not care that's why I'm asking as it does not permit or compel him to leave the unit he's already a member of either, which seems really messed up.


Seems pretty cut and dry to me: the player must declare which unit it is joining.


A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...


azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I think the confusion is coming over the IC leaving a unit. The IC is classed as leaving the unit as soon as he joins the second unit. It dose not have to be stated that he is leaving the first unit as it is self evident.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Abandon, I get what you're saying. And, I think some of the other posters are being a bit too quick to dismiss your confusion.

I agree with you, by a strict reading of the rules, it appears that an IC can stack units and end up joined to more than 1. But, this creates all sorts of extra confusion in terms of how the two units relate to one another. So, it's best to chalk it up to a case of "The rules aren't always clear, but we can figure out what they meant" and move on.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it doesnt allow it. Which *unit* you are joining limits this to just a single unit
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





DeathReaper wrote:But it still only allows you to join "a" unit ("a" means one).

"A" means one, but it does not necessarily mean only one.

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in es
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Madrid

biccat wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:But it still only allows you to join "a" unit ("a" means one).

"A" means one, but it does not necessarily mean only one.


Would you mind to illustrate me on that one?, I have to admit I don't quite get it

5.000 2.000

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."

Never Forgive, Never Forget
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





jgehunter wrote:
biccat wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:But it still only allows you to join "a" unit ("a" means one).

"A" means one, but it does not necessarily mean only one.


Would you mind to illustrate me on that one?, I have to admit I don't quite get it

There are 37 Tyranids surrounding you.
Do you get hit with Shadow in the Warp 37 times?

There is a Tyranid.
There are 37 Tyranids.

Both statements are true.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I am still waiting on a page reference for where it says you may be joined to two different units at the same time.

If you find it then you are allowed to join two units at once.

Otherwise you can not join more than "a" unit.

This tells you what happens if the character is within 2" of more than one unit, I do not see how this is unclear.

"If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining."

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/03/13 19:43:41


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in es
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Madrid

rigeld2 wrote:
jgehunter wrote:
biccat wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:But it still only allows you to join "a" unit ("a" means one).

"A" means one, but it does not necessarily mean only one.


Would you mind to illustrate me on that one?, I have to admit I don't quite get it

There are 37 Tyranids surrounding you.
Do you get hit with Shadow in the Warp 37 times?

There is a Tyranid.
There are 37 Tyranids.

Both statements are true.


Ok I think I get it, If IC is joined to 2 units he is still joined to "a unit

5.000 2.000

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."

Never Forgive, Never Forget
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I'm not getting involved in the discussion at hand, I just wanted to address that point.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Yes, the rule allows you to join a unit during movement. I'm looking for a rule that compels you to leave the unit you are already in when you do so.
Yes I agree, it should go without saying but since I'm thinking RAW I'm looking for where it does say it.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Can an IC join the same unit twice?

If it can't, then the very next sentence of the rules says that it must remain 2" away from the unit that it just joined. If I claim it's RAW, doesn't that make it right?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Abandon wrote:Yes, the rule allows you to join a unit during movement. I'm looking for a rule that compels you to leave the unit you are already in when you do so.
Yes I agree, it should go without saying but since I'm thinking RAW I'm looking for where it does say it.


"If the character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining."

That disallows you to join two units at once.

If you have joined a unit, then next turn another unit gets close and the IC is within 2" of both of the units, then "the player must declare which unit it is joining." and that prevents him from joining more than one unit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Abandon wrote:Yes, the rule allows you to join a unit during movement. I'm looking for a rule that compels you to leave the unit you are already in when you do so.
Yes I agree, it should go without saying but since I'm thinking RAW I'm looking for where it does say it.


It says so on the page 48 rule. When it says "you must choose which it is joining", it is saying that you must leave the unit you are in if you want to join the other. This is what it is saying: (X=model, IC=independent character)

Unit A-------------Unit B

X-X-X-X-X--IC--X-X-X-X-X
X-X-X-X-X-------X-X-X-X-X

The character is attached to unit A already. At the end of your movement phase, the above is where your models are. At this point, you MUST choose whether the IC is in Unit A or Unit B. Because the rule says you must choose one, you cannot be a part of both. If you want the IC to move into Unit B, fine. But you are leaving Unit A when you choose to do so. If you were allowed to be a part of both, then it wouldn't say you must choose one. But it does. So there is your rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/16 05:13:28


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Ignatius wrote:
Abandon wrote:Yes, the rule allows you to join a unit during movement. I'm looking for a rule that compels you to leave the unit you are already in when you do so.
Yes I agree, it should go without saying but since I'm thinking RAW I'm looking for where it does say it.


It says so on the page 48 rule. When it says "you must choose which it is joining", it is saying that you must leave the unit you are in if you want to join the other. This is what it is saying: (X=model, IC=independent character)

Unit A-------------Unit B

X-X-X-X-X--IC--X-X-X-X-X
X-X-X-X-X-------X-X-X-X-X

The character is attached to unit A already. At the end of your movement phase, the above is where your models are. At this point, you MUST choose whether the IC is in Unit A or Unit B. Because the rule says you must choose one, you cannot be a part of both. If you want the IC to move into Unit B, fine. But you are leaving Unit A when you choose to do so. If you were allowed to be a part of both, then it wouldn't say you must choose one. But it does. So there is your rule.


The heart of the matter is that it does not say you cannot be joined to both. It says you cannot join both at the same time.
The IC is not permitted by the IC rules to leave unit A unless it moves 2+" away from them. Not having done this you fined the IC is within 2" of unit B as well. You declare the IC is joining unit B(only joining one). What rule then compels or even permits the IC to leave unit A in doing so?

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

I think the fact that the two units, which were now joined together into one by an independent character, aren't allowed to join other units may have something to do with it.

Just because one element of a unit may do something doesn't mean the move is legal for the entire unit.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Abandon wrote:
Ignatius wrote:
Abandon wrote:Yes, the rule allows you to join a unit during movement. I'm looking for a rule that compels you to leave the unit you are already in when you do so.
Yes I agree, it should go without saying but since I'm thinking RAW I'm looking for where it does say it.


It says so on the page 48 rule. When it says "you must choose which it is joining", it is saying that you must leave the unit you are in if you want to join the other. This is what it is saying: (X=model, IC=independent character)

Unit A-------------Unit B

X-X-X-X-X--IC--X-X-X-X-X
X-X-X-X-X-------X-X-X-X-X

The character is attached to unit A already. At the end of your movement phase, the above is where your models are. At this point, you MUST choose whether the IC is in Unit A or Unit B. Because the rule says you must choose one, you cannot be a part of both. If you want the IC to move into Unit B, fine. But you are leaving Unit A when you choose to do so. If you were allowed to be a part of both, then it wouldn't say you must choose one. But it does. So there is your rule.


The heart of the matter is that it does not say you cannot be joined to both. It says you cannot join both at the same time.
The IC is not permitted by the IC rules to leave unit A unless it moves 2+" away from them. Not having done this you fined the IC is within 2" of unit B as well. You declare the IC is joining unit B(only joining one). What rule then compels or even permits the IC to leave unit A in doing so?


I think I see what you are saying. The rule clearly states you must choose which the IC is joining. Because the IC was already in Unit A, it doesn't have to choose that one. It can choose Unit B, and you are permitted to say you are now joining Unit B. Effectively, you are now in both Unit A and Unit B. Abandon is right. There isn't any rule saying you have to leave the first unit in order to join the second.

You've stumped me Abandon.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

I posted it because I was stumped as well and really felt there should be something against it. Now I'm thinking I should not have said anything because someone might actually try this absurd maneuver.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

I just don't see where/ when it would be practical to do so.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: