Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 19:32:19
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Trencher
NW US
|
So my question. Assault says model/unit must charge or run. Obviously if charging a target must be chosen and attack made against said target. But on a run, could say, Trencher Commandoes make their run and then toss their grenades without choosing a model as a target? Let 10 3" AOEs clear an area with blast damage.
|
"All that is necessary for our Enemies to prosper, is that the good citizens of Cygnar do nothing."
Anonymous |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 19:59:36
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Assault (Order): Affected models must charge or run. As part of a charge ...
Emphasis mine. Everything about making a ranged attack is in the elipses. Note that the ranged attack affects of Assault modify charges. If a model instead opted to run, then pretty much all it does is run and the rest of the order is ignored. Like many things in WM/H, rules only do exactly what they say. In this case, it gives an additional ranged attack along with a standard charge. It does nothing if you opt to run instead.
As an aside, the other portion you question, just throwing AOEs without targets, is also not able to be done anyhow. A model must have a valid target in order to declare a ranged attack.
And stuff.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 20:19:21
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Trencher
NW US
|
Why mention run as an option for assault order? Units must run as a unit anyway. They don't need an order to run.
|
"All that is necessary for our Enemies to prosper, is that the good citizens of Cygnar do nothing."
Anonymous |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 20:31:06
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Inveterate Thorn wrote:Why mention run as an option for assault order? You'd have ask PP why. The rules say what they say in WM/H, there's really no such thing as RAI. For a good example, see Shallow Water, which puts out a heartfire if in it and become KD but, due to wording, does nothing if an already KD Jack is somehow moved into it.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/04/18 20:33:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 21:20:17
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
Because when a unit is given a charge order that automatically includes the option to run. Therefore assault does the same thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 21:21:16
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Because not all members of a charging unit can charge and some must run instead. If the unit is given the charge order then assault still kicks in whether the individual member of the unit charges or runs.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 21:49:11
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Trencher
NW US
|
Ok, much as I don't like it, I think Leo's answer makes the most sense. I was hoping to run up and then suppress an area without declaring a specific target. Oh well, thanks everybody.
|
"All that is necessary for our Enemies to prosper, is that the good citizens of Cygnar do nothing."
Anonymous |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 04:05:38
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Even if you didn't have the run thing mentioned, nothing at all in the Assault order really allows you to just lob grenades at not targets in particular. That's simply not something allowed at all with attacks.
And stuff.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 15:48:32
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If they are AoE attacks, you could charge, throw grenades at things, and if they are not in range they just auto miss and deviate anyway, correct? Does that not have the effect you were going for, or were you trying to throw grenades at some unit way off to the side? You should still be able to do that, you just need to charge towards them with a guy, which might not be ideal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 15:57:40
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Wehrkind wrote:If they are AoE attacks, you could charge, throw grenades at things, and if they are not in range they just auto miss and deviate anyway, correct? Does that not have the effect you were going for, or were you trying to throw grenades at some unit way off to the side? You should still be able to do that, you just need to charge towards them with a guy, which might not be ideal.
This is entirely correct. Also, I may of hit something besides the QUOTE button, so ignore that.
And stuff.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:15:45
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
The things with assault is that you have to move in a direction that will bring you into melee range with the target of the charge and the range shot that assault grants has to target the same model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:23:37
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Each model can declare a different charge target, correct? They don't all have to charge the same model/unit. I think that is correct, but the past few years of playing GW non-sense has made that feel wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 17:34:01
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
That's fine. you can even target different units/models with the same unit's charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 17:51:14
Subject: Assault Order, Charge OR RUN attack
|
 |
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide
|
Right, the limitation they'll have is when they don't have
LOS to the enemy. No LOS, no charge, no assault.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|